Next Years Ulster Championship

I would be expecting Donegal to up the stakes next year; they have the manager and though extremely defensive this year-they do have the forwards and team spirit.
Derry were unlucky injury wise but hard to tell where they will be next year
Tyrone just didn't seem to be in the game in the quarter final; the space they gave Dublin was unbelievable. Still I would not right them off.
Down, I was expecting so much more of but it didn't come through

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 27/09/2011 20:46:47    1043111

Glad to see Down low in people's pecking order, I don't think they ever wear the tag of favourites well. 2011 was an abysmal year in terms of injuries, the silver lining will be the lads who came in gaining championship experience and expanding the options of the squad. Great to see James McCartan stay on for a third year, I think it would have been a huge blow had he left.

peter_venkman (Down) - Posts: 320 - 28/09/2011 08:09:08    1043155

After wining last year Donegal are favourites to win it again . I suspect that Donegal are going to focus more on the attack this year. Down play lovely football to watch but I think that Donegal's defensive system will put a stop to that. Tyrone are in transition . Being Ulster football there's bound to be an upset so plenty of games to look forward to.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 28/09/2011 10:00:01    1043180

The draw will be crucial. Take Donegal for example, they were able to build the momentum nicely after opening rounds with Antrim and Cavan. No disrespect to either team, but they were always unlikely to cause a big upset. That set Donegal up nicely with two games under their belt for a tilt at Tyrone and beyond. Derry likewise, who got to feel their way in against Fermanagh in the first round, before blasting Armagh out of the water in the semis. If Donegal were unlucky enough to draw a route meaning they had to beat Tyrone, Derry and Down to win an Ulster title then it would be very tough, three big games in a row. Im not saying they aren't capable of it (I wouldn't fancy Tyrone to beat Donegal, Derry and Down to win it) but it would be very tough. The bigger teams will be looking to draw Antrim/Cavan/Fermanagh first and let two other big guns take each other out.

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 28/09/2011 11:27:04    1043233

A few Tyrone and Derry people having a pop at Donegal, some craic hi! Donegal will be better next year, I have little doubt about that and I think you's are worried about it too.
Derry could be better if they got Owen Bradley back, Lacey will always do a job on Paddy Bradley. Tyrone I would be more concerned about than Derry any day of the week. I think Harte won't wait around for no good reason; he obviously feels he has players that can come in over the winter and do a job for next year. And Harte is renowned for reinvigorating Tyrone. For those reasons I think Tyrone could challenge Donegal for Ulster next year. That said, Ulster is a minefield and anything could happen, but think Armagh and Down will threaten.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1453 - 28/09/2011 15:51:45    1043480

If derry can keep the Bradleys fit I would fancy them for ulster next year. Please god don't let donegal win no one wants to see that style of football progressing.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A bit rich Clondalkindub seeing that Dublin play the same style!! Obviously you take all the media crap at face value and aren't able to make an informed opinion of your own...!!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 28/09/2011 20:20:26    1043602

Lifford Gael

1043602 clondalkindub

If derry can keep the Bradleys fit I would fancy them for ulster next year. Please god don't let donegal win no one wants to see that style of football progressing.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A bit rich Clondalkindub seeing that Dublin play the same style!! Obviously you take all the media crap at face value and aren't able to make an informed opinion of your own...!!

truth must hurt lad,id say clondalkindub has a fair point and only for the fact derry were missing the bradley bro's i think it could have been derry winning ulster but not too worry they will get there revenge next year and hopefully we dont hear to much about donegal ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 28/09/2011 20:29:32    1043609

Hahaha Dublin play the same tactic as donegal hahaha , mate stick to the car racing cause you havnt a clue about football.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/09/2011 20:38:51    1043612

Its you that doesnt have the clue about football Clondalkin if you think Dublin play a different style to Donegal...

