Pro 12 League/Heineken Cup

From an Irish rugby point of view, looking at the Heineken Cup groups this morning makes for very good reading. Leinster and Munster have the jobs virtually done and i fully expect them to complete the task in their next games and be safely through to a home 1/4 final. And fair play to Ulster. They have really given themselves a great chance of getting through and also a home 1/4 final. Won't be easy with the Tigers up next and then a trip to Clermont but hopefully the Ravenhill roar will spur them on and they can knock Leicester out to set up a right ding dong final game.

Connacht, well, Saturday was another day of huge dissapointment. The lads left everything out there, everything. But a sucker punch try after we had been defending so well and a failure to convert possession into scores cost us. Felt like crying when May went over, but thats sport. We have not let ourselves down, and hopefully this experience will stand to us in the Rabo and the last two games, although with the way the group has gone now we will be canon fodder for Toulouse and Quins. Anyway, come on Leinster Munster and Ulster, go and win the thing between you's and we'll be back again next year!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 19/12/2011 10:09:32    1085855

With John Hayes' probable last ever game in a munster jersey next week, munster have changed their training venue this week to the home club of the Munster legand.

The open day training session will take place in Bruff RFC, Kilballyowen on Thursday, 22nd December from 11am to 1pm.

With Bull retiring in about 2 weeks time, it may be the last time you ever get to see The Bull on a rugby pitch, anyone living near bruff should try and go see one of the greatest sportspeople around. He is just very understated and a great guy to have in your squad. Bull, you'll be missed. 'tis your field

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/12/2011 15:23:37    1086383

Ormond, will he finish after the Connacht game then? If that's his final game, then at least it is at Thomand in front of what should be a decent crowd.

Arguably the greatest prop Ireland have ever produced, a monster of a man, but very much a gentle giant. It'll just be a shame his last game may end in defeat though ;-)

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 20/12/2011 15:54:59    1086403

20/12/2011 15:54:59
tribeinbrum

1086403 Ormond, will he finish after the Connacht game then? If that's his final game, then at least it is at Thomand in front of what should be a decent crowd.

Arguably the greatest prop Ireland have ever produced, a monster of a man, but very much a gentle giant. It'll just be a shame his last game may end in defeat though ;-)

Yeah he finishes up after the 2 xmas games. Contract was due to finish at world cup which was to be his swansong but his deteriorating perofrmances over the last year or so meant that was not meant to be and he signed up as cover when tony buckley went off to Sale which was totally unexpected
Dont think so tribe, as much as the westies would love to get a win. Bulls finale wont be a loss to Connacht
Bull, tis your field

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/12/2011 21:26:15    1086577

Ah come on Ormond. After 10 straight defeats we could do with a favour from our Southern Neighbours!!!!

All the inter-pro's over Christmas should be interesting though.

In all honesty i fancy us to push Munster close, again ending up in glorious failure, probably getting beat but less than a score. I reckon Leinster will beat Ulster although that could be a tight one again.

Ulster Munster in Ravenhill is a hard one to pick. Ulster on their hme patch are a tough nut to crack and i think they might well win this one as they are playing some decent stuff.....

Then onto Leinster Connacht. Sportsground, New Years Day. Well, we need a win might aswell be against the European Champions!!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 21/12/2011 11:19:59    1086656

21/12/2011 11:19:59
tribeinbrum

1086656 Ah come on Ormond. After 10 straight defeats we could do with a favour from our Southern Neighbours!!!!

All the inter-pro's over Christmas should be interesting though.

In all honesty i fancy us to push Munster close, again ending up in glorious failure, probably getting beat but less than a score. I reckon Leinster will beat Ulster although that could be a tight one again.

Ulster Munster in Ravenhill is a hard one to pick. Ulster on their hme patch are a tough nut to crack and i think they might well win this one as they are playing some decent stuff.....

Then onto Leinster Connacht. Sportsground, New Years Day. Well, we need a win might aswell be against the European Champions!!!!!

Ulster Munster is very hard to pick, munster rarely win up in belfast, have only 1 win in 20+ years iirc
IMO Connacht wont win either game but if the weather is bad they could crag either side esp munster into a battle and could scrap a draw. Connacht munster have had a few very low scoring draws over the christmas period the last few years

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 21/12/2011 12:20:42    1086687

Fixtures for Rounds Five and Six announced
http://www.ercrugby.com/eng/news/15764.php
ROUND 5
FRIDAY, 13 JANUARY 2012
Pool 2 Racing Metro 92 v Edinburgh Rugby 21.00 (Local time, 20:00 Irish Time)
Pool 4 Ulster Rugby v Leicester Tigers 20.00
Pool 5 Ospreys v Benetton Treviso 20.00

