Pro 12 League/Heineken Cup

07/01/2012 20:29:37
Loughduff Lad

1090155 Ulster looked very good last night with a 42-20 win over Edinburgh, we have 5 wins in 6 now, with the last 2 being bonus points wins. Great time to be bringing Leicester to Ravenhill next week. Only problem is Humphreys and Wannenburg came off early last night with injuries, its not known yet how they are. Anyway, it will be a full house in Ravenhill next Friday night. I was buying my tickets on the website earlier and there is less than 500 tickets left, including temporary stands behind each goal, and these will be gone by Friday. If we can win with preventing a losing bonus point for Leicester, it would be amazing. Ravenhill is not easy to go to.

From some of the ulster forums etc they should be allright for next week, they'd better be ok if ye are to have any shot of getting a 1/4 final spot

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 07/01/2012 21:18:46    1090165

The wheels have truly come off for us then. Very hard to see where a win is going to come from. In our next two Heineken cup games we are playing really decent sides who will be looking at bonus point victories. We could really be in for a thumping. I didn't want to say it, but maybe the job is too much for Elwood. Last season was great, one of our best performances in the league and heineken cup rugby coming in. This season though after such a promising start is descending into a farce. 13 straight defeats is hard to take.

And then who is our next opponents, oh, only the multi-millionaire Heineken Cup winners elect Toulouse. Hopefully we can regroup and really go for it in France. We have nothing to lose at all and if we come out of the game with our heads held high that will do. So come on the Connacht boys....We have to believe in miracles.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 09/01/2012 09:45:43    1090591

tribeinbrum

1090591 The wheels have truly come off for us then. Very hard to see where a win is going to come from. In our next two Heineken cup games we are playing really decent sides who will be looking at bonus point victories. We could really be in for a thumping. I didn't want to say it, but maybe the job is too much for Elwood. Last season was great, one of our best performances in the league and heineken cup rugby coming in. This season though after such a promising start is descending into a farce. 13 straight defeats is hard to take.

And then who is our next opponents, oh, only the multi-millionaire Heineken Cup winners elect Toulouse. Hopefully we can regroup and really go for it in France. We have nothing to lose at all and if we come out of the game with our heads held high that will do. So come on the Connacht boys....We have to believe in miracles.

tribeinbrum

1090591 The wheels have truly come off for us then. Very hard to see where a win is going to come from. In our next two Heineken cup games we are playing really decent sides who will be looking at bonus point victories. We could really be in for a thumping. I didn't want to say it, but maybe the job is too much for Elwood. Last season was great, one of our best performances in the league and heineken cup rugby coming in. This season though after such a promising start is descending into a farce. 13 straight defeats is hard to take.

Best of luck tribe, you never know what could happen. french umpredictability and all that
Cant wait for saturday, playing game nearly beside thomond and then heading to game to hopefully see a big win and we'll be qualified for the 1/4s

Munster Squad for Heineken Cup match v Castres Olympique, Thomond park Stadium, Saturday, 3.40pm.

Marcus Horan, John Ryan Wian Du Preez, Stephen Archer, BJ Botha, Damien Varley, Denis Fogarty, Donncha O'Callaghan, Donncha Ryan, Paul O'Connell, Ian Nagle, Mick O'Driscoll, Peter O.Mahony, Billy Holland, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan, Tomas O'Leary, Conor Murray, Duncan Williams, Ronan O'Gara, Ian Keatley, Danny Barnes, Simon Zebo, Will Chambers, Lifeimi Mafi, Keith Earls, Johne Murphy, Denis Hurley,

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/01/2012 17:26:41    1092060

Can't wait until Friday, Ravenhill will be buzzing. Really think we'll win beat Leicester but stopping them from gaining a bonus point could be crucial. That would bring us to 18 which could possibly be enough for a best runners up spot although it's unlikely, a losing bonus point in Clermont (really can't winning there) could be needed. Still all the permutations can wait, we must beat the Tigers and stop them getting within seven if possible. Munster and Leinster should wrap up a quarter final spot and are looking good for two home semi's, sadly Connacht's HC adventure is turning into a bit of a nightmare but hopefully they can pull a victory out of the bag

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/01/2012 17:52:46    1092083

It's a massive weekend for the big three.

Pomeroy, you lads owe it to the rugby world to give the Tigers a hiding. That game will be an absolute cracker, but with the Ravenhill roar behind them i fancy Ulster to win. They have been going well recently as the last two results have shown.

Munster have to fancy their chances. It's games like this that are made for Thomand. It'll be another great atmosphere and hopefully the bonus point victory to wrap up the group. Are Castres bringing a decent squad with them/ be handy if they left a few of their bigger guns at home.

Leinster at the moment seriously seem to be on another planet. Without a certain Mr O'Driscoll. I just can't see anyone beating them so i reckon they'll get the win in Glasgow, although the Scots will be really up for it. That could be another cracker to blow the cobwebs away on Sunday afternoon.

And ourselves, sod it, we're going to Real Madrid of rugby and we're going to batter them!!!!!!!! CONNACHT CONNACHT CONNACHT CONNACHT!!!!!!!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 12/01/2012 09:33:07    1092307

12/01/2012 09:33:07
tribeinbrum

1092307 It's a massive weekend for the big three.

Pomeroy, you lads owe it to the rugby world to give the Tigers a hiding. That game will be an absolute cracker, but with the Ravenhill roar behind them i fancy Ulster to win. They have been going well recently as the last two results have shown.

