McGuigan and Jordan retire

Ciaran Gourley next player to announce his retirement tonight

tir_eoghain_abu (Tyrone) - Posts: 773 - 03/11/2011 21:13:56    1062899

AthCliath
Agree with ye haven't read the adverse for the dubs - fair play.

Ciaran Gourley retired..heard that...but sorry ciaran thought you already had a few years back.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 03/11/2011 21:22:38    1062904

D5dub

1062345 It does however have to be said that these were two great footballers but ones who sullied their reputations by being two of the keenest exponents of the cynicism and unsportsmanlike conduct that Tyrone excelled at. Few Dublin fans will forget McGuigan's incessant verbal abuse of our freetakers and constant whinging at referees to seek cards for innocuous fouls. You may say that's simply part of the game but it's a part of it we could do without and while Tyrone were hardly the only ones to indulge in this caper, I do honestly believe that they were the first team to employ such behaviour as a preplanned tactic to intimidate opponents. I will always remember Jordan and McGuigan as being archetypal of that Tyrone team - tough and skilful but seriously lacking in class.

Theres the adverse

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 04/11/2011 10:31:02    1062990

redhanddefender

D5dub

1062345 It does however have to be said that these were two great footballers but ones who sullied their reputations by being two of the keenest exponents of the cynicism and unsportsmanlike conduct that Tyrone excelled at. Few Dublin fans will forget McGuigan's incessant verbal abuse of our freetakers and constant whinging at referees to seek cards for innocuous fouls. You may say that's simply part of the game but it's a part of it we could do without and while Tyrone were hardly the only ones to indulge in this caper, I do honestly believe that they were the first team to employ such behaviour as a preplanned tactic to intimidate opponents. I will always remember Jordan and McGuigan as being archetypal of that Tyrone team - tough and skilful but seriously lacking in class.

Theres the adverse

Unfortunately when successful players retire more often than not someone sums up their career with 'great footballer but...'
Not very sporting.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 04/11/2011 11:17:34    1063022

Redhanddefender

Most Dublin fans have been positive yes the odd clown (Some of which I owe after our game this year) but on balance most have been positive

Not so An Ciarrai unfortunately

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 04/11/2011 13:18:42    1063102

Tyronetim

AthCliath
Agree with ye haven't read the adverse for the dubs - fair play.

Ciaran Gourley retired..heard that...but sorry ciaran thought you already had a few years back.

I actually taught he had retired already aswell

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/11/2011 13:21:21    1063104

Hasn't featured for a number years I know blighted by injuries but surprised at this timing

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 04/11/2011 13:40:12    1063124

Gourley had a cruciate last year would have struggled to get back

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 04/11/2011 14:04:16    1063134

Tyronetim

Redhanddefender

Most Dublin fans have been positive yes the odd clown (Some of which I owe after our game this year) but on balance most have been positive

Not so An Ciarrai unfortunately

Most Kerry supporters have great respect for Tyrone.
This thread for the Kerry forum would be a snapshot of that.
http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=4040&page=1

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 04/11/2011 14:07:08    1063137

'Indeed, tyrone's own style probably limited those talents a little also'

pplocal
Extremely lazy and ignorant analysis of how Tyrone played

Actually no, it is spot on. In his pomp tyrone played a blanket defence. That limited his play without question. It was after he got injured (and wasnt the same player) that they started to play more expansive football. However, even then they still brought their half forward line back behind the gain line, again limiting his opportunities for more expansive play. But I suppose that is just lazy and ignorant. Why, instead of throwing insults, dont you have a go at explaining how bringing creative forwards back behind the ball to defend, doesnt limit their influence as attackers? The only thing I can think of is that he was in both places at once. You do know he had a brother playing dont you? They werent the same person.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/11/2011 16:34:13    1063258

The 2 players summed up the modern play of a wing back and centre forward. Big loss to the game now!

bigmoma (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 04/11/2011 16:36:59    1063263

"That limited his play without question. It was after he got injured (and wasnt the same player) that they started to play more expansive football."

Erm, what about the 05 final then, in which McGuigan scored 3 points?

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 04/11/2011 17:05:17    1063290

We will be seeing more retirements from the Tyrone camp before the new league campaign starts - Ricey, Mugsy and maybe a couple of others. Thats what happens when you hold on to aging players for so long - Mass Retirement. Thankfully we have an all ireland winning team waiting in the wings ;)

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 04/11/2011 18:29:18    1063333

Haha keep on dreaming cacs. Your day has gone, the big 5 are back on top.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/11/2011 19:00:49    1063372

Yes it is lazy and ignorant, a view sprouted by people who probably have never watched Tyrone play. If Tyrone are defending and the other team have the ball he's unable to show his creativity is he? There's only one ball on the pitch at a time, perhaps you'd have him doing keepy uppies on the sideline with a spare ball. So Tyrone took their half-forwards back who could then attack at pace when the ball was won. It was then he could show his creativity, pinging passes into other forwards or taking scores himself. He scored three points in the '05 final and set up countless more, if that was McGuigan when he was limited God knows what he would have done if he had played the way you want him to. Don't simply regurgitate tired and false cliches about Tyrone that you've read somewhere

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 04/11/2011 19:53:00    1063412

These two lads and Dooher were fairly OK players alright!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 04/11/2011 21:48:44    1063479

Great players and servants to Tyrone and the GAA but the team should have broken up after the 2008 final. That Tyrone side gave it their final push to win SAM in 2008 and it was even then it was a struggle for some of them. Tyrone have suffered since because loyalty took over in the Tyrone management mindset when obviously some players no longer had it. McGuigan was a brilliant player in his prime but suffered badly from injuries especially the serious eye one and hasn't really featured for a few years; Jordan was a great ball carrier and link man but even he couldn't do it on his own any more. The break up of the side should have happened earlier and it will take a while for it to gel again. Let's not kid ourselves though, Dublin are no world beaters, Donegal should have beaten them and Kerry threw it away big style. Dublin are a physical and very fit team but very ordinary football wise, I mean you wouldn't be falling over to pay in to watch their great ability and skill. I do believe they are very much one hit wonders but of course the Dublin soccer heads on HS can't see that. How many of them will go to Dublin's League games? They will still be full from Rovers title win.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 05/11/2011 20:13:10    1063774

I agree i was rooting for dublin to win sam but their full of heart commitment fitness and they done so well in a few years.But apart from apart 3 players they have to be the worst skilled team to ever win sam you coun,dt begin to pick any player with much skill for inter county players.But then again the 95 team were also poor and got lucky.

mickeylinden (Monaghan) - Posts: 587 - 05/11/2011 20:31:00    1063790

Donegal should have bet us? How do a team who didn't score for half an hour in the 2nd half deserve to win? Maybe we are kidding ourselves maybe we are no good but hey were all Ireland champs something Antrim will never be and that's a fact.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/11/2011 20:41:32    1063799

Gas craic!!!

Two lads from the most insignificant of GAA counties spouting about Dublin GAA like as if their own counties had even an ounce of credibility in the GAA world!!!!.............I've seen it all now!!!

There are 4 senior grade major national titles up for grabs between hurling and football in any given year and across both the codes Dublin have 2 out of the 4, thats 50% of them!!!!......read it and weep!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/11/2011 20:51:16    1063809