Football GPA All Stars

Decent selection of All-Stars.

O'Carroll does not deserve an All-Star imo. He had a great year alright but McGee is well deserving of the full back spot.

Overall I think the team is fairly good but I wouldn't agree witht the selections of MDMA, Ó Sé and Foley.

Although those 3 are excellent players.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13800 - 22/10/2011 13:43:33    1056684

Clondalkindub

Yes he was man of the match but unfairly in my opinion ...yes i probably being a bit biased but IMO any man that kept Brogan scoreless from play deserves the man of the match. Niel McGee wouldn have been a more worthy winner tat day , but obviously a dublin man was going to get it. If I had to pick a dub for that day it'd be McMenamin... him along with Karl lacey goin off were what ruined us that day. And i still think Murphy would have been a worthy winner. obviously he wasnt given his chance to shine up forward tbsi year (And I really hope he's given the chance next year) .. he was our leader for the whole year. When he came on against Kildare he made a huge difference. It was him that got a bad ball in with about a minute to go and fought of two kildare men to keep possession and finally give the ball away and for Cass to score that point. In the ulster final he scored agreat penalty and had a fantastic year.. even if the scoresheets dont say it.

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 22/10/2011 13:48:04    1056687

Forgot to say there that Colm mcFadden had agreat year for us aswell... best year I've seen him play. H really worked hard this year and had great turnaround just when I was losing faith in him to be honest. Thought he too was quite unlucky to lose out but at least he was nominated anyways

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 22/10/2011 13:49:34    1056688

Wexford's Ben Brosnan should have got a place at wing forward, no disrespect to Paul Flynn he had an outstanding season but I would have Brosnan over him here. Just ousted by Colm Cooper for top scorer aswell.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 22/10/2011 13:54:19    1056691

Mesmis its not a straight selection for full back like o Carroll could have got in corner back, I agree the donegal full back deserves it he was outstanding against kildare but they should have made room for rory somewhere.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/10/2011 14:41:55    1056716

Mesmis its not a straight selection for full back like o Carroll could have got in corner back, I agree the donegal full back deserves it he was outstanding against kildare but they should have made room for rory somewhere.

Why should they have made room for him?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/10/2011 14:46:28    1056718

richiej
County: UK

Look lads I don't know why ye are getting excited about who's on and who's not... The way James mcGarry was treated ended any respect the Allstar selection committee ever had.. And also the great Frank McGuigan put his Allstar on EBay as a protest because Brian didn't get one... It's a crap
Award because the best players don't get a look in.. It's the 4 semi finalist that dominate it every year... It counts for nothing in a staunch Gaa persons eyes.. It's just a media award.. From crap media pundits.

spot on

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 22/10/2011 15:02:49    1056723

to all the kildare lads posting here about johnny doyle not getting one lads are ye serious???i thought daryl flynn was much more influential in the few games he played for us after injury...don't get me wrong i am a huge johnny doyle fan but no way was he an all star midfielder this year although he has been hard done by in the past.i thought mick foley was a surprise selection,he played excellent football this year but i could not see him getting one,i was full sure emmet bolton would get one but thats the way the all stars goes.its a good team and well done to all on it

der_bomber (Kildare) - Posts: 149 - 22/10/2011 15:27:20    1056734

Clondalkin

I don't agree with making room for players in the All-Stars to be honest.

O'Carroll had the Celtic Cross, a more important award at the end of the day!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13800 - 22/10/2011 15:43:44    1056739

thought the selection for the football was fair enough...Johnny Doyle is a good player but he didnt deserve an allstar

cboyle92 (Down) - Posts: 184 - 22/10/2011 16:23:57    1056766

The all stars selection leaves alot to be desired Ben Brosnan second highest scoring foward in Ireland
should have got in ahead of Paul Flynn who played mostly a defensive role. I dont think Andy Moran
is the Best full foward in Ireland should have gone to Murphy or Connolly.
Donegal did not deserve 3 All Stars at the back they had so many people at the back they should share
there AllStar with there fowards. Mcgee and Lacey ok Cassidy no. I think either Rory Carroll or Trevor Mortimer
should have got an All star ahead of Cassidy.

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 22/10/2011 16:46:18    1056774

wfkerry

Now you're just being spurious. It would be hypocritical not to give Donegal a few defensive All Stars, as you have been giving out all year about how good at defense they are!!!

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 22/10/2011 17:47:09    1056809

loyalto royal ar u serious about connolly over moran? conolly had one good game against tyrone and thats it. moran was mayos best player in every game and ran rings round shields and mark o se. last year aidan o se shouldnt hav got an all star but those saying michael murphy should have got one this year...? sure he has been class in the past but he didnt hav a good year. true he was out of position but he still didnt play well and his free taking in semi was brutal. maybe brosnan cud have got one instead of flynn.

Ourbuck (Mayo) - Posts: 89 - 22/10/2011 18:59:31    1056838

#meant aidan walsh in last comment

Ourbuck (Mayo) - Posts: 89 - 22/10/2011 19:43:10    1056876

Forgot to say well done Alan brogan on your poty award well deserved. Great achievement for the brogan family the last two years.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/10/2011 19:57:14    1056888

1056492 Cork not getting a forward all star last year was a joke now rory o Carroll not getting one is just ridiculous.

Ridiculous.....no, now the choice of tie of a certain presenter last night and a certain Dublin footballer whose suit seemed to resemble a recycled bin liner....that was ridiculous.

Overall the selections went along predicted lines, yes O'Carroll had claims but it hard to argue with the defensive unit picked, young Brosnan of Wexford was deserving and for me was more of a stand out omission.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 22/10/2011 20:07:01    1056900

Hey richeq that man can wear anything and still gets all the girls.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/10/2011 20:30:41    1056929

In response to Ourbuck-Andy Moran fully deserved his All Star this year. I was at the game in London this year with a mate from Mayo and only for Andy Moran in injury time Mayo were consigned to defeat. He had great games in Connacht and roasted both Shields and our own Marc O Se. Andy Moran was the first name on all of the pundits team sheets and would undoubtedly be on my one. Class player. Honourable mention to young Cillian O Connor who also had a great year. Couldnt believe his performance in the Connacht Final in stormy conditions.

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 22/10/2011 20:36:12    1056930

1056929 Hey richeq that man can wear anything and still gets all the girls.

That appears to be the case, move over Paul Galvin.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 22/10/2011 20:51:22    1056943

wfkerry
County: USA
I dont think Andy Moran is the Best full foward in Ireland should have gone to Murphy or Connolly.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Murphy instead of Moran? Really? What games are you basing that on? And I think Moran was more consistent than Connolly over the year.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 22/10/2011 20:54:46    1056946