President Marty?

Real Kerry Fan

Mandela isnt running for President of Ireland. Mandela achieved his cause, McGuinness became part of the British administration in Northern Ireland. I don't have any stories of Mandela convincing a frightened mother to have her son brought home on the false pretence of safety and that son ending up dead. You Shinnerbots are appearing out of everywhere.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/09/2011 16:00:03    1044006

You Shinnerbots are appearing out of everywhere.

I think that's called growing support Paddy, you may get used to it.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 29/09/2011 16:14:53    1044014

Goodfella, Tir

You clearly dont undertsand the term Shinnerbot. Any comment on the murder of Bernard Teggart?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/09/2011 16:17:47    1044016

o GALL =Tan

Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 29/09/2011 16:20:12    1044018

Mulligan Eamonn

o GALL =Tan

So you keep saying. Even though I havent the faintest idea where you picked up that my family were from Cornwall?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/09/2011 16:24:53    1044024

Paddy, her son was a British spy and traitor to Ireland, he was right in using what means he had to get him back to be punished. Mandela didn't do anything like that? You ever read his charge sheet? Lot worse than that on it, like blowing up a shopping centre without giving a warning murdering seven people. He planted the fecking thing.

Padraig_Dub (Dublin) - Posts: 100 - 29/09/2011 16:34:15    1044033

Padraig_Dub

Under what mandate was he a traitor to Ireland? not under the constitution of thr Republic of Ireland thats for sure. It was under the mandate of an illegal terrorist organisation that didint recognise the state of the Republic of ireland nor its constitution. Now Martin McGuinness whats to be head of this state? I still dont understand why Nelson Mandella is still being brought up. I was under the illusion that he was not running for head of state of the Republic of Ireland. Maybe I am wrong?

One question for you Padraig, answer it honestly. Was Bernard Teggert a traitor to Ireland?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/09/2011 16:41:22    1044040

Here's an interesting read for you Paddy about Bernard Taggart, the latest victim you have decided to champion, coincidentally just before an election.........

The teenager's death was the second tragedy to hit his family. Two years earlier Bernard's father Danny was shot and killed by British army soldiers who opened fire on the Springfield Road, one of 11 people who were killed by British forces during the army's initial internment without trial operation in August 1971.
The Teggert family also said that they would continue their campaign to clear their father's name.
"As in Bernard's case we are also involved in a campaign to clear the name of our father and the rest of the Ballymurphy Massacre victims murdered in August 1971," the statement said.
"We hope that following this process the British state will have the decency to come clean and clear our father's name and declare all of the victims of the Ballymurphy Massacre innocent, just as republicans have done today in relation to our 15-year-old brother's murder

At least Republicans had the decency to apologise when they were in the wrong

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 29/09/2011 16:54:20    1044045

Goodfella, Tir

Well fair play to the IRA for apologising 30 years after the event for killing a 15 year old who had the mental age of an eight year old, it took the Brits nearly 40 years to apologise for Bloody Sunday. Maybe I have been wrong about the IRA after all?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/09/2011 17:02:45    1044050

The only reservation i have about martin is the whole gerry mccabe thing.
Fair enough he condemed it but when the men who carried out the crimes
were released Martin Ferris organised their exit from jail to protect them from the glare of the media.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 708 - 29/09/2011 17:02:54    1044051

Well Paddy is was a terrible action but at least they apologised. Do you not condemn the fact that the British have never apologised for killing the lad's father?

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 29/09/2011 17:15:43    1044058

Actually I dont care if you condemn it or not, it makes no difference. You're constantly harking back to the past, always best to look to the future.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 29/09/2011 17:19:43    1044061

Goodfella, Tir

Well Paddy is was a terrible action but at least they apologised. Do you not condemn the fact that the British have never apologised for killing the lad's father?

Well the British arent running for President of Ireland are they? Martin McGuinness who was a member of this organisation is so that is all I am concerned with given the context of this thread which is President Marty.

