Amhrán "Beir Bua Bl' Áth Cliath!!"

the songs of choice are before the game 'to win just once' and after the game 'whats another year' :D

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 16/09/2011 13:42:29    1036056

the songs of choice are before the game 'to win just once' and after the game 'whats another year' :D
liathroidboy , 16/09/2011 at 13:42
----------------------------------------------
As Gaeilge, ball (hyphen) boy le do thoill!!!

Le Meas,

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/09/2011 13:48:14    1036068

Snuf, an teach tabhairn ceart!!!
Beidh me i Grand Central, ach ta me ag dul aras go Cathair Luimneach ar an traen ag a leathuair tar eis a naoi as heuston :(
Ta mo Bean ah iompar clainne! 40 seachtaine are creid tu!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2011 13:50:50    1036073

Tráthnóna Dé Domhnaigh beidh Snuf agus a chairde ag canadh rud mar seo measaim............"Óchón Baile Áth Cliath, óchón Bleá Cliath, óchón Bleá Cliath go deo na ndeor"

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 16/09/2011 14:02:09    1036089

Ahh Wow!....comhgairdeas Liam!

Go n-eiri an t-ádh libh!!....níl sé ró fada anois!!!

Le Meas,

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/09/2011 14:02:19    1036090

maith agat Snuf :)
beidh sé roinnt seachtaine é ár dteach más rud é go Baile Átha Cliath agus is beag Liam rugadh bua!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2011 14:13:53    1036113

Seo é an amhrán 'Óchón' a beidh Snuffy ag canadh tráthnóna De Domhnaigh i Chlub Na Sáirséalaigh Leamhcáin bhfeidir:

FAREWELL, O Patrick Sarsfield, may luck be on your path!
Your camp is broken up, your work is marred for years;
But you go to kindle into flame the King of France's wrath,
Though you leave sick Eire in tears-
Och, ochone!

May the white sun and moon rain glory on your head,
All hero as you are, and holy man of God!
To you the Saxons owe a many an hour of dread
In the land you have often trod-
Och, ochone!

The Son of Mary guard, and bless you to the end!
'Tis altered is the time when your legions were astir,
When at Cullen you were hailed as conqueror and friend,
And you crossed Narrow-water near Birr,-
Och, ochone!

I'll journey to the north, over mount, moor, and wave;
'Twas there I first beheld drawn up, in file and line,
The brilliant Irish hosts; they were bravest of the brave.
But alas, they scorned to combine-
Och, ochone!

I saw the royal Boyne when his billows flashed with blood
I fought at Graine Og, when a thousand horsemen fell;
On the dark empurpled plain of Aughrim, too, I stood,
On the plain by Tubberdonny's well-
Och, ochone!

To the heroes of Limerick, the City of the Fights,
Be my best blessing borne on the wings of the air;
We had card-playing there o'er our camp fires at night,
And the Word of Life, too, and prayer-
Och, ochone!

But for you, Londerderry, may plague smite and slay
Your people! May ruin desolate you stone by stone!
Through you there's many a gallant youth lies coffinless today
With the winds for mourners alone-
Och, ochone!

I clomb the high hill on a fair summer noon,
And saw the Saxons muster, clad in armour blinding bright:
Oh, rage withheld my hand, or gunsman and dragoon
Should have supped with Satan that night!-
Och, ochone!

How many a noble soldier, how many a cavalier,
Careered along this road, seven fleeting weeks ago,
With silver-hilted sword, with matchlock and with spear,
Who now, mavrone! lieth low-
Och, ochone!

All hail to thee, Beinn Eidir but ah, on thy brow
I see a limping soldier, who battled and who bled
Last year in the cause of the Stuart, though now
The worthy is begging his bread-
Och, ochone!

And Diarmid oh, Diarmid he perished in the strife;
His head it was spiked upon a halberd high;
His colours they were trampled: he had no chance of life
If the Lord God Himself stood by!-
Och, ochone!

But most, oh my woe I lament and lament
For the ten valient heroes who dwelt nigh the Nore,
And my three blessed brothers; they left me and went
To the wars, and returned no more-
Och, ochone!

On the bridge of the Boyne was our first overthrow;
By Slaney the next, for we battled without rest;
The third was at Aughrim. O Eire! thy woe
Is a sword in my bleeding breast-
Och, ochone!

