Holy Cross: Ten years on..

Gammy_Knee
County: USA

1028807 the parents who marched there children to school and subjected there kids to that level of abuse did so because they were die hard republicans, no half decent parent would put there children into a position where they could have been seriously injured or even killed. those women/mothers can only be described as savages to do such a thing.

I notice of these die hard republicans, that one of the girls is in a long term relationship with a protestant lad, the other is looking to join the police and another is taking up a placement year as a lawyer in London. All the signs of being rabid republicans alright

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 07/09/2011 14:00:41    1029121

Didn't watch the programme as I have no interest in such sob stories but fair play to them then. Certainly proves Ulsterman wrong with his assertion that it would leave wounds that would never heal

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 07/09/2011 14:14:36    1029136

This youtube clip is absolutely shocking. The Kids scared, crying trying to turn back and not face the abuse being pushed on by their parents. The said parents then stopping to argue with the protestors. sick from both sides. The kids from this clip dont seem to have turned out alright.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6vNyCQHxr8

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 07/09/2011 14:53:35    1029162

Lads (gotmilk etc)
The amt of ye that fall for PP and Paddys traps every single time is ridiculous!!
Lads they are only winding ye up!! They want ye to be shocked, they want ye to react!!
Dont! If ye ignore them, it drives them mad! They are NOT real!!

What happened in Holycross was a dark dark day and the locals from the Ardoyne Rd came out of it very very badly
They were and seemingly still are bigots and nothing else

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/09/2011 15:35:05    1029211

Paddy and PP you talk about point scoring here yet I'm my opinion you both are chronic for trying tonpoint score yourselves, albeit from a Unionist point of view. Pot and kettle.

One thing I wil say is don't judge these people by where theyre from or what "class" they are. I'm sure for many it wasn't as black and White a decision as you make it out to be. But because of where they're from you feel you can belittle them to fit your agenda. Very snobbish in my opinion.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 07/09/2011 15:38:32    1029213

Derry_ledd
County: Derry

1029213 Paddy and PP you talk about point scoring here yet I'm my opinion you both are chronic for trying tonpoint score yourselves, albeit from a Unionist point of view. Pot and kettle.

One thing I wil say is don't judge these people by where theyre from or what "class" they are. I'm sure for many it wasn't as black and White a decision as you make it out to be. But because of where they're from you feel you can belittle them to fit your agenda. Very snobbish in my opinion.

are you suggesting the catholic parents involved had no other choice but to put there children through what they did. was there some other illegal authority behind the whole thing on the catholic side, where the parents actually afraid of perhaps serious repercussions if they refused to do what they did ?.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 07/09/2011 16:30:29    1029272

Your a good man hammy knee to take all that from what I said.

I was merely referring to teaching your children it's ok to stand up for what is right in the face of persecution.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 07/09/2011 16:50:47    1029295

There's one statement that stood out for me from the video Paddy kindly posted. It said that one of the couldn't face it so went to school through the back door. Why did they not all do this? Why would the parents march them through such abuse when they could go a quieter path? It smacks of point scoring to me, oh look at what we have to face. Given the area they are from this doesn't surprise me in the slightest, year after year we see what a lot of Ardoyne residents are like

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 07/09/2011 17:02:41    1029309

PP, I've seen worse from Pomeroy!

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 07/09/2011 17:12:34    1029325

pplocal

1029309 There's one statement that stood out for me from the video Paddy kindly posted. It said that one of the couldn't face it so went to school through the back door. Why did they not all do this? Why would the parents march them through such abuse when they could go a quieter path? It smacks of point scoring to me, oh look at what we have to face. Given the area they are from this doesn't surprise me in the slightest, year after year we see what a lot of Ardoyne residents are like

You continually miss the point pp and deliberately so in my view. This situation would never have arisen had it not been for the poisonously vitriolic hatred on the part of those people who chose to spit on and terrorise small children who were going to school. You refuse to address why these people felt justified in behaving in the manner they did. You refuse to consider why people would even countenance doing what they did, much less do it. You sneer about the childrens parents playing the victim. If a bully tried to force you to do something you didn't want to do in order to humiliate you would you comply? As has already been asked should Rosa Parks have given up her seat ?The reason this happened was because of the unfathomable levels of poisonous hatred felt by these people towards Catholic school children walking to school. Your logic is twisted in the extreme.Rather like those people who spat on little children .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 07/09/2011 17:30:28    1029343

I've said numerous times these protesters are completely out of order to terrorise children, of course they are. However given that situation existed it's wrong also to force your children to face that on a daily basis. If you put a kid in a Celtic jersey and left him off in the Shankill it's wrong that he would face the abuse that would undoubtedly come his way. However it's also wrong to have put him there in the first place knowing full well what would happen. Both sides must take a portion of the blame

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 07/09/2011 18:25:26    1029399

Good reasoned sensible post Greengrass, not much more I would add really. Just about sectarianism in general, I thought ianog made a very valid point earlier in the thread. I believe there is the real possibility the north could find itself sleep walking into another prolonged conflict, unless that is the issue of anti-Catholic/anti-Irish attitudes are openly and constructively challenged.

