Pro 12 League/Heineken Cup

Well at the moment three Irish sides are seeded 1,2,3 for the 1/4 final stage. I'd say now, as things stand we'll be looking at Leinster being top seeds. I think they'll beat Montpellier. Munster have a hard task to get a win away in Milton Keynes. I think they might get their first defeat there, but pick up a losing bonus point. Whether thats enough for a home 1/4 i don't know, but hopefully the Red Army march through the Saints and give them another beating and get the home 1/4.

Ulster have a really big task. Absolutely brilliant performance against Leicester. The Tigers are always a useful team and for Ulster to dismantle them the way they did has to be applauded. Clermont though is going to be a different animal. They go into the game knowing they have to win to go through. I'm not sure of the permiatations but will the losing bp give Ulster the group if Clermont win withough a bp????

And ourselves. Well we played with heart and a bit of fight and if McSharry had looked right where Gavin Duffy had the freedom of the park and could have cartwheeled over the line you never know what could have happened. We have one last push on Friday and hopefully we'll do the Ulster lads a favour (if they don't beat Clermont) and beat Quins so they wouldn't have to worry about them in the 2nd place battle.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 16/01/2012 09:46:14    1094245

Unreal on Friday night, best Ulster game I've been at bar none and the atmosphere was brilliant. And yet given how the other results went it will require an even bigger performance to win at fortress Clermont. If we lose, even with a losing bp, in all likelihood we'll be out as Clermont will probably have a better head to head. Win and we're looking at a home quarter. If we do lose we need one of four results to go in our favour including the Connacht game. Here's hoping Connacht can pull one big performance out of the bag and pick up their first HC win which would also guarantee three Irish team teams in the last 8. But our destiny is in our hands and play like we did last Friday we have a chance

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 18/01/2012 12:47:59    1095846

Munster Rugby are currently offering a three match pack which includes tickets for the last three remaining pool games in Thomond Park from 50 euro per person. This pack includes Cardiff, Leinster (Not on Public Sale) and Ulster home fixtures.

This season's package offers fantastic value with a 15% discount on individual match prices.

Category A €100
Category B €75
Terrace €50
Junior Terrace €18
Terrace Family Pack (North/South) €100
Category B Family Pack 1 Adult + 1 Child €100
Category B Family Pack 2 Adult + 2 Children €200

Individual Matches
With the reduction in ticket prices and the introduction of a family pack for just €40 there are now some great value ticket options available to watch Munster play. Full details of ticket prices available are as follows:

Ticket Prices
Category A Stand - €40
Category B Stand - €30
Adult & Child Stand - €40 (Cat B Seating for one Adult & and one Child Under 16)
Adult Terrace - €20
Junior Terrace - €7 (Under 16)
Family Pack Terrace - €40 (Two Adult Terrace & Two Junior Terrace)

Tickets are also available from:
The Munster Rugby Ticket Office in Thomond Park Limerick and Tramore Road Cork
The Munster Rugby Store in Cork and Limerick.

contact Munster Rugby's ticket office on (061) 421103 for further details

Some very good value there, especially the kids tickets, only 7 euro. great value to see some of the best rugby players in ireland perform

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/01/2012 13:01:17    1096500

Squads that have been announced so far for this weekends games
Connacht:
15 Gavin Duffy (capt), 14 Fetu'u Vainikolo, 13 Kyle Tonetti, 12 Dave McSharry, 11 Tiernan O'Halloran, 10 Niall O'Connor, 9 Paul O'Donohoe,
8 George Naoupu, 7 Ray Ofisa, 6 John Muldoon, 5 Mike McCarthy, 4 Michael Swift, 3 Ronan Loughney, 2 Adrian Flavin, 1 Brett Wilkinson.
Replacements:*16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 Denis Buckley, 18 Dylan Rogers, 19 Mick Kearney, 20 Eoin McKeon, 21 Dave Moore, 22 Miah Nikora, 23 Henry Fa'afili.

