Football GPA All Stars

Not saying that breff just a bit odd that's all.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/10/2011 15:42:28    1050909

clonadalkin dub i thought nominees for young player were not allowed to have played 3 games prior to this years championship. I could be wrong but I think I read that somewhere. If that is the case it would rule o'carroll out.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 12/10/2011 15:45:35    1050913

Gotmilk if that's the case fair enough.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/10/2011 15:50:47    1050915

will you stop with this nonsense of being the most consistent team of the last four years cause you have bet no one.

Find me one example of when a Kildare poster has said that on here?

Dubs have been given out about press hype forever correctly stating that it's not the players or supporters building you up but the press. Yet here we are and ye have been so happy to beat Kildare with the same stick this year.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=hypocrite

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 12/10/2011 15:56:25    1050920

Not this page , all over the forum. Have a look at the kildare homepage aswell.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/10/2011 16:11:06    1050934

1050892 Rory o Carroll gets an all star nom yet doesn't get a nom for young player of the year, James mccarty doesn't get an all star nom yet he gets a nom for young player of the year??????

I thought you had to be eligible to play U21 during the year in question. As O'Carroll was 21 before January 2011 that would rule him out. But then again, you know your stuff.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 12/10/2011 16:28:44    1050952

biased i know but surprised that karl lacey was not at least nominated for player of the year..thought he would be in before cluxton

rcb (Donegal) - Posts: 63 - 12/10/2011 17:11:40    1050978

aye same as that thought Lacey would be nominated as well

well done to Mark on the ypoty nomination

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 12/10/2011 17:33:05    1050997

As a big Dub supporter I dont wanna knock any of our players however Im baffled as to how Rory O'C not nominated for young player of the year, streets ahead of James Mc Carthy as a player in every sense of the word, the mind boggles......

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 12/10/2011 20:23:31    1051100

Not this page , all over the forum. Have a look at the kildare homepage aswell.

I would venture I have been on the Kildare forum a bit more than you and I can honestly say I haven't seen it. There were a few idiot young lads, now long gone, who were on here winding everyone up during the summer but anyone on here who posts regularly would never say that and you know that.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 12/10/2011 21:20:00    1051136

Ok doublehop fair enough. I promise doh if kildare win leinster or win a big game il be the first to congratulate yous. Doublehop whose a better footballer Joe mcmahon or Sean cavanagh?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/10/2011 21:35:01    1051159

McMahon is more consistent, Cavanagh is more talented. Both playing to their abilities I would say Cavanagh but he doesn't hit those heights as much as he used to.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 13/10/2011 09:02:00    1051191

POTY = Stephen Cluxton (pun intented)

YPOTY = James McCarthy

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 13/10/2011 09:13:29    1051197

yahoo i said it on a thread at the start of august suggesting it was worth a punt on cluxton at 66/1 for player of the year and now the each way is secured as he made the nominees i hope some people took the advice

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/10/2011 12:07:11    1051300

I can understand Alan and Darrans nomination but Cluxton has not had a spectacular year. I know he scored the winning point for the AI but the Footballer of the Year is about the years performance and though he is a good free taker and goalie, he would not be in my top 3 on performance this year....Alan Brogan and Darran O Sullivan deserve to be there.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 13/10/2011 13:45:44    1051366

In my opinion it will be a disgrace if Alan Brogan doesent get it, I'll be so annoyed,,very very worthy of it, had the year of his life!!!

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 13/10/2011 14:57:50    1051429

Omaghredhand wrote: I am not arguing about the greater legacy Loyal, merely that I think technically that Joe is a better all round player, i.e. he has a greater skill set.

That would seem fair enough to me. I would not have had an opinion as to who was the more technically gifted but I certainly wouldn't disagree if someone says it's McMahon.

Mollymalone wrote: As a big Dub supporter I dont wanna knock any of our players however Im baffled as to how Rory O'C not nominated for young player of the year, streets ahead of James Mc Carthy as a player in every sense of the word, the mind boggles......

Obviously it's because McCarthy was born in 1990 and O'Carroll wasn't. Nothing mind-boggling about that!

Hill16no1man wrote: yahoo i said it on a thread at the start of august suggesting it was worth a punt on cluxton at 66/1 for player of the year and now the each way is secured as he made the nominees i hope some people took the advice

There is no each way betting for footballer of the year. I hope nobody took your advice because if they did they will just get refunded upon presenting a slip with an each-way FOTY on it.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 13/10/2011 17:14:54    1051519

loyal

i dont know how you seem to think that as i was allowed the bet so i hope people did take the advice which i told you back in august

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/10/2011 18:54:08    1051586

kerrykerry

I can understand Alan and Darrans nomination but Cluxton has not had a spectacular year. I know he scored the winning point for the AI but the Footballer of the Year is about the years performance and though he is a good free taker and goalie, he would not be in my top 3 on performance this year....Alan Brogan and Darran O Sullivan deserve to be there.
-----------------------------------
Its becuase, as Dubs supports have recognised for years, Cluxton brings much more than shot stopping to the table. His kick outs are a major launch pad for most of our attacks, and he has added free taking and 45s to this. As well as that he is the leader by example, on and off the field, for the squad.

And he dominates that back line, the amount of talk he does duing the match ordering them about!

So from a pure footballing point of view you may be right but overall he is one of the key, if not the key factor, in Dublin's success and for that reason deserves to be nominated.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 14/10/2011 08:06:42    1051712

overall he is one of the key, if not the key factor, in Dublin's success and for that reason deserves to be nominated.

Why wasn't Daniel Goulding nominated last year so? Or Aidan Walsh?

By your logic Bernard Brogan shouldn't have gotten anywhere near last year's award.

And for the record I do think Bernard should have got FOTY last year. But how Cluxton got in ahead of Karl Lacey this year, I'll never know...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 14/10/2011 11:50:51    1051808