Football GPA All Stars

I'm not comparing connolly with gooch, gooch is the greatest of all time. I to don't think connolly deserves an all star , all I'm saying is its wrong for people to dismiss connollys performance against tyrone, any man who scores 7 points from play in a big championship game deserves huge credit. If he's so poor like people say how the hell did he score 7 points? Space or no space.

Because he was given so much space! An under 16 would have got them scores that nite. Again had that been a player not from Dublin you wouldn't be saying whet your saying

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/10/2011 11:52:50    1057077

So the only reason gooch scored 1-7 against Mayo was cause of the space he got?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/10/2011 12:03:00    1057082

moomoo

Ah come off it will ya. That was some display that day. space or no space. Some of the points he scored that day were unbelievable. I was at the game and i clearly remember him putting one over with the left from 40 out and two tyrone lads diving onto him. Credit where credits due

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 531 - 23/10/2011 12:09:38    1057084

stupid arguement moomoo, every supporter looks at their own team first. Any u16 kick from either foot from distance in quarter final dont think so. Also he was poor in leinster final so his confidance would have been low which makes his performance against tyrone all the better. dont think he should have got allstar either,just acknowledging he had good game against tyrone.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/10/2011 12:21:04    1057094

moomoo

hill16no1man

up_donegal

Theres no doubt that Bernard Brogan is an outstanding player.. but I have to agree with moomoo that maybe if he wasnt so loved by the media the all stars would have gone to someone like our own Michael Murphy who had agood year

haha micheal murphy wasnt in the opposing temas half long enough to be even called a forward this year,you honestly believe he made more of an impact then bernard just home from watching him again today 5 points scored and 2 assists for the two goals thats why he is named in the team has been one of the main providers for scores this year

An other example of this. The only reason you think Brenard Brogan is better then Murphy is because hes from Dublin if it was the other way round and Murphy played with Dublin you'd be on hear saying how great he would be.

no i said bernard deserved the all star because he played better this year he made much more of an impact its not whos a better player its who played better in 2011 and murphy spent 90percent of games in his own half defending where as brogan was either scoring or creating in the dublin full forward line,makes it an easy decision to me regardless of what countys they come from

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/10/2011 13:33:40    1057139

moomoo

Ok so when the gooch ran amok against Mayo it was class but when connolly runs amok the other team are no good and he got to much space. Yet we bet tyrone by 7 kerry bet Mayo by 9. Something doesn't add up

Anyone would get the scores Connolly got that day the amount of space he got off the Tyrone backs

you accused me of saying beranrd brogan was better then murphy because he was from dublin well how does it seem that you think colm cooper being given the freedom of croke parkagainst mayo to score is any dofferant to what diarmuid connolly got against tyrone if anything you should really understand that tyrone have been far better defensive unit then mayo for the last decade a unit your own kerry could not break down

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/10/2011 13:36:43    1057141

Richieq

1057019 Ok so when the gooch ran amok against Mayo it was class but when connolly runs amok the other team are no good and he got to much space. Yet we bet tyrone by 7 kerry bet Mayo by 9. Something doesn't add up

Hang on now comparing the Gooch and Connolly is not a fair comparison, Gooch has been consistantly brilliant for years, Connolly has yet to be consistant for one year. As I say I not knocking the chap and he may yet develop into a top class forward but this year he gave only one good display which was greatly aided by the poorness of the opposing defence, his subsequent performances against Donegal and Kerry back this up, sorry I just don't think he was worthy of consideration based on his overall year.

first off i dont think connolly should have got the all star ok i believe moran was the man for full forwrd and deserved it,
secondly an all star is not an award for the best player playing football in that position over an amount of years as you refer to with cooper and connolly,an all star is the best player in that position for that 1 year,now he has every rite to compare connolly with cooper as on everybodys analysis here both players had 1 good game this year connolly against tyrone and cooper against mayo so how does cooper deserve an all star for corner forward off the same journalists who said he was having a bad year before the mayo game and yet connolly shouldnt have even been nominated in your opinion for doing the same thing?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/10/2011 13:41:55    1057145

So the only reason gooch scored 1-7 against Mayo was cause of the space he got?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes, our defending that day was awful.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 23/10/2011 15:30:38    1057216

ALL Star fowards should be picked on their scoring ability And Moran and Paul Flynn
are not in that category Ben Brosnan should have got Flynn spot Murphy or Connolly
at Full Foward.

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 23/10/2011 16:34:15    1057282

It's not all about scoring at full-forward. Moran's play was highlighted several times during the season. His ball-winning ability was outstanding. He is Mayo's playmaker, he lays on scores for his team-mates. He deserved his All-Star so cop on begrudging him it.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 23/10/2011 17:04:00    1057313

Brosnan and Michael Murphy can feel very hard done by. Flynn and Moran did not deserve All Stars.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2575 - 23/10/2011 17:07:24    1057314

what did murphy actually do THIS YEAR to deserve an all star?did the people that say andy moran doesnt deserve an all star actually see him play at all this year? because anyone that knows anything about football and saw him play will agree that there is no doubt he should hav got an all star. he was being mentioned for footballer of the year before the semi for god sake and went on to have a very impressive match, giving an allstar corner back (o se) the run around.

Ourbuck (Mayo) - Posts: 89 - 23/10/2011 17:26:01    1057333

Moran is a real leader and a super player so no question. I find it unbelievable that McCauley got one. Dublin lost midfield in every championship game. Gilroy's game bypasses midfield altogether and that's how he gets away with having very average players like Bastick and McAuley at 8 and 9. This isn't a pop at the Dubs, they have super players in other areas that deserve all stars.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 23/10/2011 17:38:22    1057352

Well deserved Andy Moran not only for your ability but your workrate, your consistantly high level of performance in all county matches and most of all your leadership which must be a source of inspiration to your fellow players.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 23/10/2011 17:44:15    1057362

This is hilarious, first of all rory o Carroll didn't get one, now bernard brogan Paul flynn and micheal darragh didn't deserve one haha. So what people are saying is only 3 Dublin players deserve all stars. Andy Moran is a well deserved all star.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/10/2011 18:12:01    1057387

Murphy had a very bad year, wheither it was his fault or his managers fault, he was no a foward of note this year, didnt deserve a nomination after his display against dublin

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 23/10/2011 18:45:13    1057408

This is hilarious, first of all rory o Carroll didn't get one, now bernard brogan Paul flynn and micheal darragh didn't deserve one haha. So what people are saying is only 3 Dublin players deserve all stars. Andy Moran is a well deserved all star.

clondalkindub don't worry about it culchies are culchies-all the lads have what they wan't from the year....

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 23/10/2011 18:49:12    1057411

23/10/2011 18:12:01

1057387 This is hilarious, first of all rory o Carroll didn't get one, now bernard brogan Paul flynn and micheal darragh didn't deserve one haha. So what people are saying is only 3 Dublin players deserve all stars. Andy Moran is a well deserved all star.

Can't see where anyone said that - Durkan conceded less goals than Cluxton. Personally I would have given Emmet Bolton a spot so that would rule out Nolan. But to show that I am Objective I'd say that Alan Brogan deserved a spot.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 23/10/2011 18:57:54    1057418

The only reason Cluxton got an all Star because he scored the winner had a poor AI FINAL
The Donegal keeper had a good season and would be worthy of the award but he is not from
the pale

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 23/10/2011 19:10:57    1057427

Haha fair enough rua. Tomaoo where have you been?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/10/2011 19:12:16    1057430