Munster have to fancy their chances. It's games like this that are made for Thomand. It'll be another great atmosphere and hopefully the bonus point victory to wrap up the group. Are Castres bringing a decent squad with them/ be handy if they left a few of their bigger guns at home.

Leinster at the moment seriously seem to be on another planet. Without a certain Mr O'Driscoll. I just can't see anyone beating them so i reckon they'll get the win in Glasgow, although the Scots will be really up for it. That could be another cracker to blow the cobwebs away on Sunday afternoon.

And ourselves, sod it, we're going to Real Madrid of rugby and we're going to batter them!!!!!!!! CONNACHT CONNACHT CONNACHT CONNACHT!!!!!!!!!!

Castres squad not named yet, should be some time today. Id say theyll bring a fairly strong squad as to not risk a fine from the ERC, even if they are full strength we should be wrapping up 5 points and sealing the group

Leinster are lucking very good at the moment and should end the group stage with 6 wins and number 1 seed

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/01/2012 11:30:04    1092362

That is a question.

Munster could feasibly win all 6 games but would they then be No 1 seeds as if Leinster win their last two they will finish with 5 wins and a draw but could have garnered more points.

Is it based on the amount of points obtained???

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 12/01/2012 11:34:47    1092366

12/01/2012 11:34:47
tribeinbrum

1092366 That is a question.

Munster could feasibly win all 6 games but would they then be No 1 seeds as if Leinster win their last two they will finish with 5 wins and a draw but could have garnered more points.

Is it based on the amount of points obtained???

Points obtained, not fair otherwise

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/01/2012 11:39:57    1092368

Fair enough.

With wins for Ulster Munster and Leinster this weekend it could then open up the possibility of a Leinster/Munster v Ulster 1/4 final if Ulster do not win the goup and finish as a top runner up.......

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 12/01/2012 11:48:28    1092379

12/01/2012 11:48:28
tribeinbrum

1092379 Fair enough.

With wins for Ulster Munster and Leinster this weekend it could then open up the possibility of a Leinster/Munster v Ulster 1/4 final if Ulster do not win the goup and finish as a top runner up.......

Ulster may need a couple of wins to progress, as since the current bonus points' format was introduced, only two of the 16 teams to qualify as one of the best runners-up did so with less than 20 points. Im not sure they'll get both, they're playing 2 tough sides but you never know

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/01/2012 12:00:45    1092387

Ulster team for Friday Night.
S Terblanche; A Trimble, D Cave, P Wallace, C Gilroy; I Humphreys, R Pienaar, T Court, R Best, J Afoa, J Muller (Captain), D Tuohy, S Ferris, C Henry, P Wannenburg

Replacements: N Brady, C Black, A Macklin, L Stevenson, W Faloon, P Marshall, I Whitten, A D'Arcy

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/01/2012 12:14:23    1092399

This weekend is going to tell a lot.

In a lot of the groups teams are still scrapping to win their pool so points could be dropped. A lower points total might get you through as a best placed runner up.

Ulster could do a right number on Leicester though and get a bp themselves. That would certainly put them in pole position to go through i'd say.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 12/01/2012 12:24:20    1092412

Good to see Wannenburg and Wallace back, I'd personally have Marshall at 9 and move Pienaar to 10 but a strong looking team nonetheless. Yeah Ormond I'm unsure if 18/19 would be enough but looking at the other groups I don't know if too many other second placed teams will get that much. If we do there would be a real possibility of an all-Irish HC quarter which whets the appetite. Anyway all that can wait until after Friday, here's hoping all the Irish provinces do well

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 12/01/2012 12:28:24    1092422

weekend pror irish predictions for the irish 4, munster,leinster, ulster to win and connacht to loose( they put in one good half)

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 12/01/2012 17:59:16    1092728

Yeah pplocal, it should be a great night tomorrow night. I reckon with the full house behind them, I think Ulster can win and and prevent Leicester gettinga bonus point. Humphreys and Wannenburg have been passed fit and they are a huge lift. Pienaar is great at 10, but I think Humphreys is better at the moment. Pienaar did not place kick well againt Edinburgh last week, although that will come back to him quickly, as it was his first game at 10 in a while. I think it will come down to a few important kicks and every little bit will help. I really can't wait for tomorrow night, nowhere better than Ravenhill on a Heineken cup night.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2480 - 12/01/2012 20:59:54    1092846

Ulster dominance rewarded with an early try Ulster 7 Leicester 0 6 ins gone

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/01/2012 20:09:45    1093377

Ulster dominance rewarded with an early try Ulster 7 Leicester 0 6 ins gone

great try by Murphy Ulster 10 Leicester 7 ulster pressing again but breaks down on the 20 20 mins gone

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/01/2012 20:22:13    1093391

Trimble ends the half with a carbon copy of his first try Ulster 18 - 7 half time

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/01/2012 20:47:16    1093411

Bang! Bang! 47 - 7 bonus point in the bag well done the Ulster men.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/01/2012 21:43:43    1093447

Munster have won their pool but still need to go in search of a win to gain a home quarter-final. Tough competition.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8973 - 15/01/2012 16:28:33    1093860