'Irelands Call' official anthem for Rugby W Cup!

Fair point RKF
noted.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/09/2011 08:52:01    1030334

we will probably be able to hear the whole of the island of ireland roaring irelands call with pride all the way over her in NZ before kickoff, thank god we have a real song, too long living in the past, rugby has taken th lead and hockey, crickets and others are following, proper order i say, shows a bit of class!!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 09/09/2011 19:45:00    1030954

liathroidboy

There is nothing "class" about that song and dreadful dirge, when the orange marching tune is belting out tomorrow watch all the green lads NOT singing, as O'Gara said before its embarressing. It is too, just a shocking crap tune and song, I wonder what clown is going to ruin their career by singing tomorrow morning, I'll miss it of course as I don't even get you for work before 9.30 - ahh the joys of being a free loading teacher!!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 10/09/2011 17:33:02    1031287

first up God Save the Queen is England's national anthem, no-one else.

Ireland is one country with two governing bodies. 26 of the Irish counties are governed by their rightful owners. Unfortunately 6 of the counties towards the north-east are controlled by foreign invaders.

Glad I could clear this up for some lads.

If certain people do not like repersenting Ireland, standing for her anthem and flag, then they should leave Ireland and play for whatever country they do like. If they are of the opinion that God Save The Queen is their national anthem and the St.George's Cross or the Union Jack is their national flag then they should play for England.

Ireland is one country, with one national flag, Green White and Orange (which both sides of the religious devide are represented on) and Amhrán na bhFiann is our national anthem. Both of which where established as such before partition. Neither are intended on insulting anyone.

In our National anthem we declare that we will "shelter the despot or the slave" which I suppose we did do when the British cleared out a lot of the dead wood they no longer wanted and planted them in the north-east of the country.

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 11/09/2011 10:47:43    1031563

wise_guy

Ireland is one country with two governing bodies. 26 of the Irish counties are governed by their rightful owners. Unfortunately 6 of the counties towards the north-east are controlled by foreign invaders.

If certain people do not like repersenting Ireland, standing for her anthem and flag, then they should leave Ireland and play for whatever country they do like. If they are of the opinion that God Save The Queen is their national anthem and the St.George's Cross or the Union Jack is their national flag then they should play for England.

Ireland is one country, with one national flag, Green White and Orange (which both sides of the religious devide are represented on) and Amhrán na bhFiann is our national anthem. Both of which where established as such before partition. Neither are intended on insulting anyone.

In our National anthem we declare that we will "shelter the despot or the slave" which I suppose we did do when the British cleared out a lot of the dead wood they no longer wanted and planted them in the north-east of the country.

You really are a wise guy. Here Here. well said

Watching the Wales and South African anthems (2 of the best in the world) made me ashamed of us singing that tripe before our match.. It is a limp, weak "song" that was followed by a limp. weak performance....contrast that with the passion and pride shown by both sets of players during their anthems in the wales/ SA game and then the great game that followed.

laflour (Cavan) - Posts: 528 - 11/09/2011 11:28:54    1031579

Why is the anthem issue such a big deal? playing amrhan na fiann doesnt give you points on the scoreboard, it doesnt win you or lose you games. Its not an issue
I would not care if they sang britney spears before the game as long as the game is played and ideally Ireland win.

What song is sang should be the least of anyones worries, it does not matter

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/09/2011 11:57:09    1031587

1 island. 2 separate states. 2 different flags. 2 different anthems. Fairly simple here boys, it's like claiming South Korea and North Korea is one country

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/09/2011 11:59:28    1031588

my point is that when the team is called 'Ireland'... then the Irish national anthem should be played. simples. otherwise change the name.. Ireland = Amhrain na Bhfiann

laflour (Cavan) - Posts: 528 - 11/09/2011 12:26:44    1031597

11/09/2011 12:26:44
laflour

1031597 my point is that when the team is called 'Ireland'... then the Irish national anthem should be played. simples. otherwise change the name.. Ireland = Amhrain na Bhfiann
But for some players its not their anthem. Why is this a big deal????
Who cares what song is sang before the game............. It doesnt matter

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/09/2011 12:45:51    1031610

laflour

my point is that when the team is called 'Ireland'... then the Irish national anthem should be played. simples. otherwise change the name.. Ireland = Amhrain na Bhfiann

Republic of Ireland = Amhrán na bhFiann.

Ireland has 2 anthems. God Save the Queen and Amhrán na bhFiann.

