MourneMan95 moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 13/02/2012 12:24:45 1110594 Link 0 |
Corn Uí Mhuirí Senior A F. Semi-finals Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 13/02/2012 12:35:21 1110611 Link 0 |
moomoo at the moment they are not generally a year older. With the introduction of transition year in the southern education system most school leavers in the south are now 18. Would you think before you speak from now on. This last while you have turned into the kerry version of ulsterman. gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 13/02/2012 19:18:41 1111073 Link 0 |
"Any more from Connaught" Semi finals are not on until Wed 22nd. Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3609 - 13/02/2012 19:28:32 1111080 Link 0 |
fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 13/02/2012 19:33:56 1111083 Link 0 |
Gotmilk, as a school teacher from the south I can tell you that the majority of student finish their formal secondary education as 17 year olds. Anyone that does finish their education as 18 year olds more than likely played the majority of their football in their final year as 17 year olds. In a lot of cases players in their final year play football as 16 years old's and turn 17 before the school year ends. Yes TY has been implemented, but the majority still remains. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1687 - 13/02/2012 19:37:11 1111087 Link 0 |
gotmilk transition year is optional down here, not mandatory. Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 13/02/2012 19:38:28 1111089 Link 0 |
In most schools playing at the highest levels of schools action - senior A, you ll find in most cases the successful ones are now full of lads who are upto the age. This might mean a student has done ty or he might repeat. Look at most winning teams a this level. They ll often have a lot of lads who arent minor in the year the final is played. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 13/02/2012 21:51:15 1111231 Link 0 |
My school are in leinster b final dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 14/02/2012 09:57:17 1111269 Link 0 |
Cbs or jarlaths will win all ireland ..take my word. Ulster won't come close Footballguy123 (Galway) - Posts: 31 - 14/02/2012 13:37:39 1111407 Link 0 |
The Mexicans are really in awe and fear of Ulster teams including our schools one. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 14/02/2012 14:42:54 1111472 Link 0 |
ulsterman, no doubt an ulster team will be robbed of this years cup. i hear the illuminati are plotting it...! in reply to the poster about his school being in a leinster b final, well firstly well done to ye. i was just refering to the next tier up and the teams that win it. i had a look at kierans teams from last year and most were right upto the school age or in their last year of minor. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 15/02/2012 09:21:38 1111865 Link 0 |
Ulster teams wont come close. st jarlaths will most probably win it . what teams are left in competition? Footballguy123 (Galway) - Posts: 31 - 15/02/2012 17:42:41 1112444 Link 0 |
Ulster teams wont come close. st jarlaths will most probably win it . what teams are left in competition? Footballguy123 (Galway) - Posts: 31 - 15/02/2012 17:48:45 1112455 Link 0 |
There are a lot of those in southern schools who do transition year. I have numerous relatives, friends and work colleagues who have done the transition year. Yes some have not but the majority have. gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 15/02/2012 18:38:04 1112503 Link 0 |
There are a lot of those in southern schools who do transition year. I have numerous relatives, friends and work colleagues who have done the transition year. Yes some have not but the majority have. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1687 - 15/02/2012 20:04:48 1112577 Link 0 |
ahsure i am talking about the individuals i have dealings with perhaps you have had a different experience. I can't actually think of anyone i know who has not done transition year when the option was made available to them. Just on another did St Colmans not win a Hogan cup with their Rannafast team? For those of you not in the know that would be an under 16 team. Younger than those 17 year olds all the southern schools have. gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 15/02/2012 20:51:40 1112605 Link 0 |
Ok guys , let's stop fighting over age rules. Yes its unfair on southern teams as 6 months can make a huge difference however not all northern teams have 18.5 year olds on starting team. At the end of the day , if a team really wants to win more, age doesn't come into consideration. Footballguy123 (Galway) - Posts: 31 - 16/02/2012 10:09:01 1112697 Link 0 |
I wouldn't rule out Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne. Have a good young team and will have learned from last years loss in Munster and should cause a shock of two moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 16/02/2012 11:00:01 1112729 Link 0 |
Think St Colmans were lucky to get draw on Saturday but according to Irish News today they comprehensively won the replay by 11 points and could have won by more. Maybe they are finding form. monitor (Down) - Posts: 209 - 16/02/2012 12:23:46 1112790 Link 0 |