Slayer

Great Post

Thumbs up :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 29/08/2011 13:55:15    1021734

Who in the name of jesus can say thats a rivalry

Dublin were champions in '74.
A young Kerry team surprised them in '75.
Dublin beat Kerry well in '76.
And again in '77.
Kerry came back and beat them in '78.
And again in '79.

That's a serious rivalry in my opinion.
I attended nearly all of those games and still have the match programs and newspaper clippings, which I cherish to this day.
This rivalry may have no bearing today and its significance may be lost on some of the younger posters on this site but from my own memories I'll have to disagree with you.

Tomás Tralee (Kerry) - Posts: 391 - 29/08/2011 13:57:09    1021739

Great post slayer.
I can't believe all the rubbish people spout about football evolving and becoming a better game. Look at that match yesterday and talk about how much football has evolved. Teams were more positive and yes innocent back then,they went out to play football and wouldn't partake in what we saw yesterday. The standard wasn't poor,2 of the greatest teams ever dominated the game and made everyone else look poor. Sheehy,keaveney,spillane,mullins,o shea,hanahoe etc were great footballers from the great football era and here's to 3 weeks of unrelenting nostalgia.

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 29/08/2011 14:53:43    1021837

mikeoc

Great post slayer.
I can't believe all the rubbish people spout about football evolving and becoming a better game. Look at that match yesterday and talk about how much football has evolved. Teams were more positive and yes innocent back then,they went out to play football and wouldn't partake in what we saw yesterday. The standard wasn't poor,2 of the greatest teams ever dominated the game and made everyone else look poor. Sheehy,keaveney,spillane,mullins,o shea,hanahoe etc were great footballers from the great football era and here's to 3 weeks of unrelenting nostalgia.

Absolute nonsense, Galway 3 in a row, the Down team of the 60s, Flanagan , langan of the 50s.......streets ahead in natural footballing talent but hey that win spin the money like the gombeens you speak off who had bellies they could barley see over.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 29/08/2011 15:12:44    1021883

Dublin Kerry is definitely the biggest game in the GAA.
I think Kerry will just have too much for this Dublin team at this moment though but the Dubs will make it a decent show.

flemishgael (Kerry) - Posts: 67 - 29/08/2011 15:44:57    1021952

Speaking as a more or less neutral party (slightly biased for Dublin in this instance) I would suspect that apart from the natural desire to have one's own county involved, most people don't care who plays in an AI as long as it promises to be a good game that appeals to a wide audience. Dublin V Kerry has fantastic potential, and so I think people are justifiably looking to the past in the hopes that this game will attest to a rich tradition of good, tough football.

Go on the Dubs!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 29/08/2011 16:05:27    1021982

"streets ahead in natural footballing talent but hey that win spin the money like the gombeens you speak off who had bellies they could barley see over. "

To paraphrase that old liga ad: What did she say?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 29/08/2011 16:12:40    1021991

Liam has barely been on this forum for months and suddenly we are saturated with his musings, coincidence, I think not! Listen, I'm in my mid forties, so I remember the 70's well, I also remember thinking how much I wanted my county to be involved, was I jealous, hell yeah. I'm not one for the nostalgia thing myself, can't imagine I'll be on this forum in 10 years time reminisicing about the noughties and the great Tyrone v Kerry rivalry that defined a decade as I believe Tyrone will be back in the mix again, sooner rather than later and Dublin will return to the mediocrity from whence they came. Of course Kerry will remain the one constant through the ages, some things never change. So you see, just because some of us aren't creaming our undercrackers in anticipation of the forthcoming clash of the GAA giants, as apparently we should be, doesnt mean I cant enjoy the spectacle from a neutral perspective. Just keep it real Liam, theres a good lad.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/08/2011 17:46:57    1022118

Absolute nonsense, Galway 3 in a row, the Down team of the 60s, Flanagan , langan of the 50s.......streets ahead in natural footballing talent but hey that win spin the money like the gombeens you speak off who had bellies they could barley see over.

Rubbish. Well from what i can understand of it. That's what you get when you cross a mayoman with technology. Anyway,kerry and dublin raised the bar in terms of fitness and had the natural footballing ability to go with it. The 2 most significant teams in the history of football.

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 29/08/2011 18:41:32    1022167

1longago

Liamwalkinstown
What kills me is this problem i have with Irish society in general its this pseudo historian we have in every pub club and gathering, from Irish republicanism to GAA. It's quite incredible really.

Dublin had an okay team in the 70s, gaelic football was pathetic in terms of quality, if you want to get all romantic and faux about it thats your lookout. The whole Dublin /Kerry is rotten to the core and stinks of an elitism that was about Irish society at the time. Back to the said era anyway, this golden era as they say, (tut tut) Kerry were by far the greater team, they beat Dublin in every final bar one, now is this true or is my information wrong? Dublin (i have said this so many times) have not beaten Kerry since 1977 in championship football, is this true or not?