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 28/09/2011 21:02:12    1043631

1043612 Hahaha Dublin play the same tactic as donegal hahaha , mate stick to the car racing cause you havnt a clue about football.

not sure if its car racing what is it they say up there "CRUISING" 6 lads in a car driving around in circles showing of there little 306's

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 28/09/2011 21:03:11    1043632

Clondalkindub
You know damn well you are defensive aswell.. but you's have worked on your attacking. thats what we will be doing this year. Ye cant perfect EVERYTHING in one year.. we have toughest defense in the country, we'll have the attack for 2012 :D

And dubbydave.... I dont even know what to say to that kinda comment to be honest

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 28/09/2011 21:11:05    1043636

Haha lifford stop please your killing me here.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/09/2011 21:12:36    1043639

up_donegal

1043636 Clondalkindub
You know damn well you are defensive aswell.. but you's have worked on your attacking. thats what we will be doing this year. Ye cant perfect EVERYTHING in one year.. we have toughest defense in the country, we'll have the attack for 2012 :D

And dubbydave.... I dont even know what to say to that kinda comment to be honest

toughest defense ???????? what do you expect with 15 men behind the ball,yous had your chance against the dubs even when we had connolly sent off instead of going for the attack and winning the game donegal decided to play more defensive were is the logic????? so here is to your defense and wish you all the best for 2012 for if you say its the strongest defense well the the dubs have no need to be worrying about you's if we come up against yous next year..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 28/09/2011 21:18:13    1043645

So up donegal are yous going to have two forwards up front next year? Or maybe even 3 ? Nah 3 up front is probably to big a gamble. I pity mcfadden at the start of winter training next year he will be freezing up front on his own doing nothing .

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/09/2011 21:23:41    1043650

oh to be honest i couldnt even be bother arguing with yous. Ye would think with sam in dublin you would just enjoy that instead of coming on here complainin about other counties.. but must be some people cant be pleased.

I've said it on here a million times.. donegal are out to win game and not impress dublin fans or any other fans. this year we won 12 out of 14 games this year.. thats success. We couldnt care less if it put yous to sleep up about dublin.. it gets us out proud of our team and thats all we want :)

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 28/09/2011 21:46:32    1043675

bryan cullen helping leinster, suprised jim mc guiness hasnt been approached to help a rugby team. same tactics go sideways and backwards.everyone behind the ball.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 28/09/2011 21:58:10    1043686

Fair play to you and donegal but rest of Ireland pray you lose next year cause no one wants to see that horror show in croke park again. Good night god bless

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/09/2011 21:58:16    1043687

up_donegal

1043675 oh to be honest i couldnt even be bother arguing with yous. Ye would think with sam in dublin you would just enjoy that instead of coming on here complainin about other counties.. but must be some people cant be pleased.

I've said it on here a million times.. donegal are out to win game and not impress dublin fans or any other fans. this year we won 12 out of 14 games this year.. thats success. We couldnt care less if it put yous to sleep up about dublin.. it gets us out proud of our team and thats all we want :)

its a loosing battle thats why and i wouldnt say success id be more inclined to say progress success is when all your hard work is rewarded at the end of the year and you lift sam and i think many would agree,also i wasnt complaining imo i thought you's were lucky against derry only for the bradley bro's been injured thats why you's won ulster and still stick by what i said if bradleys are back i think they will be ready for some revenge!!!!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 28/09/2011 22:01:45    1043693

Clondalkindub
I know everyone is out against us but like I said i don't care caus we're winning games and thats all we care about. At least you can see it through my prospective and understand that winning games is what its about and if you were in my position, you'd be defending us aswell

Dubbydave
Its not a losing battle.. its just your that thick i couldnt be assed wasting my time with ye.
Of course success is winning sam but success is also when you get promoted, win league and win your province after 19 years having lost our first game for the 4 previous years.and anyways.. you don't just completely turn around in one year.. its part of a five year plan.
And if ye want to talk about being lucky about injuries.. just look at when we played yous... yous were lucky that yous took Karl Lacey out delibertaly..... otherwise could have been a totally different game.

And on a completely different note i wish this was open past 10... wile annoying not being fit to reply

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 29/09/2011 08:58:26    1043701

Dubby Dave - If the Brogan can't manage two points from play, I doubt very much the Bradley's would have fared much better.

And even if we did benefit from injury, so too did Dublin. That horrendous tackle on Karl Lacey won that game for Dublin. And on paper, aside from the number of men in defence, Dublin isn't that much different than Donegal - nor aside from the Kerry game - were they that exciting to watch!

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 29/09/2011 09:25:05    1043710