Either play both or stick with the Ireland's Call compromise.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 11/09/2011 12:46:02    1031612

wise_guy

Thats it wise_guy, take a hard line instead of compromising and see how far it gets you, I think its very sad in day and age that there are still so many people hell bent on persevering the divide instead of integrating and the only way to integrate is to...........(drum roll)...........compromise :-)

You can't just turn around to the likes of Andrew Trimble and Rory Best etc etc and say 'listen lads, eh you're either gonna sing amhran na bhfiann or you're gonna get on a plane and leave my country', hate to say it but that is bigotry, them lads aren't responsible for any boat trips made to our shore in 1169 or during the plantations.

Anyway, more important issues, anyone see the South Africa v Wales game today, looked a carbon copy of the Australia v Ireland (not Rep Ireland or Northern Ireland) RWC game in 03 (same scoreline and all if memory serves me). Another classic case of the underdog falling short because of an inferiority complex and it guarantees South Africa a place in the semi-finals already!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/09/2011 13:22:57    1031637

Sing both songs and acknowledge both traditions. One tradition is being ignored. Anyway I hope we do well but I fear the worst.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6180 - 11/09/2011 14:17:22    1031670

The Ulster lads are s**** anyway, we could work just as well without them.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 11/09/2011 15:41:41    1031721

'The Ulster lads are s**** anyway, we could work just as well without them.'

Forget where the three try scorers this morning were from? If it wasn't for the Ulstermen the USA would have won

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/09/2011 15:55:49    1031734

There was a thread on here recently wondering why the GAA has not taken off abroad , you only have to read this thread to see why. The GAA is perceived by people who are not from GAA backgrounds to be a middle class, Catholic ,nationalist organization with what can only be described as bigoted views towards other sports . The National anthem is a compromise that I dont agree with but can understand the reasoning behind it and has to be applauded as an effort in trying to bring people together . The usual suspects on here think that rugby players are less Irish for not singing ANB , how sad are these people .
But they are willing to sit and watch 2 teams of unskilled sports people (with the exception of the Gooch ) next Sunday who are not good enough to ever be professional sports men and declare them to be some sort of better Irishman .
SAD,SAD SAD

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 11/09/2011 17:23:35    1031786

pplocal

'The Ulster lads are s**** anyway, we could work just as well without them.'

Forget where the three try scorers this morning were from? If it wasn't for the Ulstermen the USA would have won

Tommy is from Monaghan, last time I checked it was in southern Ireland, so he's one of us. I suppose Ferris is ok, but Flannery is more than able to take Rory Best's position.

Ulster should form their own team if they have a problem with our anthem. Its like the soccer, its better to have it divided. As you say yourself one island, 2 nations, 2 flags, 2 anthems, so why are we letting Ulstermen play for us if they have a problem with our flag/anthem?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 11/09/2011 17:47:08    1031804

pplocal

1031588 1 island. 2 separate states. 2 different flags. 2 different anthems. Fairly simple here boys, it's like claiming South Korea and North Korea is one country

-----------------

well put i must say, obviously some people have problems with reality

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 11/09/2011 19:06:23    1031888

Jaysus Ned you're not the sharpest tool in the box. Tommy is indeed from Monaghan and what province is that in now? Do you know what province your own county is in?

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/09/2011 19:19:59    1031907

isnt is great that the IRFU is ran by educated people with no political agenda. alot of idiot on this board could learn alot from this, its a bit like the openings of croker, the queen visiting croker, GSTQ in croker, ireland call as the new anthem, these educated men dont listen to people with political agenda in fact they refuse to acknowledge the existence of such people and rightfully so. So basically put lads ye are as well taking a pee into the wind than harping on about any of this, its not going to change and the funniest thing is if there was a united ireland in the morning and the irish government took control of the affairs of the north- would the IRFU revert back? No they definately would not as long as people from a different cultural background fall under the IRFU flag- this makes me very happy. the gaa could learn alot from this, there is 1 million people on this island that could possibly play gaa sports if there was some tolerance from those in the gaa, and going on this board its obvious why northern unionists stay clear of the gaa its because they simply are not welcome- its one of the many dirty shames that hangs over the gaa!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 11/09/2011 19:26:37    1031918

No matter about anyone's opinion, God Save the Queen is England and only England's national anthem. The matter of weather Amhran na bhFiann is Ireland or only the liberated 26 counties is up for debate with some. Northern Ireland is not a country, it is 6 counties of Ireland controlled by Britian. Even the Brits will tell you this.

How can two places have the same national anthem?

And if you lived in USA or Australia and said "I don't like this place, I want it to be French, British or Japaneese" you would soon be told where to go!!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 13/09/2011 12:19:38    1033369