SATURDAY, 14 JANUARY 2012
Pool 1 Scarlets v Northampton Saints 13.30
Pool 3 Montpellier v Bath Rugby 14.00 (Local Time 13:00 Irish Time)
Pool 4 Aironi Rugby v ASM Clermont Auvergne (Stadio Brianteo, Monza) 14.30 (Local Time 13:30 Irish Time)
Pool 1 Munster Rugby v Castres Olympique 15.40
Pool 2 London Irish v Cardiff Blues 15.40
Pool 6 Toulouse v Connacht Rugby 16.40 (Local time 15:40 Irish Time)
Pool 6 Harlequins v Gloucester Rugby 18.00

SUNDAY, 15 JANUARY 2012
Pool 3 Glasgow Warriors v Leinster Rugby 12.45
Pool 5 Saracens v Biarritz Olympique 15.00

ROUND 6

FRIDAY, 20 JANUARY 2012
Pool 6 Connacht Rugby v Harlequins 20.00
Pool 6 Gloucester Rugby v Toulouse 20.00

SATURDAY, 21 JANUARY 2012
Pool 3 Bath Rugby v Glasgow Warriors 13.30
Pool 3 Leinster Rugby v Montpellier 13.30
Pool 4 Leicester Tigers v Aironi Rugby 15.40
Pool 4 ASM Clermont Auvergne v Ulster Rugby 16.40 (Local Time 15:40 Irish Time)
Pool 1 Northampton Saints v Munster Rugby (stadium:mk) 18.00
Pool 1 Castres Olympique v Scarlets 19.00 (Local Time, 18:00 Irish Time)

SUNDAY, 22 JANUARY 2012
Pool 5 Benetton Treviso v Saracens 14.00 (Local Time, 13:00 Irish Time)
Pool 5 Biarritz Olympique v Ospreys 14.00 (Local Time, 13:00 Irish Time)
Pool 2 Cardiff Blues v Racing Metro 92 15.15
Pool 2 Edinburgh Rugby v London Irish 15.15

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 21/12/2011 12:33:10    1086690

I'd say looking at those fixtures Munster could be looking at 6 straight wins. Northampton have gone for the money in staging the game at Stadium MK, and while it might have been a plum draw at the start of the group, honestly at that stage, with Munster through (assuming they beat Castres) they would have been just as well to play it at Franklins Gardens. I cannot see that many travelling from home for what could effectively be a dead rubber.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 21/12/2011 13:52:33    1086751

21/12/2011 13:52:33
tribeinbrum

1086751 I'd say looking at those fixtures Munster could be looking at 6 straight wins. Northampton have gone for the money in staging the game at Stadium MK, and while it might have been a plum draw at the start of the group, honestly at that stage, with Munster through (assuming they beat Castres) they would have been just as well to play it at Franklins Gardens. I cannot see that many travelling from home for what could effectively be a dead rubber.

They should be looking for the 6 wins as the castres game is essentially a dead rubber as well with castres doing very well in the top 14 and now they cant win the group you wouldnt be surprised if they sent a weakened side to limerick for the round 5 game. The northampton game will be tougher than the castres game as northmpton will be very much up for playing us, having been so close to us in thomond and after a few poor performances will want to end the group stage on a high

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 21/12/2011 13:59:33    1086754

All the more reason for Northants to have played the game at home then, rather than switch it.....Could understand if the game really mattered and a place in the knockout stages was at stake, but for a game that will more than likely will be for nothing but pride i find it a bit strange.

Some big games coming up though. Hopefully Ulster can get the win over Leicester and have the Tigers out of it early. They've got a really tough end to the group.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 21/12/2011 14:13:16    1086766

Big changes are coming with the Plans the IRFU have just outlined.

http://www.irishrugby.ie/news/25137.php

That is going to be one hell of a shake up........

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 21/12/2011 15:27:02    1086819

21/12/2011 15:27:02
tribeinbrum

1086819 Big changes are coming with the Plans the IRFU have just outlined.

http://www.irishrugby.ie/news/25137.php

That is going to be one hell of a shake up........

It will more than likely mean way more transfers between the provinces and deals like munster giving leinster 1 of their many 2nd row prospects in exchange for 1 of leinsters outside back prospects. This is very likely as there is no problems in munster in producing 2nd rows yet leinster had to do a very public call out for young lads of any sport who are taller than 6'6 and munster dont ever look like producing many outside backs but leinster are producing truckloads.

I disagree with the idea as it may mean that our chances of doing well in europe receed dispite irelands chances of doing well in 6nations, world cups improve

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/12/2011 13:08:46    1087092

Personally i think in the long run it's a good idea. It's safeguarding the National Team and will improve all the provinces.

