Football GPA All Stars

No master, i agree with you when you say a balance should be found. Normally the best forward is the free taker by the way, and Andy tried a couple in London and that didn't work out (he scored 2/7 from frees and play in normal time, I was there). If he was a natural forward frees should come easy...but they don't. I'm not saying he didn't deserve an all star but he's very lucky to have one. I'd rather have Ben Brosnan or Declan O'S any day, and McFadden actually...but that's only my opinion.

changingtosligo (Mayo) - Posts: 75 - 24/10/2011 16:15:45    1057895

Ok, so there should be a balance then? Moran created absolute havoc every time he got the ball in this years championship. He won a bucket load of frees, won his own ball, was mayo's creator in chief, chipped in with some great scores and I would argue had as many turnovers as any other forward, including flynn and cullen. That was in every game, not just one or two. No to mention skinning 2 of the top 3 defenders in the country.
Name another FF that done even half of that this year.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/10/2011 17:07:00    1057949

Breffni39

Ha, he was the best forward in the country all year, league and championship. Very unlucky not to be Player of the Year

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 24/10/2011 17:19:15    1057959

Andy Moran had a great year and if he had taken his goal chances against kerry he would have had a chance of poty. But he missed and that's why he wasn't even nominated.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/10/2011 18:20:37    1058010

So breffni, basically what you are saying is full forwards can be marked on goal chances only?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/10/2011 18:30:34    1058020

Breffni39, you're entitled to your opinion but I just don't think anyone can put forward a solid argument that there was a better full-forward than Andy Moran this season.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 24/10/2011 18:32:10    1058021

changingtosligo - For you to say andy moron doesnt deserve an all-star is daft. Andy moron was mayo's best player all year without a shadow of a doubt. He destroyed mark o sé...one of best in da game who happened to get an all-star. i say fair play totally deserved. As for other selections i thought john doyle was unlucky then again not a vintage year for midfielders. overall good team with quality players in each line.

rooneyblue (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 24/10/2011 18:42:39    1058033

If i could transfer three players to laois in the morning andy moran would be one of them

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 817 - 24/10/2011 20:38:01    1058123

Out of three players you could sign Andy Moran would be one of them??? My god no wonder laois win nothing yous havnt a clue.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/10/2011 20:52:35    1058137

clondalkindub.......I guarantee you if Andy Moran was from dublin he would have about 3 All-Stars. I can't see how McCauley got an All-Star, the man can barely solo the ball...... I suppose he is from dublin

mayoaresavage (Mayo) - Posts: 313 - 24/10/2011 21:49:03    1058177

Loyal2TheRoyal

1057430 Haha fair enough rua. Tomaoo where have you been?

I don't know where he was but as soon as Tomaoo7 resurfaces, another Dublin poster goes missing. Where is hill16no1man.

are you for real i posted right before you did and have been posting maybe you need anew pair of glasses

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/10/2011 21:51:36    1058183

moomoo

hill16no1man

obviously i have already said moran deserves full forward but i have to say am disapointed in peoples knowledge of the game on here slating diarmuid connolly,he was outstanding in the league for dublin and was destroying cork in the final until got taken off,was superb against laois in leinster unlucky not to score four goals that day only for excellent saves from laois keeper,yes he was dissapointing in leinster final and against donegal but was outstanding against tyrone and had a good game in the final involved in all of dublins scores in the last 10 minutes and controlled alot of play so creit where credit is due the season does not only refer to the championship matches but the league aswell which is another amazing point of how cork didnt get an all star having won the league this year.
its amazing how everyone looking for doyle in midfield automatically picks mccauley as the fall guy why?what did sheehan do that was so impressive,most kerry posters and journalists alike said midfield was kerrys week point coming into the final so how was he orthy of one,i for one thaught bastick was the best midfielder this year along with alan o connor off cork

Well Sheehan scored 2-16 in the championship manly from long range frees and 45's How much did McAuley score? Scoring aside what ealse did McAuley do in the championship? Also to say Bistick was the best midfielder this year will i dont really know what to say considering Dublin were beaten at midfeild in most of there games this year

yes you answered my question for me sheehan is a good free taker we all know that and can kick long distance frees does that make him the best midfielder no, mccauley grafts in midfield gets up and down the park and wins so many turnovers in matches,as for bastick he came up against the top midfielders in cork in the league matches and won both duels,he came up against john doyle and limited johnny doyles influence to little or nothing against dublin,all the talk before dublin v tyrone was on how sean cavanagh was going to destroy dublin as his form was blistering coming into the match and bastick won that duel hands down and he chipped in with vital points from play in matches throughout the year.dont think dublin were beaten in most of there matches this year in midfield,we won midfield against cork in league final,kildare in leinster semi final,tyrone in all ireland quarter final,no challenge in that area from donegal and won midfield against kerry in final in the games that mattered we performed