Recently a DUP Minister refused to build much needed social housing in north Belfast because the houses would be allocated to Catholics. This costed proposal was put forward and endorsed be the NI Housing Executive yet was overturned in an openly sectarian decision. We have strong unionist hostility to any and every form of Irish culture, from the language to Gaelic Games. Listen to the comments made recently by Jim Wells, Gregory Campbell and the UUP Leader Tom Elliott, their comments do not lend themselves to the idea of an open and equal society. Historically unionists have abjectly refused to live as equals with their Catholic countrymen, this mindset must be changed or further conflict is sadly inevitable.

Hopefully the likes of P. Robinson, B.McCrea, P. Bradshaw & Lady Hermon can lead unionism into the 21st Century and away from the attitude that facilitates and excuses shameful incidents like Holy Cross.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 07/09/2011 18:27:03    1029402

Derry_ledd
County: Derry

1029295 Your a good man hammy knee to take all that from what I said.

I was merely referring to teaching your children it's ok to stand up for what is right in the face of persecution.

is it not ok for people to also teach their children that it is quite ok to step back from something but particularly when that something could potentially cost you your life.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 07/09/2011 18:50:29    1029415

What do you reckon grammy should we get rid of one man one vote? Should a black woman have to give up her seat on a bus for a white man? Should a child continue to be bullied at school and say nothing?

Or maybe, maybe just the could stand up for themselves.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/09/2011 19:13:29    1029428

It is indeed Gammy Knee!

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 07/09/2011 19:16:19    1029434

Gammy_Knee

is it not ok for people to also teach their children that it is quite ok to step back from something but particularly when that something could potentially cost you your life.

Good man Gammy_knee. Well done indeed. You do a wonderful job posting as an apologist for those who spat on small children going to school. It's great to see that your admiration for the actions of people who subjected small children to such a barrage of poisonously, vitriolic hatred for weeks, is such that you would post in defence of those people. What an individual you are!!

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 07/09/2011 20:17:14    1029480

gotmilk
County: Fermanagh

1029428 What do you reckon grammy should we get rid of one man one vote? Should a black woman have to give up her seat on a bus for a white man? Should a child continue to be bullied at school and say nothing? NO NO AND TRICE NO

Or maybe, maybe just the could stand up for themselves.

gotmilk i'm not against standing up for oneself, far from it, i am however against standing up for oneself when you use/exploit someone namely children( but particularly your own children) who everyone knows are clearly more vulnerable than adults. i'm all for people making a stand but when that involves putting children in danger then i'd draw the line at that.

should the women and children have gotten into the life boats on the titanic before the men or should the men have taken a stand and stood up for themselves?.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 07/09/2011 20:18:01    1029484

pplocal

1029399 I've said numerous times these protesters are completely out of order to terrorise children, of course they are.

You didn't do so nearly forcefully enough. You also sneered about parents having a chance to "appear the victim".

However given that situation existed it's wrong also to force your children to face that on a daily basis. If you put a kid in a Celtic jersey and left him off in the Shankill it's wrong that he would face the abuse that would undoubtedly come his way. However it's also wrong to have put him there in the first place knowing full well what would happen. Both sides must take a portion of the blame

This analogy is not viable. The reason this situation arose is because people blinded by hatred took it upon themselves to protest in the most vile manner imaginable against small children walking to school. The children and their parents were using this route before any protest materialised. The protesters created the situation. Was there any justification for that protest? If a bully blinded by hatred tried to force you to do something against your will in order to humiliate you would you back down ? This situation would never have arisen were it not for the hate filled indviduals who initiated it. They and they alone should bear the blame.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 07/09/2011 20:34:27    1029504

I could be wrong but I never seen it as a life threatening situation regardless of how uglly it was. But to follow the logic put forward by Gammy knee and indeed pp and Paddy we would no doubt still be living in caves and the great beasts of the earth would be the true masters. We must overcome our fears and we must stand up for what is right and unfortunately in this instance it meant that the adults had to bring the children through this otherwise evil would have won the day. I made the point earlier that Christ did not have to go to Jerusalem but he did. Now gammy Knee and pp would argue that Christ was wrong, because it made his persecutors look bad and he really only done it to point score and prove that his pacificist approach to life was right and otherwise was wrong. However thank God that the real reason was to show those of us who came sfterward that right will prevail but only if we are strong the face of evil. And given how these children have turned out it can be seen that right has prevailed in the face of this evil.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 07/09/2011 20:47:55    1029521

Greengrass
County: Louth

1029480 Gammy_Knee

Good man Gammy_knee. Well done indeed. You do a wonderful job posting as an apologist for those who spat on small children going to school. It's great to see that your admiration for the actions of people who subjected small children to such a barrage of poisonously, vitriolic hatred for weeks, is such that you would post in defence of those people. What an individual you are!!

greengrass i'm not an apologist for anyone, i'm merely pointing out that the parents should have protected their own small children from being spat on and the barrage of of poisonously,vitriolic hatered they knew would be coming their way every morning and evening. jesus the parents knew full well they were dealing with psycho's did they not, 'people' who would think nothing of blowing the whole lot of them up just for the sake of it. i think i read somewhere where you said you had young kids, would you not protect your little ones from similar type of behaviour if it happened in your home town of dundalk. surely you'd weigh up the situation and come to the conclusion that your children's safety and well being outweighed their right to travel a certain path to school if that path posed a serious risk to them.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 07/09/2011 21:07:26    1029558