Of course Kerry will adopt to the love in, isn't a win win win for them, aren't the old boys still making a few quid off it and sure don't they beat u in the football, ffs tonight man, wake up, they are the cuttest whoor about and a cute whoor will never admit to been a cute whoor btw, you fools.

Ha ha ha, feel the looove. Is there something in the water in Mayo? Delusion.com

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 29/08/2011 18:56:06    1022177

mikeoc

Rubbish. Well from what i can understand of it. That's what you get when you cross a mayoman with technology. Anyway,kerry and dublin raised the bar in terms of fitness and had the natural footballing ability to go with it. The 2 most significant teams in the history of football.

Why are these great Dublin players not represented on the millenium team then?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 29/08/2011 19:12:37    1022190

As an aside, given so many posters from Dublin and Kerry have taken the time to come on here and remind all of us that Dublin v Kerry is what it's all about, then who are we (the other 30 counties) to disagree?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 29/08/2011 19:16:42    1022194

Why are these great Dublin players not represented on the millenium team then?

There were a lot of debatable selections on that team and it's irrelevant in my eyes anyway but who cares whether they are on it or not. They raised the bar and gaelic football owes them a debt.

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 29/08/2011 19:23:12    1022200

Some talk here of the Galway three in a row team etc.

Many moons ago, RTE used to have the Sunday game on Sunday and then a program called 'The Monday Game' or something like that. Then they used to show old games from the 60's etc after the Monday game. My Da used also buy me a magazine called 'Gaelic Games' or something or other. For me, ALL these lads were heroes. GAA was the way of life, there was no other way.

I saw re-runs of Galways three finals, a fine team. I saw re-runs of Down's wins, also a fine team. I'm not saying any is better than the others I am just saying that in my memory the era that Kerry & Dublin dominated (74-85??) were great years for football. It is purely a personal opinion that football was more exciting back then. Even the 83 final, dirty & all as it was, Rock lobbed the Galway keeper from way out the field. That does not happen any more as football is a low risk game now all about cutting down on mistakes. And sure if it wasn't for mistakes how many of us would'nt be here, certainly I wouldn't!

I used to love seeing Kerry & Offaly get to the football final as the GAA used to make them change their shirts for the final & it was always interesting to see what designs they'd come up with. In my mind's eye I can still see Darby catching that ball & roofing it. I never thought then that I'd be writing about it on the internet 29 years later. Sure we were throwing ten pences into the giant whiskey bottle back then to buy one of those 'video games' where you had a line hitting another line towards a line & us thinking it was tennis! How innocent.

Maybe it was just because these games were from my childhood but they seemed magical. The Kerry team of the 70's & 80's seemed to glide through the air and get goals. I never liked hand passed goals though, seemed like cheating. The Northern sides were not as successful then as now, but I remember listening to the 1984 Ulster final on the radio & listening to Fran McGuigan score a pile of pints. Then you'd hate the supper and the ould fella would go for a pint and I'd be begging the mother to stay up to watch the Sunday game to see the Tyrone man's eleven points. The 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's all seemed like great football. I don't think any one team changed it, just everyone got fitter, more tuned in more professional and more into minimising the risks.

I think these days we take it all a bit for granted. Live & breath the games because the night of the All-Ireland football final it will be another year down and long winter nights.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6557 - 29/08/2011 21:28:28    1022379

Brend and 51

The fact that Dublin Kerry being in the final drives you so mad and annoys you so much is absolutely brilliant
I and all the Kerry and Dublin lads love seeing the likes of ye squirm at the thought of it

Slayer, good post again......your on a roll kid!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/08/2011 09:11:34    1022482

Keep up the good work Liam, and theres me wanting the Dubs to lift Sam, I'm sure there are thousands of neutrals like me that can be easily swayed by your thrash talk.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 30/08/2011 18:50:59    1023252

Jimmy and Eoin are actually two of the more sensible people when talking about modern Gaelic football. They know what they are talking about and don't get carried away with the usual 'Gaelic football' is dying nonsense.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 30/08/2011 19:34:12    1023309

Oh the jacks are back the jacks are back let the railway end go barmy cause hill 16 has never seen the likes of gilroys army.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/08/2011 19:34:54    1023310

Furthermore,i see the team of the millennium accolades as completely irrelevant in the greater scheme of things. I and any other right minded fan could legitimately challenge every position on the team as that is the nature of football discussion. No one has a right to tell the rest of us who the greatest was as it's purely a matter of opinion. I believe some awards were sympathetically awarded to certain counties to compensate for years of failure.

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 30/08/2011 21:04:52    1023456

Don't say I didn't warn ye of this happening ............. Shay Healy et al have released this All Ireland ditty

Do you remember Heffos army
Do you remember Micko's Men
Dublin Kerry all Ireland final
Those Magic days are back again

Do you remember Jimmy Keavney
Kickin points all day at will
Or Mikey Sheehy chippin Paddy
I can see it clearly still

Chorus

They'll be Cheerin in Saint Vincents
They'll be cheerin down in Smeem
In Tralee and In Killarney