Serious question here why all the diverging tactics. Nelson Mandella this the Brits did that. It doesnt matter in the slightest with regard to McGuinness running for President of Ireland. It is his past actions that I am concerned with.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/09/2011 17:21:41    1044062

President Mary McAleese's home was burnt out by loyalists, she herself was attacked and had family members murdered, her families business was raised and destroyed... She choose the path of politics, peace and reconciliation, she has shown incredible moral character, compassion and bravery her entire life, she is more than worthy of holding the office of President

Martin McGuinness (rightly or wrongly) choose to go down the path of barbaric violence - his decision. I respect the work he has done in past few years but anybody who has murdered innocent people indiscriminately through public bombing campaigns...etc can never be worthy of the office.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 29/09/2011 17:46:30    1044086

As Martin McGuinness says here " We dont believe in winning elections" if so Martin then why are you running for election for the head of state of the Republic of Ireland.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nzvpMlHuIrs&feature=player_embedded

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/09/2011 18:31:14    1044119

Well said Morris.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 29/09/2011 19:09:50    1044154

Ahh peace and reconciliation is for pansies and weaklings, I admire anyone who takes a gun into his hand to defend his family and his home like a real man should. What use is a seat in a parliament, a desk and a pen, when the state sends cops into your home to burn it down?

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 29/09/2011 19:26:49    1044160

Sergeant_Slash

Ah yes Real men take mentally handicapped kids from there school and shoot them in their head for being touts.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/09/2011 19:32:43    1044165

I can not justify any murder but I do understand why so many people have become involved in the IRA and did do terrible unjustifiable things. This may be because I am of that generation of young men who actually hsd to decide not to join the IRA. I was brought up on the diet of folklore about all the great Irish heroes and martyrs who fought and died in the war of Independence. These great heroes of mine were responsible for the following few incidents there are many many more(however no book told me I found this out much later.)

1 Mick O Sullivan rathmoreRCo Kerry. A 70 year old ex soldier killed and his body used to lure the crown forces to an ambush.
2 Mary Lindsay and James clarke Co. Cork. Both executed as spies and their bodies have never been found.
3 Kitty O Carrol Monaghan executed as spy.
4 Detective cecil Blake killed along with his pregnant wife in Co. Galway. The Ira killed 500 police officers between 1916 and 1922 (many when not on duty and with their families)
5 Official figures state that the IRA executed a total of 73 people. It is suspected that this is much greater as many bodies have never been found or word was put out that they went to America and never made contact with their relatives again.
6 Sean mc Eoin longford was the first to booby trap a tricolour. He was lucky in that a policeman and not a civilian sprung it.
7 Michael Collins organised "The Squad" under strict instructions that if they were arrested they would be disowned by the IRA. It is not hard to imagine why.
8 The actions of General paddy O'Daley of the Free State Army in kerry are worth looking at particularly at Ballyseedy.
9 Erskine Childers was executed by the Freestate Government for being in Possession of a pistol given him by Michael Collins.
10 Rory o'Connor, Liam mellowes, Joseph Mc Kelvey and Richard barrat were executed by the free State authorities as a reprisal for the shooting of Sean Hales. It is accepted that there was no justification in these executions.
11 The freestate government executed 77 men in total during the Civil war 53 more than the British did in the war of independence.
12 The active service of Thomas Clarke and Tom Barry.

I leave these two Patriots to the last because as you probably know Thomas Clarke was involved in the IRB dynamite campaign in London. Tom Barry negotiated with Hitlers administration for weapons and arms. It is believed that the munitions gained were used in bombing campaigns in the London Underground and Coventry. I do feel that I must point out that Tom Barry has denied this but I use it as an example only.
I would also add that I take no pleasure in posting this because I too would like to hang on to the romantic notion that all my Heroes were virtuous men who never harmed an innocent person.
Many of those responsible for the above rose to high office even to the presidency.
Some how the state of the free 26 have airbrushed their history and I feel that Sinn Fein and Martin Mc Guiness are like a mirror to their own image and they do not like what they see and would wish it destroyed. Finally I would also say that I have used this post before so apologies for repeating my self.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 29/09/2011 20:46:34    1044203

A Rock.
How do you figure i was losing my head?? Surely I am allowed to present a case for my side of the argument.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 29/09/2011 21:07:03    1044218