Lads rory o Carroll was shafted. We have struggled for years without a full back then out of nowhere this kid comes along and has been a revaluation in the last two years marking the best players in Ireland and getting the better of these guys. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/10/2011 11:03:27 1056601 Link 0 |
I think everyone is aware over your disgust over O'Carroll at this stage. After all it is your third or fourth time mentioning it. sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 22/10/2011 11:11:39 1056606 Link 0 |
Moomoo every year whoever wins the all Ireland gets the most all stars nothing to do with media interviews. Last year we were very unlucky to lose to the eventual champions cork and yet we only got one all star. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/10/2011 11:11:44 1056607 Link 0 |
clondalkindub moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/10/2011 11:13:20 1056608 Link 0 |
clondalkindub moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/10/2011 11:20:52 1056611 Link 0 |
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/10/2011 11:28:27 1056616 Link 0 |
Theres no doubt that Bernard Brogan is an outstanding player.. but I have to agree with moomoo that maybe if he wasnt so loved by the media the all stars would have gone to someone like our own Michael Murphy who had agood year up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 22/10/2011 11:50:55 1056627 Link 0 |
Up donegal are you forgetting the semi final ? Murphy was rubbish Bernard brogan was motm. By the way how did rory o Carroll not get an all star. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/10/2011 11:56:35 1056631 Link 0 |
Have to say I was very surprised O'Carroll didn't get one. No huge gripe with the Donegal lads (although Cassidy can be a bit of a shaper). They won a tough provincial championship, they won their league and were a kick away from an All-Ireland appearance. Foley is a fine footballer but Kildare lost a provincial semi-final and were beaten at the QF stage in the championship. Some posters have mentioned Foley's club form, but I honestly think that little heed is paid to club performance when picking All Stars. It has always been the case that Provincail Final, All-Ireland semi and final performances are really what get noted for the awards, so makes Foley's one a bit hard to reconcile. Maybe O'Carroll going off early against Donegal counted against him? The Dublin defence conceded a combined score of 1-17 in the semi and final, and get one defender of the 6, a little odd! That said, 6 is great and I would be much more dissapointed for Peter Kelly (hurler) who was immense all year, playing out of his natual/preferred position coleoin (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 22/10/2011 12:11:49 1056641 Link 0 |
coleoin Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 22/10/2011 12:19:26 1056642 Link 0 |
@clondalkindub get over the rory o'carroll thing, ye, he might have been good but mcgee was better, fact. also o'carroll got done by donaghy everytime donaghy went to the edge of the square. unstoppable (Mayo) - Posts: 38 - 22/10/2011 12:23:45 1056644 Link 0 |
Breaker coleoin (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 22/10/2011 12:38:36 1056650 Link 0 |
A disgrace no Tomás Ó Sé on the team. dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 22/10/2011 12:41:26 1056654 Link 0 |
He won two balls off him in the air, everyone in Dublin knows the weakest part of o Carrolls game is high fielding , what about the job he did on declan o Sullivan in the first half? He has been class the last two years and deserves an all star. It's funny kildare are giving out about all stars yet they didn't win division 2 didn't win leinster actually they didn't even get to a leinster final and were knocked out in the quarter final hahaha are you kidding me, they should be more than happy with one. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/10/2011 12:58:32 1056661 Link 0 |
Look lads I don't know why ye are getting excited about who's on and who's not... The way James mcGarry was treated ended any respect the Allstar selection committee ever had.. And also the great Frank McGuigan put his Allstar on EBay as a protest because Brian didn't get one... It's a crap richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 22/10/2011 13:00:44 1056664 Link 0 |
Fair team. Cluxton should have got player of the year IMO - he has completely redefined the role of a goalkeeper, and take his scores out of Dublin matches (apart from the Tyrone match - Dublin would have won very little). Not sure if Cass would have recieved an All Star if it wasn't for his point against Kildare - I'm sure there are a few candidates disgruntled with that decision. squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 22/10/2011 13:10:37 1056665 Link 0 |
I fail to see the justification for the crib about the majority of the All Stars going to the All Ireland Finalists, after all they have proved themselves in the really serious competition by playing in and winning more matches than any of the other teams. Therefore they deserve to get more All Stars. Simple. OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 22/10/2011 13:13:04 1056666 Link 0 |
Thats exactly what I thought, as I said look at your own players first. I mean a snood? For the loe of God if thats no shaping then I don't know what is. Whta will be next a tutu? Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 22/10/2011 13:16:19 1056667 Link 0 |
Amazing how some posters are attempting to cover up their own constant whinging and moaning by having a cut off another county. If I was a Dublin fan I'd not be moaning over something like this after winning the AI but its a bit like the Tayto add - theres always one! sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 22/10/2011 13:24:42 1056670 Link 0 |
For the second year in succession, I've been very satisfied with the team the AllStar committee has selected. In total, there are 12 players on the football team who I thought would make the team, and the other 3 positions went to my "next" choice. The changes I'd make would be Rory O'Carroll for Marc O'Se, Emmett Bolton for Kevin Nolan and Diarmuid Connolly for Andy Moran. Though O'Carroll's omission has been worth it just to read Clondalkindub's reaction. Highly amusing to see the young chap get so annoyed! I can't really complain about Nolan or Moran, two players who had very good seasons but I felt they might have just missed out. No complaints that they've been included though. As say they were my "next" choice. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 22/10/2011 13:40:31 1056682 Link 0 |