Is AIL rugby a dead duck?

15/09/2011 16:49:08
legendzxix

1035389 Good points fair play. I don't claim to know about the set-up and structures so it's good to be informed.

Should divisions 2A and 2B be regionalised 8 north and 8 south? With travel costs etc. it might be more appropriate if the lower tiers were regionalised before having two national divisions at the top, i.e. 1A and 1B as they are.

2A and 2B prob should be regionalised, there had been talk of it but i think some of the clubs didnt want it for some stupid reason

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 15/09/2011 16:59:12    1035399

I know of one AIL club that is only getting about 15 to training. There are about 14 GAA clubs in the catchment area that are getting over 20 to training and a lot of soccer clubs as well doing good too. The AIL is very weak imo.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 15/09/2011 18:52:32    1035525

15/09/2011 16:59:12
ormondbannerman
County: Clare

2A and 2B prob should be regionalised, there had been talk of it but i think some of the clubs didnt want it for some stupid reason

It was a bit of a surprise alright, from the bits I was hearing I was sure some tiers would've been regionalised. I think in a year or two they will have to go that way.

15/09/2011 18:52:32
BettystownRoyal

I know of one AIL club that is only getting about 15 to training. There are about 14 GAA clubs in the catchment area that are getting over 20 to training and a lot of soccer clubs as well doing good too. The AIL is very weak imo.

The AIL needs more of a profile. While there are things ormondbannerman will rightly outline, the structure has big importance. It needs to be appealing to more of the public. It also needs to be more appealing to players. Two national tiers are enough. For players below that level, it's better to be involved in north or south region. It's crazy for clubs from Munster in 2A or 2B to have to go all the way up to Ulster and the same vice-versa.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8971 - 15/09/2011 20:45:25    1035635

15/09/2011 18:52:32
BettystownRoyal

1035525 I know of one AIL club that is only getting about 15 to training. There are about 14 GAA clubs in the catchment area that are getting over 20 to training and a lot of soccer clubs as well doing good too. The AIL is very weak imo.
Is this boyne or navan? GAA season still in full flow so in some areas you might expect some teams to have plenty of players not back training yet. some clubs will have played only 1 or 2 competitive games depending on the province- in your case leinster only the league cup has started and that is only a pre season warm up competition, so teams might not be full strength for various reasons

The AIL is not weak- there will be some weak teams in div 2b the same as their is weak teams at all grades in any sport

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 15/09/2011 21:40:54    1035701

there's a rugby league in ireland?? by god.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 16/09/2011 08:36:30    1035740

16/09/2011 08:36:30
hurlinspuds

1035740 there's a rugby league in ireland?? by god.

Yes, no need for the sarcasm
Very popular all ireland league consisting of 52 teams
then there is junior leagues in each province varying from 20 to 50 teams depending on the province.
In leinster/ulster there is 6 grades of teams at adult level, in munster/connacht there is 3 levels with many cork clubs having teams at 4 or 5 grades

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/09/2011 15:36:03    1036263

League starts this week.
Highlight of weekend has to be the division 2B game between Wanderers and Nenagh that will be played in the Aviva on saturday at 2.30pm

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 27/09/2011 12:39:47    1042802

Is this not being played on the back pitch where Wanderers and Lansdowne have their new clubhouse?

tonorio (Offaly) - Posts: 609 - 27/09/2011 13:36:30    1042838

27/09/2011 13:36:30
tonorio
County: Offaly

1042838 Is this not being played on the back pitch where Wanderers and Lansdowne have their new clubhouse?

No, the main pitch as itll probably be one of the only times wanderers will get to play a game on the main pitch

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 27/09/2011 14:05:22    1042870

A very good. Should be a great experience for all involved

tonorio (Offaly) - Posts: 609 - 27/09/2011 15:34:56    1042930

It's a pity I'll miss Garryowen's opening game. I hope to take in a few of their games over the season.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8971 - 27/09/2011 19:42:50    1043072

27/09/2011 12:39:47
ormondbannerman

1042802 League starts this week.
Highlight of weekend has to be the division 2B game between Wanderers and Nenagh that will be played in the Aviva on saturday at 2.30pm

Nenaghs senior team will be on area 22 friday night on tv3 when our terrible attempt at the drop goal challange will be shown. tv3 11.30pm

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 28/09/2011 15:35:47    1043467

hurlinspuds

i know amazing isnt it hurling spuds, but on a serious note, the old rugger training is handy for keeping ye going over the winter in the off season.

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 28/09/2011 17:00:19    1043522

hurlinspuds

There sure is spuds. It is our main national championship of rugger. The final usually attracts about 2000 guys and a few dozen ball chasers.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 29/09/2011 15:04:53    1043971

pig.ignorant
County: Derry

1043522 hurlinspuds

i know amazing isnt it hurling spuds, but on a serious note, the old rugger training is handy for keeping ye going over the winter in the off season.
29/09/2011 15:04:53
Real Kerry Fan

1043971 hurlinspuds

There sure is spuds. It is our main national championship of rugger. The final usually attracts about 2000 guys and a few dozen ball chasers.

Lads, what sport is "rugger"? Its rugby, rugby union, footy. who calls it "rugger"?
The final normally gets an attendance of well more than 2000, even the 3rd division final gets well over that

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 29/09/2011 16:46:59    1044044

Ah sorry bannerman, Attendance of 3200 for national final last year.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 30/09/2011 10:14:15    1044313

ormond, your fighting a battle which you cant win cause youre wrong.... you get too touchy about rugby, chill out dude

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 30/09/2011 11:31:47    1044377

30/09/2011 11:31:47
miketyson
County: Limerick

1044377 ormond, your fighting a battle which you cant win cause youre wrong.... you get too touchy about rugby, chill out dude

I get "touchy" about rugby, at least i dont like some posters here use lazy pathetic stereotypes to describe sports i dont like

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/09/2011 14:36:26    1044537

ormondbannerman

I get "touchy" about rugby, at least i dont like some posters here use lazy pathetic stereotypes to describe sports i dont like

Ok Ok you sound like a decent Guy.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 30/09/2011 14:51:28    1044555

bannerman, my post was genuine enough, but i did throw the "rugger" bit in just to see if you would take the bait, and low and behold you did. settle down man, its a term used to describe rugby, and as far as im aware, not derogatory. i believe that you are a sincere rugby fan, and fair play to you for that, but once again, settle down

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 30/09/2011 15:23:28    1044582