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/10/2011 22:00:18    1058189

rooneyblue
I said that I wasn't against him getting one if you read the post, just that he's lucky to have one with such low numbers in scoring. Yes he's a workhorse, and versatile. Master I must have been watching different games against Galway and Ros. Freeman and O'connor were the best on show in those games, respectively. Moran, and Dillon, were very average.
And if you're going to mention his 1 performance against an aging M O'se, then Declan O'Sullivan against Cork was far better and he deserved an all star for it....if one good game is the criteria!!

changingtosligo (Mayo) - Posts: 75 - 25/10/2011 10:21:00    1058226

hill16no1man

moomoo

hill16no1man

obviously i have already said moran deserves full forward but i have to say am disapointed in peoples knowledge of the game on here slating diarmuid connolly,he was outstanding in the league for dublin and was destroying cork in the final until got taken off,was superb against laois in leinster unlucky not to score four goals that day only for excellent saves from laois keeper,yes he was dissapointing in leinster final and against donegal but was outstanding against tyrone and had a good game in the final involved in all of dublins scores in the last 10 minutes and controlled alot of play so creit where credit is due the season does not only refer to the championship matches but the league aswell which is another amazing point of how cork didnt get an all star having won the league this year.
its amazing how everyone looking for doyle in midfield automatically picks mccauley as the fall guy why?what did sheehan do that was so impressive,most kerry posters and journalists alike said midfield was kerrys week point coming into the final so how was he orthy of one,i for one thaught bastick was the best midfielder this year along with alan o connor off cork

Well Sheehan scored 2-16 in the championship manly from long range frees and 45's How much did McAuley score? Scoring aside what ealse did McAuley do in the championship? Also to say Bistick was the best midfielder this year will i dont really know what to say considering Dublin were beaten at midfeild in most of there games this year

yes you answered my question for me sheehan is a good free taker we all know that and can kick long distance frees does that make him the best midfielder no, mccauley grafts in midfield gets up and down the park and wins so many turnovers in matches,as for bastick he came up against the top midfielders in cork in the league matches and won both duels,he came up against john doyle and limited johnny doyles influence to little or nothing against dublin,all the talk before dublin v tyrone was on how sean cavanagh was going to destroy dublin as his form was blistering coming into the match and bastick won that duel hands down and he chipped in with vital points from play in matches throughout the year.dont think dublin were beaten in most of there matches this year in midfield,we won midfield against cork in league final,kildare in leinster semi final,tyrone in all ireland quarter final,no challenge in that area from donegal and won midfield against kerry in final in the games that mattered we performed

I wouldn't agree with you that Dublin won midfield in the All-Ireland, if anything I think we shaded it. Overall though, we are happy with the current situation in midfield. Alot of the criticism was over the top from the media on Kerry's midfield but they are as good as anything else around at the moment. I think Sheehan deserved his All-Star.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 25/10/2011 10:35:09    1058232

this thread is played out now

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 25/10/2011 11:18:03    1058256

Well into injury time.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3028 - 25/10/2011 11:37:40    1058266

hill16no1man

moomoo

hill16no1man

Well considering Sheehan was the only midfeilder in the running of man of the match would say Dublin didn't win midfeild as much as you think

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 25/10/2011 13:28:02    1058343

changingtosligo
Freeman and O'connor were the best on show in those games, respectively. Moran, and Dillon, were very average.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Freeman one of the best on show against Ros? Please, He'll admit to you himself he was well below par that day. He didn't get into it at all. Compared to last season Freeman played well below himself this year. Moran played further out the field that day in Hyde Park and linked the play quite well in atrocious conditions. You're a long time now "changing to sligo" so I would suggest you get on with it and stop talking nonsense about Mayo issues.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 25/10/2011 14:23:10    1058388

Can you read the post properly?? Respectively means 'in that order'...or if you're still not sure Freeman in the Galway game (he was very good with 1-2) and O'Connor in the Ros match. Leave the personal jibes out, it's not appropriate on a public forum.
Moran is arguably Mayo's best player, but he's not as natural a forward as the players mentioned in previous posts. If he was that good of a forward he wouldn't have spent all last year in backs....imagine Kerry asking Gooch to play wing back?

changingtosligo (Mayo) - Posts: 75 - 25/10/2011 14:42:49    1058404

just a correction: it was 2 years ago he played in backs when Mayo lost to Meath

changingtosligo (Mayo) - Posts: 75 - 25/10/2011 14:46:56    1058408