Harlequins:
15 Mike Brown, 14 Ugo Monye, 13 Matt Hopper, 12 Jordan Turner-Hall, 11 Sam Smith, 10 Nick Evans, 9 Danny Care,
8 Nick Easter, 7 Chris Robshaw, 6 Maurie Fa'asavalu, 5 George Robson, 4 Tomas Vallejos, 3 James Johnston, 2 Chris Brooker, 1 Joe Marler.
Replacements:*16 Joe Gray, 17 Mark Lambert, 18 Tim Fairbrother, 19 Olly Kohn, 20 Luke Wallace, 21 Richard Bolt, 22 Rory Clegg, 23 Tom Casson.

Munster Squad (for Heineken Cup Round 6 game v Northampton Saints, Milton Keynes, Saturday Kick-off 6pm).
Marcus Horan, Wian du Preez, John Ryan, Stephen Archer, BJ Botha, Damien Varley, Denis Fogarty, Donnacha Ryan, Paul O'Connell, Donncha O'Callaghan, Ian Nagle, Mick O'Driscoll, Peter O'Mahony, James Coughlan, Billy Holland, Dave O'Callaghan,Conor Murray, Tomas O'Leary, Duncan Williams, Ronan O'Gara, Ian Keatley, Danny Barnes, Simon Zebo, Will Chambers, Lifeimi Mafi, Keith Earls, Johne Murphy, Denis Hurley.

Team to be announced tomorrow

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/01/2012 14:57:22    1096567

Right then, big big weekend this one.

As the week has gone on i have got more and more confident that again, 3 Irish teams will be in the H Cup 1/4s. Leinster will get the job done 2moro. Might not be spectacular, but the job will be done professionally like in Glasgow last week. I am now beginning to fancy Munster aswell. I think they could do a number on the mighty Saints (oh how far they have fallen since last May!!!!). Munster still haven't played to their full potential in the competition and i think McGahan knows the importance of the home draw. I think the Red Army will march on Milton Keynes and come away with the win.

Lots of positive noises coming out of Ulsters camp, and hopefully they can replicate last weeks performance against Clermont. If they can stay close to them scorewise in the early exchanges and take whatever chances come their way, there could be a bit of a suprise in France. I'm sure as long as Ulster match what Clermont do try-wise and stay within 4 points of them i think it is even in defeat that will still see them top the group. So come on the Ulstermen...

And tonight, our first foray into the Heineken Cup will come to an end. Hopefully the experience of being in the competition, the renewed vigour amongst the fans and playing against a higher calibre of player than we are used too will rub off on us. I'd like to think that tonight we will throw the kitchen sink at Harlequins. We have nothing to lose, everything to gain and hopefully we can gain that all important first win...I've a good feeling that we can!!!! Come on Connacht and best of luck to the other irish teams over the weekend!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 20/01/2012 11:05:44    1096933

tribeinbrum

1096933 Right then, big big weekend this one.

As the week has gone on i have got more and more confident that again, 3 Irish teams will be in the H Cup 1/4s. Leinster will get the job done 2moro. Might not be spectacular, but the job will be done professionally like in Glasgow last week. I am now beginning to fancy Munster aswell. I think they could do a number on the mighty Saints (oh how far they have fallen since last May!!!!). Munster still haven't played to their full potential in the competition and i think McGahan knows the importance of the home draw. I think the Red Army will march on Milton Keynes and come away with the win.

Lots of positive noises coming out of Ulsters camp, and hopefully they can replicate last weeks performance against Clermont. If they can stay close to them scorewise in the early exchanges and take whatever chances come their way, there could be a bit of a suprise in France. I'm sure as long as Ulster match what Clermont do try-wise and stay within 4 points of them i think it is even in defeat that will still see them top the group. So come on the Ulstermen...

And tonight, our first foray into the Heineken Cup will come to an end. Hopefully the experience of being in the competition, the renewed vigour amongst the fans and playing against a higher calibre of player than we are used too will rub off on us. I'd like to think that tonight we will throw the kitchen sink at Harlequins. We have nothing to lose, everything to gain and hopefully we can gain that all important first win...I've a good feeling that we can!!!! Come on Connacht and best of luck to the other irish teams over the weekend!!!!