Oh, the roof above our heads, it was barbarously fired,
While the black Orange guns blazed and bellowed around!
And as volley followed volley, Colonel Mitchel inquired
Whether Lucan still stood his ground?-
Och, ochone!

But O'Kelly still remains, to defy and to toil,
He has memories that hell won't permit him to forget,
And a sword that will make the blue blood flow like oil
Upon many an Aughrim yet!-
Och, ochone!

And I never shall believe that my fatherland can fall
With the Burkes, and the Dukes, and the son of Royal James,
And Talbot, the captain, and Sarsfield above all,
The beloved of damsels and dames-
Och, ochone!

Le Meas,

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/09/2011 14:18:40    1036127

i know yer excited and bound to be but can you please put the likes of these threads on the dublin forum best of luck to both teams sunday...

_______

No , We are inviting the country to share in our excitment , It would be very dull here without us Dubs

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 16/09/2011 14:36:21    1036160

Wayno1:

No , We are inviting the country to share in our excitment , It would be very dull here without us Dubs

Wayno you see that the hype we talk about.... I hope for your sake if ye don't win ye'll be inviting the same people who may not want to share in yer excitement to revel in yer misery. For the likes of you and a few more dublin posters on here I hope that won't be the case.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 16/09/2011 14:47:50    1036181

Hag,

Tá tu ag caint le na 'Dubs' mar sin as Gaeilge le do thoil!

Le Meas,

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/09/2011 14:55:39    1036202

Snuffy - Maidin Dé Luain

"Inis dom cén fáth nach maith liom an Luain"

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 16/09/2011 14:55:58    1036203

rua did u hear that "Sir Bob" was on BBC last weekend and said he had never heard of Coddle on an english tv food show and thought the "English presenters are just making it up to make me look silly" .........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2011 15:04:05    1036217

Snufalufagus:

Póg mo thóin!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 16/09/2011 15:04:31    1036219

i never said if it would be dull or better with or without the dubs fair enough i just think its approiate for it to be on the dublin forum seen as its just dubs commentating on it...

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 16/09/2011 15:05:17    1036223

rua,
Éist le seo a chara:

Ná bí ag troid liom anois
No ní do namhaid mé
Ná bí ag troid liom anois
Tuigfidh tú sa deireadh
Thiar thall nach do namhaid mé
Tuigfidh tú sa deireadh
Thiar thall nach do namhaid mé

Ón taobh tuathail amach
Ní mhaith liom troid arís...

Mar throid mé liom féin
Throid mé le Dé
Throid mé le mo shaol
Agus throid mé léi
Throid mé le mo chéile
Throid mé é
Throid mé chomh minic sin
Gur chuir mé eagla orm féin

Ná cur ag troid mé arís
Ní chun na leasa é
Ná cur ag troid mé arís
Ní aon fonn orm an t-anam atá agam
A chuir amú i mo shaol
Ní aon fonn orm an t-anam atá agam
A chuir amú i mo shaol

Ón taobh tuathail amach
Ní mhaith liom troid arís...

Coinnigí an síochan
Agus déanfaidh muidne fás i ngach aon slí
Coinnigí an síochan
Tá dóthain de déanamh cheana féin
Coinnigí an síochan
Tá athrú ar an domhain amuigh le déanaí
Coinnigí an síochan
Sar a ghlacann tú an dara chéim

Le Meas,

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/09/2011 15:10:55    1036228

16/09/2011 15:04:05
Liamwalkinstown

1036217 rua did u hear that "Sir Bob" was on BBC last weekend and said he had never heard of Coddle on an english tv food show and thought the "English presenters are just making it up to make me look silly" .........

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 16/09/2011 15:21:08    1036239

Clearly I meant Dutch Gold - Don't know ehy he'd be drinking a can of Oil

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 16/09/2011 15:31:47    1036256

Rua, there is a Royal Dutch too!! Green can
Dreadful stuff!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2011 15:42:07    1036273

Bhuel lads,

Tá sé an deireadh seachtaine anois!!......mar sin......"""Beir Bua Bl'Áth Cliath!!""" Woo!

Le Meas,

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/09/2011 16:50:25    1036380

ruanua

1036203 Snuffy - Maidin Dé Luain

Is féidir a gasúr ceart go leor le tú a choinneáil go bhfuil amhrán
na Dubs bhfuil ann féin agus téann sé rud éigin mar seo:

Tá mé mo dleachtanna íoctha -