'Irelands Call' official anthem for Rugby W Cup!

Lads, I know this has been flogged to death before in various forms but this time it has gone too far!

As everyone knows, we usually have the National Anthem and Irelands Call played together and that is a happy medium most people accept, but the IRFU has opted to only play Irelands Call at the Rugby World cup in NZ as "it represents everybody"!!!
Noble im sure, but it actually doesnt represent anybody!
It is not an anthem and hence it does not represent me!.....The only song that represents the Republic of Ireland is Amhran Na Bhfiann!!!......its called our national anthem and there is no disputing that!!!.....look it up!!!......anyone from the Republic of Ireland who choses to be represented by a different 'song' is a revisionist 'New Irelander' with no sense of pride or tradition in their country!!

As for what song the north should be represented by.....well they seem happy enough with Irelands Call, so let them keep with that!!

No more than people giving out about spillanes 'shi'ite' comment, why are some things treated with kit gloves and put up on a pedestal and sugar thrown at them??!!

This is 'New Irelander' namby pamby appeasment of the highest order!!!

If this happens, I will refuse to watch any of the games because as far as I am concerned my country will not be represented at the rugby world cup if it refuses to even play its own National Anthem!

Let me ask you all this, just think of this moment on worldwide TV any of you who think I might be a bit over the top here: 'Imagine Ireland win the World Cup and just like she did when we won the Six Nations, President McAleese joins the lads on the podium and like in the olympics the National Anthem is played of the winner!!......There they all are with the President and in front of the world some other 'song' comes on to 'represent' us and we are all supposed to be proud of!!!
Embarrassing is all that would be!!!

I wont be a part of that!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/09/2011 10:12:22    1027061

Don't get me started on that muck snuff, I noticed they were playing it at the recent Euro Hockey tournament too, its creeping into every facet of our national team sports and it stinks to high heavens. Its seemingly ok for the IFA to play GSTQ at Windsor park, they aren't bothered in the lightest about 'offending' anyone, but the IRFU, fecking pansies in suits. I shall continue to press mute when that is played, hoping one day that people will start to see sense and I won't have to bother any more.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 05/09/2011 10:31:24    1027077

Brend doesn't seem to realise ROI and N.I. are two completely different states, he's still confused why he's using Pound sterling and voting in British elections. So why should the anthem of one of these states be used over the other? I do agree Ireland's Call is complete rubbish though, my personal preference would be if Amhran Na Bhfiann and GSTQ are both played before all Ireland matches home and away. The Union flag should also proudly fly alongside the Tricolour as at the minute the Irish rugby team is heavily weighted against those from the Protestant/Unionist community

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 05/09/2011 10:56:33    1027119

yes it's been flogged to death!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 05/09/2011 10:58:52    1027122

It stands up as a good song on its own in fairness!

But just like you, when it comes on the TV I actually change channel until its over!!.....doesnt represent me!!

Cant stand to see all the 'neer do goods standing with their arms around each other singing it like a bunch of wallys!!....folks with no backbone or conviction!!.....weak people!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/09/2011 11:02:33    1027132

The idea of the song is very good but the actual song is the worst ive ever heard(almost maybe only jedwards and westlife and nearly all pop bands are worse)
Ireland, as in the Irish rugby team, represents the whole island and all it's cultures and diversities, including not just the Adams family but the Robbinsons too. The soldiers song does not do this, quite the opposite actually. So, whereas it is a bit of a dirge, it's use is well meaning.

The soccer team, known as the republic of Ireland can indeed have A na B as their anthem as it is the anthem of the area and people they represent.

The meaning of the song is right
Would you rather the republic and the north had seperate rugby teams

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 05/09/2011 11:03:05    1027133

The song is poor but the idea behind it is good. Better a poor song is played and ireland plays as a united team then the ulster lads not play for ireland at all

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 05/09/2011 11:24:30    1027163

I was at the first game this was played at - against the All-Blacks about 15 years ago. There was a lot of confusion as to what the hell was going on! They tried various ones before that (even the Rose of Tralee!) but none stuck. I hate the song as a piece of music. I strongly dislike not being able to sing my anthem at away games. However, I love the fact that I can stand by my Belfast friends and cheer on the same country as one, and that I wouldn't change for the sake of 3 minutes of music, however important that is.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 05/09/2011 12:09:03    1027219

Amhrann na Bhfiann is the ONLY national anthem in Ireland and should be the ONLY anthem used by any Irish sporting team.. Any player on this Island who feels that A na B doesn't represent them is not a true Gael and should not be picked to represent this country. Éire abú

laflour (Cavan) - Posts: 528 - 05/09/2011 12:19:56    1027236

Both are only played before home internationals. For all away matches it's only Irelands Call that is played. It's been going on for years.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 05/09/2011 12:32:27    1027250

