McGuigan and Jordan retire

pplocal
Are you for real? In no sport anywhere in the World will attackers always be in attack. Does Ferguson not utilise Rooney properly because occasionally he'll be in Unted's half? Are the Gooch, Donaghy etc. not utilised properly because occasionally they'll track back and help defend? This is the easily the most ill ignorant and ill-informed argument I've seen on these boards which is really saying something. You're out on your own here TheMaster, if you look over the comments GAA fans from Tyrone and elsewhere are saying you're completely in the wrong. Give it up now because I'm afraid you really are starting to look ridiculous

Soccer is a different game, but I will take your rooney example and give it back to you. Since rooney has been played in a deeper role this year, his goals and assists have dropped off, which is the downside of the tactic, which is exactly my point with mcguigan doing the same thing.
'Not utilised properly' more words in my mouth.
When kerry are in possession of the football the gooch is an outlet near the goals, always. Donaghy is different because he sometimes comes out to mf for kickouts. Similarly, the downside of that is that kerry dont have a target man inside when he does this. If you add to one you take away from the other, pretty simple really.

Couldnt manage the yes or no answer? Surprise surprise

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/11/2011 09:53:27    1065616

TheMaster I'm afraid you simply don't get it and keep digging and digging. As numerous people on this board have said you don't have a clue. To claim that because McGuigan occasionally entered his own half he was wasted shows someone who not only doesn't understand GAA but doesn't understand sport in general. Thanks for keeping me entertained though mo chara

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 09/11/2011 12:45:07    1065723

The master shut up.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/11/2011 13:01:19    1065736

pplocal
TheMaster I'm afraid you simply don't get it and keep digging and digging. As numerous people on this board have said you don't have a clue. To claim that because McGuigan occasionally entered his own half he was wasted shows someone who not only doesn't understand GAA but doesn't understand sport in general. Thanks for keeping me entertained though mo chara

Get what? Not once have you addressed the points put to you. The only response I get is a rehash of what I am saying, re-ordered to suit yourself, and rubbish like 'keep digging' or 'nobody agrees with you'. So what? The points I have stated are correct.

To claim that because McGuigan occasionally entered his own half he was wasted

Again, not what I said. My point is the role he was asked to do in the team gave him less opportunities to showcase a particular skill that he had. Is it possible for you to read something and respond to is directly, without restating it as something else? It is a simple point written in basic english. Every time you respond you are quoting me incorrectly. I mean genuinely, that is 6 times now, can you not understand the basic point put to you? Is it because you are unable to disprove the point or argue against it, so instead you redefine the point as something else and disagree with it? Because that is what it looks like.

Same goes for you clondalkindub, can you disprove the above statment I have made? If not, I couldnt care less what you think.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/11/2011 14:22:05    1065843

The master stick to connaught rugby

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/11/2011 15:08:21    1065904

Brian McGuigan in didn't-spend-100%-of-the-time-rooted-in-centre-half-forward-position shocker. Mickey Harte to be taken in for questioning.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 09/11/2011 16:46:22    1066034

Jaysus that's some amount of waffle...

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 09/11/2011 16:57:52    1066044

I think yous could be doing with a bit of clarity.
both jordan and mcguigan were 2 great players.

bottom line , because they were more suited in a great unit, they wont be the kind of names that will be raved about outside of tyrone in 10 years time.

as someone said ; no need for long winded replys

clarity (Tyrone) - Posts: 49 - 09/11/2011 21:28:20    1066344

True legends and will be missed ...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 11/11/2011 14:39:50    1067328

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=158421

Surprised at this in the papers as well today. Wee Brian actually planned to comeback in March but Mickey felet with hard winter training ahead of the squad Brian wouldn't or shouldn't be able to slip seamlessly back in. It sounds like it was a fitness and conditioning thing but think Brian and many the older generation should have been kept on ice for a few years to the later stages of the national league.
Pity

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 25/11/2011 09:56:37    1075478

Without seeing the full article in context, it is hard to be sure what has been said, however, I think Harte's point is a fair one, and indicative of the direction he is hoping to take the team next year.

Most Tyrone fans would feel that the side has not looked sharp in a long time. In my opinion, this is due to us having to pace older players and ease them through the winter/spring, hoping that you can get them to peak for 6 weeks in Aug/Sept. That is a dangerous game, and cost us against Down in 2008, but you can manage it is you have enough experience and quality in the squad to win games when you are 80-90% fit. However, with younger fellas, you can train them differently. You can push them harder, ask more of them in terms of number of training sessions, and you can keep them near peak fitness for longer.

We saw this with Tyrone in the first half of the last decade, and I'd say that is what Mickey is hoping to get back to - a fast, fit side that is competitive from February onwards. Having a side in that sort of shape will also mean we can play a higher tempo, more pressurised game, rather than playing very deep, controlled game like we did in the last few years (with the exception of the 2011 qualifiers, when we abandonned the sweeper and attacked much more). To me, Mickey's comments to Brian are simply a reflection of the new vision he has for his side.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 25/11/2011 10:37:43    1075503

Agree with the direction he wants to go...just think mcguigan would've been useful at certain times in certain games with his brains and class he could teach the younger lads alot.
With so many leaving at the one time it's a gap ..i would prefer it was more controlled. With the two Brian's in the same area gone at the same time will take some time to fill the void.
McGuigan looked sharper this year than i've seen him for years. If he wasn't performing in training by June/July then he wouldn't get picked - but i bet he would.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 25/11/2011 11:08:08    1075522

Brian Mcguigan is a legend of our county team and 03-05 when he was fully fit he was the best centre half foward in the country without a shadow of a doubt. i've been a champion of the all ireland winning sides up until this year an id still be happy to have any of them guys on board as they are all class footballers including brian, but do u think dublin had players joining the panel 3 months in2 training as past 2 years? i might be wrong, but its time for tyrone 2 bring the next generation through, remember the lighting fast team of 2003 with speedy corner backs who cud stick to their men an a team that could burst foward with the ball as if their life depended on it? well its time to aim for that once again, the team this year looked slow, dont get me wrong they played some good football an still had plenty of class in them but it just aint their anymore, roll on 2012 with a new young fresh side with a few of the 3 all ireland winning sides still there to guide them on. up tyrone.!!!

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 25/11/2011 13:10:03    1075598

Its sad that Brian was forced to retire i still think he has alot to offer Tyrone
I know Tyrone are Team building but i think Mickey made a mistake forcing
him to quit

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 25/11/2011 14:56:37    1075671

Mcguigan in his prime was the best chf since trevor giles! A true great and really intelligent footballer! Jordan was pure class and consistent over the years! I think mickey harte should have gone too! Tyrone lacked hunger and desire this year which is very uncharacteristic of mickey's teams...they really looked like a team that had done all they were going to do under him! He had also failed to recognise that many of the players were past there best and did not start rebuilding soon enough to keep tyrone at the top!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 27/11/2011 20:29:12    1076461

Agree WFkerry

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 28/11/2011 09:56:23    1076534

I disagree , his time was up. He was a great player but age and injuries have took there toll on the man.he's right to retire.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/11/2011 10:09:53    1076537