Tribe, really hope ye can push on and be in the tournament again next season. The increase in season tickets, attendances overall on the back of ye playing in the heineken has been great to see, now ye need to back that up with some wins on the park. Ye do and with the way ye're underage teams are improving we will soon have hopefully 4 strong provinces fighting it out on europes main stage every season
Munster and Leinster are through and looking for the vital home draw which is well achievable for both sides. Hopefully the northen boys can do it and make it 3 irish sides in the 1/4s

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/01/2012 11:23:57    1096945

C'mon Connacht, playing very well so far esp the park, keep it going for ye're first Heineken win, ye deserve it

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/01/2012 21:25:32    1097413

Gloucester winning by 10 means Ulster are definitely through. Fantastic achievement and three Irish teams in the Quarters finals. Hopefully we can win tomorrow and make it three home quarters. SUFTUM

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 20/01/2012 21:47:52    1097426

Connacht win, great win

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/01/2012 21:55:18    1097431

Ulster really going in the right direction , Great to see 3 Irish provinces advancing to the 1/4 finals I can't see Ulster winning the Group but never the less great to be in the knock out stage for the 2nd year running SUFTUM!

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 21/01/2012 12:05:01    1097467

Great game Ulster just coming up short if only their could have converted one of those chances towards the end of the first half it could have been a different story, an away game ? its going to be tough but I think nobody will fancy meeting the Ulster Men !.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 21/01/2012 17:28:13    1097589

Unbelievable Munster. Ryan, Coughlin, Paulie, Zebo, ROG, Johne Murphs, Mafi all supurb. that was amazing. 51 points away from home to clinch 6 wins and top seed dor the 1/4s and people were worried about us before the group stages

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 21/01/2012 20:07:18    1097648

Fortyfive, whilst Ulster are playing well, I don't see them troubling either Munster or Leinster.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 21/01/2012 20:11:59    1097649

21/01/2012 20:11:59
killer_88_

1097649 Fortyfive, whilst Ulster are playing well, I don't see them troubling either Munster or Leinster.

At the same time while Munster will be top seeds, we have been very very average and Ulster will trouble us a lot. Game not for nearly 3 months so injurys and form especially with the 6 nations on will play a big role in the game. Id still fancy munster if we've to play them but you never know

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 21/01/2012 20:25:39    1097653

Would have to disagree with your opinion that Mafi was superb last night ormondbannerman, thought he made a lot of silly errors in the first half which could have put us in a lot of trouble. He was competent nonetheless, but he is so brainless it's not funny. In addition to the others you've mentioned, I personally thought Conor Murray was excellent, he won a couple of penalties at the breakdown and his last gasp save from Tonga'uiha was absolutely crucial at that time in the match. How ironic that we'll be facing the most successful Heineken Cup team of all time despite finishing as the top seeds!

treatystoner (Limerick) - Posts: 178 - 22/01/2012 14:39:05    1097773

It was some result by Connaught! Some shock. Fair play!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8973 - 22/01/2012 18:16:51    1097891

hopefully munster stuff ulster

lynchpin (Laois) - Posts: 32 - 22/01/2012 18:32:53    1097904

22/01/2012 14:39:05
treatystoner
County: Limerick

1097773 Would have to disagree with your opinion that Mafi was superb last night ormondbannerman, thought he made a lot of silly errors in the first half which could have put us in a lot of trouble. He was competent nonetheless. In addition to the others you've mentioned, I personally thought Conor Murray was excellent, he won a couple of penalties at the breakdown and his last gasp save from Tonga'uiha was absolutely crucial at that time in the match. How ironic that we'll be facing the most successful Heineken Cup team of all time despite finishing as the top seeds!

Watch the game again, he was very very good. He normally is very open to committing brain farts and that never looked like happening last night.
Murray has to be starting 9 in 6 nations now.
Having to play Toulouse in 1/4s dispite finishing as no. 1 seeds Shows how tough a competition the Heineken is.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/01/2012 18:35:18    1097909

lynchpin
County: Laois

hopefully munster stuff ulster

Now that's not very nice , is it!.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 22/01/2012 18:53:06    1097924

amazing only two english teams left in the cup saracens and ulster

lynchpin (Laois) - Posts: 32 - 22/01/2012 19:39:22    1097969