Also being as it has been announced well in advance it will give the teams time to be used to it. It may also improve our (Connacht) chances of qualifying for the Heineken Cup as of right, rather than depending on other teams winning it.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 22/12/2011 13:40:19    1087103

On the eve of his final game for Munster I would like to say THANK YOU to 'The Bull'.
John's record is simply outstanding -
Ireland Caps - 105

Munster Caps - 212

Celtic/Magners League - 2003, 2009, 2011

Celtic Cup - 2005

Heineken Cup - 2006, 2008

Triple Crown - 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009

RBS 6 Nations Championship - 2009

Grand Slam - 2009

Thanks Bull

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/12/2011 13:17:46    1087360

I'll second that.

Pure legend.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 23/12/2011 13:21:07    1087364

Squads for interpros on monday in the RDS at 5.30, live on rte and in thomond park at 7.45, live on tg4

LEINSTER:
Luke Fitzgerald
David Kearney, Fergus McFadden, Gordon D'Arcy, Fionn Carr
Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan

Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Mike Ross
Damian Browne, Devin Toner
Kevin McLaughlin, Shane Jennings(cp), Leo Auva'a
Subs
Richardt Strauss, Jack McGrath, Jamie Hagan
Steven Sykes, Rhys Ruddock
Isaac Boss, Eoin O'Malley, Andrew Conway

ULSTER:
P Nelson
C Cochrane, M Allen, C Farrell, S Danielli;
J McKinney, P Marshall;
Black, N Brady(cp), A Macklin,
T Barker, L Stevenson,
N McComb, A Birch, R Diack

Subs
N Annett, J Cronin, T Court,
J Simpson, C Joyce,
I Porter, S Olding, C Gaston

Munster:
Sean Scanlon;
Luke O'Dea, Keith Earls, Danny Barnes, Simon Zebo;
Ian Keatley, Tomas O'Leary;
Marcus Horan, Denis Fogarty, John Hayes;
Donncha O'Callaghan, Mick O'Driscoll capt;
Billy Holland, Niall Ronan, Paddy Butler.
Subs
Sean Henry, Dave Kilcoyne, BJ Botha,
Ian Nagle, James Coughlan,
Duncan Williams, Scott Deasy, Tom Gleeson

Connacht (v Munster):
G Duffy;
F Vainikolo, E Griffin, D McSharry, T O'Halloran;
N O'Connor, F Murphy;
B Wilkinson, E Reynecke, R Loughney,
G Naoupu, M McCarthy,
D Gannon, J O'Connor, J Muldoon.
Subs
A Flavin, D Rogers, R Ah You,
M Kearney, E McKeon,
P O'Donohoe, M Jarvis, K Tonetti.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/12/2011 13:40:34    1087369

The legend that is John Hayes has retired, great to see the Bull lead munster out onto the field yesterday.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 27/12/2011 13:51:32    1087415

AAAAAAAAggggggghhhhh.

12 straight league defeats.....FFS. The Munster game i can take, we were beaten by the better team, but Sunday was a bitter pill to swallow. I know Leinster didn't have their 1st 15 out but we dominated them. Beat them all ends up and still could not force the win. Stupid errors coughed up penalties and jesus what i'd give for a half decent fly half. The amount of missed penalties and conversions and in the end drop goal cost us big time.

Was a frickin nightmare. But hopefully we can right some wrongs out in Italy and stop the losing streak. The run simply has to stop at Aironi....

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 03/01/2012 09:47:42    1087946

03/01/2012 09:47:42
tribeinbrum

1087946 AAAAAAAAggggggghhhhh.

12 straight league defeats.....FFS. The Munster game i can take, we were beaten by the better team, but Sunday was a bitter pill to swallow. I know Leinster didn't have their 1st 15 out but we dominated them. Beat them all ends up and still could not force the win. Stupid errors coughed up penalties and jesus what i'd give for a half decent fly half. The amount of missed penalties and conversions and in the end drop goal cost us big time.

Was a frickin nightmare. But hopefully we can right some wrongs out in Italy and stop the losing streak. The run simply has to stop at Aironi....

Connacht very poor, 13 on the bounce now and next three games are Quins (h), Toulouse (a), Cardiff (a)

Can't see Connacht having a chance in any of those 3, even though Cardiff will be without their internationals

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 07/01/2012 17:38:32    1090059

Ulster looked very good last night with a 42-20 win over Edinburgh, we have 5 wins in 6 now, with the last 2 being bonus points wins. Great time to be bringing Leicester to Ravenhill next week. Only problem is Humphreys and Wannenburg came off early last night with injuries, its not known yet how they are. Anyway, it will be a full house in Ravenhill next Friday night. I was buying my tickets on the website earlier and there is less than 500 tickets left, including temporary stands behind each goal, and these will be gone by Friday. If we can win with preventing a losing bonus point for Leicester, it would be amazing. Ravenhill is not easy to go to.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2480 - 07/01/2012 20:29:37    1090155