McGuigan and Jordan retire

Ulsterman this thread is about two tyrone lads who have given good service to their county. not about the dubs or cork or how good they are.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/11/2011 21:27:12    1064294

I agree AthCliath so why did some Dubs and others change the tone to attack Tyrone? I replied in defence of my fellow Ulstermen, that is all.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 06/11/2011 21:31:48    1064304

Ulsterman

Snuf,

Never underestimate the power of the 'insignificant' counties. Wasn't Colm O'Rourke originally from Leitrim and Larry Tompkins from Kildare? We have the power.....oh and this Dublin side is still all huff, puff and very little skill and ability. Poorest two years in GAA memory with Cork and Dublin winning SAM. Tyrone's demise and break up has let a lot of bad sides through.

Dublin have left the chasing pack behind,a new golden era has arrived for the Dubs..........Who do you think could really beat the Dubs next year

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 06/11/2011 21:34:20    1064308

We don't need you to defend us, our record over the last decade speaks for itself. You'd be better served asking why your own county is so abysmal

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 06/11/2011 21:36:21    1064309

pplocal

We don't need you to defend us, our record over the last decade speaks for itself. You'd be better served asking why your own county is so abysmal

what record puke football yeah we all remember that

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 06/11/2011 21:41:06    1064316

tomaoo7

Ulsterman

Snuf,

Never underestimate the power of the 'insignificant' counties. Wasn't Colm O'Rourke originally from Leitrim and Larry Tompkins from Kildare? We have the power.....oh and this Dublin side is still all huff, puff and very little skill and ability. Poorest two years in GAA memory with Cork and Dublin winning SAM. Tyrone's demise and break up has let a lot of bad sides through.

Dublin have left the chasing pack behind,a new golden era has arrived for the Dubs..........Who do you think could really beat the Dubs next year

A new goldan era of puke football...

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/11/2011 21:47:00    1064324

pp we'll have a poll of Tyrone GAA people on HS to see if your opinion matters

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 06/11/2011 21:48:41    1064326

moomoo

tomaoo7

Ulsterman

Snuf,

Kerry couldn't go man to man with Dublin....that's why you lost moomoo ..but at least you were not beating out the gate

As for Dublin puke football their was only 1 team trying to win the game in the last 10,and it wasn't Kerry

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 06/11/2011 21:52:30    1064334

'pp we'll have a poll of Tyrone GAA people on HS to see if your opinion matters'

Quite trying to bask in the reflected glory of Tyrone's success, it's embarrassing. Have some pride in your own county

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 06/11/2011 21:58:00    1064342

tomaoo7

moomoo

tomaoo7

Ulsterman

Snuf,

Kerry couldn't go man to man with Dublin....that's why you lost moomoo ..but at least you were not beating out the gate

As for Dublin puke football their was only 1 team trying to win the game in the last 10,and it wasn't Kerry

I think it was more of a case of Dublin being scared to go man to man with Kerry remember what happened last time they tryed that?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/11/2011 21:59:33    1064348

moomoo,

The below posted from my friend Horsebox77 on the Kerry board (which you are a stranger to) about 2 weeks ago!!

Not too long ago an ex Dublin Hurler was playing Football with Pats and Hurling with one of the big North Kerry Teams, it was tried to get him stating he was working in Tralee and they were the only duel club in the area
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ehh, methinks you kerry lads seem to be the experts at getting lads from "real hurling counties" in to play for ye!!!......Touché!!

Mark me lad, you are from the country!!......you will never outsmart or outwit a Dubliner!!.......ye dont have it in ye!!

I see some numpty has the cheek to post a thread on here about kerry hurling! sure like can be seen above, there is hardly a kerry lad playing the game!!......the ones that are can be easily recognisable by the 'hurls' wich are branches of trees with the leaves still on them!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 07/11/2011 09:31:50    1064379

Snufalufagus

moomoo,

The below posted from my friend Horsebox77 on the Kerry board (which you are a stranger to) about 2 weeks ago!!

Not too long ago an ex Dublin Hurler was playing Football with Pats and Hurling with one of the big North Kerry Teams, it was tried to get him stating he was working in Tralee and they were the only duel club in the area

Ehh, methinks you kerry lads seem to be the experts at getting lads from "real hurling counties" in to play for ye!!!......Touché!!

Mark me lad, you are from the country!!......you will never outsmart or outwit a Dubliner!!.......ye dont have it in ye!!

I see some numpty has the cheek to post a thread on here about kerry hurling! sure like can be seen above, there is hardly a kerry lad playing the game!!......the ones that are can be easily recognisable by the 'hurls' wich are branches of trees with the leaves still on them!!

No again Dublin would be the experts in that regard, remind us when is the last time Dublin won a national hurling title when the whole team was from Dublin?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 07/11/2011 10:31:42    1064395

Snufalufagus

moomoo,

Ill also think you'll find the player in question is Vinnie Murphy and last time i checked he was an ex Dublin footballer who tryed to join the Kerry team but wasn't good enough to make it

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 07/11/2011 10:38:10    1064399

Your right about outwitting you.
Your version of how our county championship work in the Kerry forum is funny stuff

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 07/11/2011 11:28:50    1064433

pplocal
He must have some boot on him indeed if the three points he scored in the'05 final were from inside his own half. Don't recall them being from that distance myself but I'll take your word for it

Again, rather than admit you are wrong you post a feacetious response designed to avoid being pushed on the subject further. Il ask again, does playing a forward in the defence not limit his scoring ability?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/11/2011 13:47:05    1064524

pplocal

1064342 'pp we'll have a poll of Tyrone GAA people on HS to see if your opinion matters'

Quit trying to bask in the reflected glory of Tyrone's success, it's embarrassing. Have some pride in your own county

Amen to that...

Talk about a leech... it's cringe worthy to be honest - I guess he'll be all over Donegal next... A free state county to boot....

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 07/11/2011 14:23:37    1064543

'Again, rather than admit you are wrong you post a feacetious response designed to avoid being pushed on the subject further. Il ask again, does playing a forward in the defence not limit his scoring ability?'

McGuigan could spend the whole 70 minutes in the half-forward line but if Tyrone can't get control of the ball that limits his scoring ability even more. You're also making it appear that he spent the majority of the game camped in his own half which is completely untrue. Also McGuigan was there to set up scores, more so than score them himself. His range of passing was a joy to behold and he fed the balls to the full-forward line. How do you think Tyrone got the ball from defence to attack exactly? Clearly you feel you know better how to utilise your players than Mickey Harte does. Perhaps you have won more than six All-Ireland's but I doubt that. So no I'm not wrong, I'm trying to explain Tyrone's football in the simplest terms to someone who doesn't have a clue about how Tyrone played. So far all you can come back with is lazy generalisations that you remember from the Sunday Game years ago. And you still haven't answered how McGuigan scored those three points in the All-Ireland final when he was played in defence. Perhaps they were flukes?

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 07/11/2011 15:04:30    1064577

A straight answer is all that is required pplocal, are creative forwards best utilised in their own defence?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/11/2011 17:20:15    1064674

Creative forwards are best utilised where they can do the best job for their team is the straight answer. In McGuigan's case he was utilised correctly and has 6 All-Ireland's to show for it

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 07/11/2011 17:55:07    1064696

A straight answer is all that is required pplocal, are creative forwards best utilised in their own defence?

I don't even get your point. Take Brian Dooher, he defended a lot, but he also scored plenty. You can do both, you know - it's a bit like complaining about Davy Harte or Philip Jordan attacking too much.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 07/11/2011 18:03:16    1064702