Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 3547
1063809 Gas craic!!!
Two lads from the most insignificant of GAA counties spouting about Dublin GAA like as if their own counties had even an ounce of credibility in the GAA world!!!!.............I've seen it all now!!!
There are 4 senior grade major national titles up for grabs between hurling and football in any given year and across both the codes Dublin have 2 out of the 4, thats 50% of them!!!!......read it and weep!!
wow thats some going remind me before this year when did they last win a national title?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/11/2011 20:58:21
Look moomoo,
While you guys are down there helping the GAA by concentrating on one code and fair play to ye, up here in the Capital we embrace the whole organisation and all its codes.....we are even masters at handball and rounders!!
Nobody holds it against ye that ye think the GAA only has football as a sport!!........we will just keep on winning senior national hurling titles regardless and being masters of all GAA codes!!......."starting with football" of course!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/11/2011 21:25:24
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 3550
1063834 Look moomoo,
While you guys are down there helping the GAA by concentrating on one code and fair play to ye, up here in the Capital we embrace the whole organisation and all its codes.....we are even masters at handball and rounders!!
Nobody holds it against ye that ye think the GAA only has football as a sport!!........we will just keep on winning senior national hurling titles regardless and being masters of all GAA codes!!......."starting with football" of course!!
With player that aren't from Dublin? Not a good sign when you have to bring player from real hurling countys to win something and clame you promote the game
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/11/2011 21:38:28
Keep it up Ulsterman... Thanks man - Obviously you could see something all year regarding Dublin - being so spot on with your predictions -Time and time again
Hopefully you had a few quid on your predictions...
I wish we could see it like you do...
but NO to be honest... I've viewed something that well... will never be viewed by your good self. My county winning an All Ireland title :)
You must be dissapointed to lose such great footballers from your county set-up... oh no I keep on forgetting your from Antrim...
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 05/11/2011 21:47:20
One of my first memories of Brian dooher is during the 2003 semi final against kerry. He was on the end of a heavy shoulder and went to the ground like he had been shot.Two minutes after he got up he was running around the pitch like lightning.First time i saw gamesmanship in the Gaa. Then in the final Philip Jordan (another retiree) feigned injury to get Diarmuid Marsden sent off. He got an innocuous slap to the head and fell to the ground clutching his face like hed been hit by a sledgehammer.Embarrassing.Great team,and we should all be grateful to them for freeing football from such a dominant kerry team,but I will always remember these players for some of their more unsavoury antics on the pitch.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 06/11/2011 12:30:51
TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 76
1063936 One of my first memories of Brian dooher is during the 2003 semi final against kerry. He was on the end of a heavy shoulder and went to the ground like he had been shot.Two minutes after he got up he was running around the pitch like lightning.First time i saw gamesmanship in the Gaa. Then in the final Philip Jordan (another retiree) feigned injury to get Diarmuid Marsden sent off. He got an innocuous slap to the head and fell to the ground clutching his face like hed been hit by a sledgehammer.Embarrassing.Great team,and we should all be grateful to them for freeing football from such a dominant kerry team,but I will always remember these players for some of their more unsavoury antics on the pitch.
There was of course his 2 dives to get 2 Westmeath players sent off in 2008 aswell. Was going to post about Jordan in the 03 final aswell but didn't bother because you can be sure the Tyrone lads will have some reason to make what happened ok
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/11/2011 12:43:32
Get over it.
MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 06/11/2011 14:00:20
MichaelO County: Tyrone Posts: 383
1063974 Get over it.
So yout saying thoses things didn't happen?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/11/2011 14:57:48
ah the Brittish....
nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 06/11/2011 15:30:12
So yout saying thoses things didn't happen?
Meh personally i think the two Westmeath players deserved to get sent off even if Dooher made the most of it. To be honest I don't rly care to argue about it, it happened 3 years ago ffs. I'm not gonna start asking you to explain incidents involving say, O'Mahony, Kennelly and Galvin because it's been discussed to death.
MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 06/11/2011 16:27:30
Two great players who gave great service to Tyrone and the GAA. Best of luck to both and thanks for the memories.
P.S. Why is Snufalufagus allowed hijack every thread.
derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 06/11/2011 17:22:24
Moomoo we played you three times in the Championship in the last decade, we beat you three times. Try and move on from it mo chara
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 06/11/2011 19:26:15
All these people on yapping about jordan mcguigan dooher what they did in games every player that ever played county football has struck out made a swipe or kick at a player thats the temprement of a gaa player who might have been taking stick.All these players got alot of stick from players and supporters this happens in sport.I E louth loais meath dublin meath cork in late eightys.Any way look at their medal count it shows they were great great players.
mickeylinden (Monaghan) - Posts: 587 - 06/11/2011 19:54:10
pplocal Yes it is lazy and ignorant, a view sprouted by people who probably have never watched Tyrone play. If Tyrone are defending and the other team have the ball he's unable to show his creativity is he? There's only one ball on the pitch at a time, perhaps you'd have him doing keepy uppies on the sideline with a spare ball. So Tyrone took their half-forwards back who could then attack at pace when the ball was won. It was then he could show his creativity, pinging passes into other forwards or taking scores himself. He scored three points in the '05 final and set up countless more, if that was McGuigan when he was limited God knows what he would have done if he had played the way you want him to. Don't simply regurgitate tired and false cliches about Tyrone that you've read somewhere
Classic. Taking scores himself? And him back in his own half back line. He must have some boot on him. Playing him as a defender results in the majority of his possession coming back inside his own 40. A creative forward player should be the outlet for the defenders, not one of them himself. Does that not make sense? It is like playing the gooch out at midfield, yes he might do some things right, but surely it is fair to say he would do more damage in around the square.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/11/2011 20:15:11
pplocal County: Tyrone Posts: 4234
1064182 Moomoo we played you three times in the Championship in the last decade, we beat you three times. Try and move on from it mo chara
What does that have to do with the question i asked?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/11/2011 20:20:49
mickeylinden County: Monaghan Posts: 420
1064215 All these people on yapping about jordan mcguigan dooher what they did in games every player that ever played county football has struck out made a swipe or kick at a player thats the temprement of a gaa player who might have been taking stick.All these players got alot of stick from players and supporters this happens in sport.I E louth loais meath dublin meath cork in late eightys.Any way look at their medal count it shows they were great great players.
Yet when a Kerry player does something in a game its a totaly different story
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/11/2011 20:22:29
Cant we all just wish them all the best and send them on their merry way then?
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/11/2011 20:35:28
Here we have two great dedicated footballers retiring after over a decade of of unpaid service to the GAA. Both were exceptional role models and yet here we have the faceless few giving ridiculous abuse. Every player at the top level as long as these two will be involved in some incidents. time for a few posters to grow up.
MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 06/11/2011 20:42:19
Snuf,
Never underestimate the power of the 'insignificant' counties. Wasn't Colm O'Rourke originally from Leitrim and Larry Tompkins from Kildare? We have the power.....oh and this Dublin side is still all huff, puff and very little skill and ability. Poorest two years in GAA memory with Cork and Dublin winning SAM. Tyrone's demise and break up has let a lot of bad sides through.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 06/11/2011 20:43:12
He must have some boot on him indeed if the three points he scored in the'05 final were from inside his own half. Don't recall them being from that distance myself but I'll take your word for it
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 06/11/2011 21:04:15