What are your highs/lows for 2011 - Football?

gigoer
County: Wexford

Never criticised the donegal lads for supporting their county, that's fair enough. But there's no way they took any pleasure from watching their team kill the game of football like that. I mean it was just crazy stuff with zero entertainment. The donegal lads have got so defensive on here as to make it obvious that they agree with me but cant admit it. (Not as defensive as their team mind, but still defensvie)

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 23/09/2011 12:51:08    1040926

whiterbannnas

Earlier you said:

There is NO WAY that donegal people could take any pride in that filth that we witnessed in the semi final

And why not? The game is about results & trophies and progress in the Championship. Donegal achieved that and are chuffed to bits with it and who can blame them? It's not the method, it's the result. If Mayo beat Kerry in the AI final next year with 14 men behind the ball, you wouldn't give a monkeys and I know you'll say you would but you wouldn't.

and as for this:

The donegal lads have got so defensive on here as to make it obvious that they agree with me but cant admit it.

Like I said, arrogance in the extreme with an overdose of know-it-all-ism. You clearly can't stand people disagreeing with you. The expression is 'You are entitled to your opinion', not 'Everyone is entitled to my opinion'

In any event, from what I've read from the Donegal posters on this site, it is clear that you will not undermine or take away Donegal's sense of achievement for 2011, no matter how hard you try

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 23/09/2011 13:15:31    1040941

Highs:
The All-Ireland Final was a spectacle to behold, never heard noise like it, the Dubs def brought a bit of glamour to the day and they deserved their win
Donegals re-emergence as a footballing force in Ulster and beyond
The future of football looks healthy in Tipp - surely a blue print for other counties?
The forced retirement of a certain referee

Lows:
Refereeing goes from bad to worse
Fermanagh and their player/management bust up
The Tyrone performance against Dublin is an obvious one

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 23/09/2011 14:32:00    1041003

gigoer
County: Wexford

Never criticised the donegal lads for supporting their county, that's fair enough. But there's no way they took any pleasure from watching their team kill the game of football like that. I mean it was just crazy stuff with zero entertainment.

Gigoer,
I enjoyed all the Donegal games this year from the start of the season to the very late ending to it. I am also looking forward to next year's season, when hopefully we will have perfected our system and get even further in the championship. The Donegal-Kildare game this year was one of the most excited I've been to in years. The Donegal-Dublin game was so closely fought it was electric.

Please don't assume that you speak for all of Donegal when you post, because you don't.

True supporters will support their team no matter what tactics they use. The fact of the matter is, our system WORKS. Which we proved this year. It's up to the rest of the country to come up with a way to beat it, despite what you think about the spectacle it creates. Stop crying about it, and work out a way to beat it!

normajean (Donegal) - Posts: 24 - 23/09/2011 15:55:40    1041076

normajean

I didn't write that, Bananman did. If you read the past few posts you will see I have been defending Donegal against his judgemental posts where he thinks all Donegal supporters should bow to his criticisms & opinions where i have been parading quite the opposite

And now I'm sure you've given him a laugh at your expense

Well done

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 23/09/2011 16:22:11    1041100

Banaaman or whateber your name is....

How can yu possible think that we took no pleasure out of winning a league title, ulster and gettin to an all-ireland semi final ? Cop on please. Winning games is what I as a donegal supporter want to see... we went long enough winning nothing and we're very proud of the team and the great summer they have given us (or at least tried to, it becomes a bit sickening when people wont stop disrespecting us but what can we do ? )

And it would have worked against dublin if they hadnt purposely taken out karl lacey

And Gigeor

I just couldnt let him away with it... who is he to say we shouldnt have enjoyed winning all this year :O Thanks for the support though lad ;)

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 23/09/2011 16:49:54    1041138

Some many....

The rise of Donegal in Ulster.

Tipp winning the minor final. If it wasn't to be the Jacks then I would have wanted Tipp, as a hurling stronghold, to do it.

Dubs perspective..

Our extra time win over Meath in the O'Byrne Shield final at Parnell with Cullen scoring a nice fisted goal.

Dublin fan handing a religous momento to Micky Harte after the 1/4 final and wishing him well.

The league win over Kerry and that brilliant point by Bernard Brogan off his left from a crazy angle.

The ripping apart of Tyrone in what must has have been the best attacking performance from any team in years.

The last 7 mins of the AI final. What a scoring rally.

Tomas O'Se handing the ball to Cluxton after the AI final. Well done Tomas!

Favourite of all..... the banter between Garda Pillar Caffrey and the Dublin players as they toured the pitch with sam.

Lowlights....

The Donegal game as a spectacle and the thought of Connolly missing out on an AI final due to an opponent diving. No offence to Donegal fans as I was glad to see them get to the semi but I left Croker shaking my head despite the fact that we won.

The fact that Whelo as a great servant of the game missed out on a celtic cross.

The demise of Tyrone

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 23/09/2011 17:10:40    1041148

Gigoer,

my sincerest apologies! It's been a long week at work! In that case, thank you for not jumping on the Donegal-bashing bandwagon. It's been pretty hard to listen to for the last few weeks. I thought people would be over it by now, but I believe people were taking about it during the analysis on Sunday again (I was at the game and haven't gotten the chance to watch it again yet).

The attack of Jim and the team's tactics has defeinitly been a low-point this year. Roll on next year when we can rub Sam Maguire in all the critics faces.

normajean (Donegal) - Posts: 24 - 23/09/2011 17:12:32    1041150

up_donegal

I know if it was us who bagged an AI semi and a first league title since 2008 (Division 3 as it were) and a first provincial title since 1945, I would be hopping after such a year. NO WAY would I be apologising for it, no way would I be ashamed of my team or colours, no way would my support of my county be tainted by their style of play. For someone to say you should is fair enough, that's their opinion, but for them to state that you do feel that way but won't admit it is probably the most arrogant post I've ever read on this board.

Don't get me wrong - I don't like your style of play either, I think it makes for very poor football, I certainly hope it doesn't become mainstream but I willingly acknowledge that McGuinness applied a strategy to the players he has and whether people like it or not, it worked and there's no denying that, so credit where credit is due. (Although one of your fellow county posters failed to catch that from me)

As I said in my opening post, the criticism against Donegal in my view has been completely OTT & quite frankly stinks of hypocrisy because the majority of footballing counties in the country (and their posters on this site) would willingly accept the trophies & progress Donegal made this year and they would not give a monkeys how they did it and would be as happy about it as you are.

In short, **** the begrudgers.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 23/09/2011 17:32:00    1041161

No bother norma, we all make mistakes. Have a good weekend and continue to wear your colours with pride like all good Gaels do.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 23/09/2011 17:34:40    1041163

good man yourself gigeor

Not just going along with the crowd and slating Donegal. You understand that we couldnt care less how we win.. we just want to win :D Caus thats what it's all about.. and anyone that say its not right to support your own county after the year they've givenus really is just kidding themselves

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 23/09/2011 17:44:18    1041171

Highs:

Dublins AI win - well deserved result for a dedicated group of players;
Mickey Hartes dignity in the face of such personal tragedy.

Lows:

Dublins win over Tyrone - truly heartbreaking to watch;
The complete over reaction by many to Donegals style of play;
The horrific injury received by Mark McGovern and the subsequent failure to have justice served on the thug responsible;
The un-necessary jeering/booing by 'supporters' at some GAA matches;
Reading some dreadful posts on this forum ;-)

caz (Tyrone) - Posts: 111 - 24/09/2011 10:43:10    1041369