05/09/2011 12:19:56
laflour

1027236 Amhrann na Bhfiann is the ONLY national anthem in Ireland and should be the ONLY anthem used by any Irish sporting team.. Any player on this Island who feels that A na B doesn't represent them is not a true Gael and should not be picked to represent this country. Éire ab

The team is representing ulster protestant players whos national anthem is GSTQ and southern players whoss anthem is AnbF
Some of the players consider themselves northern irish and not from the republic, so why should they have to sing our anthem

Is it not good to see 2 communities join together in their love for a sport
Ireland's call was introduced after some of the Northern Protestant on the team received threats from Loyalists terrorists that their clubs would be attacked if the stood to the 'Soldier Song'. at that stage, the IRFU knew the situation was a mess and decided to get an anthem that people could stand in. Its an awful song but the idea behind it is right

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 05/09/2011 12:32:49    1027252

Well I wouldn't worry too much about Ireland's call, we're only gonna have to listen to it for four games. Anyway I hate when people make such a big thing over something so trivial, I honestly couldn't give a toss if they played Finnegans Wake before the games as long as lads are doing themselves proud.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/09/2011 12:53:56    1027275

The team is representing ulster protestant players whos national anthem is GSTQ and southern players whoss anthem is AnbF
Some of the players consider themselves northern irish and not from the republic, so why should they have to sing our anthem

i think you mean:

The team is representing ulster unionist players whos national anthem is GSTQ and southern and northern nationalist players whoss anthem is AnbF

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4148 - 05/09/2011 12:58:00    1027279

pplocal
Wow, pplocal is on the button again, I've just Googled it and sure enough, the island of Ireland is split between the Republic of Ireland and the UK, well blow me down, why my folks kept this from me all these years is a secret they have taken to the grave. Don't anyone tell you that educational standards have been falling of late, here we have pplocal, proof, if needed, that education WORKS.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 05/09/2011 13:15:25    1027299

Judging by your first post it seems you weren't 100% on it, thought I'd help :). The N.I. football team playing GSTQ is absolutely no different to the ROI football team playing Amhran Na Bhfiann, it's their national anthem after all. If your confused about anything else just ask and I'll be happy to answer your queries

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 05/09/2011 13:23:26    1027306

05/09/2011 12:58:00
32_4_1

1027279 The team is representing ulster protestant players whos national anthem is GSTQ and southern players whoss anthem is AnbF

i think you mean:

The team is representing ulster unionist players whos national anthem is GSTQ and southern and northern nationalist players whoss anthem is AnbF

Yes. thats what i meant. Any way this is way off topic, how do people here think we will do, what do ye think kidneys team for this weekend will be?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 05/09/2011 13:30:37    1027314

Proud Irishmen me a***. They played up to recent years for the BRITISH LIONS although they tried to convince us that Irish was added to the official title. Not until 2001 did that occur. If our Anthem is good enough for Lansdowne Road it is good enough overseas.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 05/09/2011 13:32:33    1027316

This is one of the main reasons the team have been mince in the World Cup, they don't have an anthem that gets their blood pumping before games. Ireland's call is OK in the bar afterwards but a national anthem it's not; it's turgid, bland and grey. AnF is the only anthem that should be played and that should be made clear to anyone who pulls on an Irish rugby shirt. Those refusing to stand for it should be forced to live in Mayo.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 05/09/2011 13:36:10    1027320

AnbF that should be.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 05/09/2011 13:41:27    1027325

05/09/2011 13:32:33
Real Kerry Fan

1027316 Proud Irishmen me a***. They played up to recent years for the BRITISH LIONS although they tried to convince us that Irish was added to the official title. Not until 2001 did that occur. If our Anthem is good enough for Lansdowne Road it is good enough overseas.
05/09/2011 13:36:10
Ulsterman

1027320 This is one of the main reasons the team have been mince in the World Cup, they don't have an anthem that gets their blood pumping before games. Ireland's call is OK in the bar afterwards but a national anthem it's not; it's turgid, bland and grey. AnF is the only anthem that should be played and that should be made clear to anyone who pulls on an Irish rugby shirt. Those refusing to stand for it should be forced to live in Mayo.

If it is so important to you that they play the irish national anthem is played before all irish games then write to the IRFU and tell them what a disgrace they are to their country
Ireland is unique in that players from 2 countries play together under the one flag, why cant you just accept that this is the case. Many of the Ulster players dont sing AnF
If you think professional athletes do not preform in a game because they dont have an anthem "that gets their blood pumping" then you dont have a clue.
I agree the song Irelands Call is terrible but the idea and principle of it is correct, maybe we should look to an alternative song to be sung along with AnF

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 05/09/2011 13:56:06    1027347