Kevin Cassidy dropped!

There is more controversy to follow.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 09/11/2011 09:25:59    1065594

Nothing more than a publicity stunt for the book.
He'll be back by the start of the NFL.
Sure there's a training ban for two months, so he's dropped a player who can't train under him for two months anyway.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 09/11/2011 09:37:34    1065601

Would some of yous Donegal bucks cop on, crying the poor critisised and picked on team, the thread was opened by one of us and invited the rest to comment, can hardly cry foul about that. Derryman, brilliant wit and same with stevie, fermanagh... lads, if were gonna play negative, expect the negative comments.. He'll not be dropped BTW..

81DLSAM (Donegal) - Posts: 281 - 09/11/2011 09:48:03    1065609

Jeez, GAA paranoia. If players can't even have opinions or do an interview for a book what hope does the game have and why would anyone want to play it? You would think Jim Mc would be confident enough in his own convictions and setup to allow a little bit of dissention or open discussion but no - apparently anyone who queries or discusses his masterplan with outsiders isn't allowed in at all.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 09/11/2011 10:02:19    1065627

If Cass doesn't line out next summer in the Ulster preliminary I'll eat my hat.....

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9970 - 09/11/2011 10:05:48    1065632

he'll be one of the first players on the team sheet come may.....

chucknorris (Donegal) - Posts: 99 - 09/11/2011 10:18:26    1065640

Dropped for releasing Donegal's secret v Tyrone last year:

"We played a 14 man defence".

Wow! Who could have known?

In fairness to McGuinness, if there was an agreement in place that was broken, he had no choice but to drop Cassidy. There is a method to McGuinness, and the man deserves to be trusted. Whatever about his style of play, it was amazing how he turned a disjointed, unfit lot into one of the hardest working teams that are characterised by the honesty of effort.

I think he is in the same school as Geezer about insulating his team from the media. I'm sure if anybody did something similar in Kildare Geezer would be ruthless and there would be no forgiveness.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 09/11/2011 10:25:44    1065645

Frankie dropped from X-Factor for running up the line and "high" fielding . . . just co-incidence I'm sure

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 09/11/2011 13:08:17    1065743

the truth hurts me thinks. who does mcguinness think he is ?, what was it about the previous management that mcguinness deemed inappropriate.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 09/11/2011 13:26:08    1065767

I too agree that if their was an agreement in place and Cassidy went against that agreement , Then ultimately , What choice has McGuinness got ?

Fine footballer all the same

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13656 - 09/11/2011 14:02:29    1065826

Jinxie: "Sure there's a training ban for two months, so he's dropped a player who can't train under him for two months anyway".

Jinxie they are all training at this time of the year in one form or another.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3051 - 09/11/2011 14:30:37    1065854

Cassidy is a great player and one of my favourites ever.

However and the crucial point is Jim is the boss and he is in charge. Manager > Player.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 09/11/2011 15:26:47    1065916

Lot of comment again directed at Donegal footballers and backup team.
It is really nice to know people are concerned about our wellfare.
What you would love to know are the correct details behind the Cassidy story.
We have our house in order as you will find out in 2012 so beware.
This is our day in the headlines so be caitious it could be your county tomorrow.
Roll on the 2012 Ulster championship.

DL2011 (Donegal) - Posts: 13 - 09/11/2011 15:35:18    1065928

More comments from the interview coming out now. In fairness he must've known when he was saying it there was going to be trouble:
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/cassidy-i-would-never-have-tried-to-get-a-player-sent-off-until-this-year-16075170.html

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 09/11/2011 19:35:05    1066202

If he hadn't done what McGuinness told him not to do, he wouldn't have been dropped - simple as that. If McGuinness doesn't stick to his guns on this his authority diminishes.

I see a lot of Donegal fans getting all defensive (pun intended). Lads, it's a big GAA story and this is a GAA forum. And the thread was started by a Donegal man! Harden up like.

Some of the stuff he admits to is extremely candid. Putting pressure on the ref for an incident he didn't see etc It backs up the critics who say Donegal are cynical and might even place doubt in officials minds next time they're surrounded by Donegal players (again, pun intentional) mouthing about some incident or other.

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 09/11/2011 19:39:39    1066215

What did I say? What did I say?????????????

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 09/11/2011 20:06:11    1066245

You'd have to admire his honesty.. he's admitted to having a hand in getting a man sent off.. went to the ref and Lines man and as he's stated himself... he lied about seeing a punch in order to get a man sent off.

He went onto say that he was never that sort of player pre 2011... Pre Jim Mc in other words...

To be honest there was another incident thats been largely forgotten...

Jim Mc was clearly seen entering the field of play and he too approaced the ref... in order to get a man sent off himself at one stage...

It's looking quite ugly for Donegal... I'm delighted we beat them...

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 09/11/2011 20:09:13    1066253

These comments coming from Cassidy are wrong...And Donegal Gaa should hang their heads with shame.

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 09/11/2011 21:50:12    1066371

Well I had sympathy for him till last nite when I read the article in the Herald where he admitted to specifically tryin to get Connolly sent off...What a disgrace for him , his team and their so-called ethics....Who wants people like Mc Guiness managing a team if thats what they instill in players...they should be ashamed of themselves...sure it was crystal clear that day , its no wonder they rescinded the Red Card when Connolly appealed and Giler knew flippn well what the story was hence he was so confident bout Connolly gettn to play in the Final....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 10/11/2011 09:27:01    1066415

If McGuinness thinks the team will benefit from Cassidy's departure then it's his call.

Donegal will improve again next year despite who likes it or not.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 10/11/2011 09:43:41    1066425