Time Again To Roll Out Jimmy Keaveney & Bomber

Agh nostalgia.......the great Kerry/Dublin tradition etc..... Paddy Cullen, Jimmy Keaveney, Sean Doherty, Bobby Doyle, Gay O'Driscoll, Tony Hanahoe etc., etc. on one side and Mikey Sheehy, Bomber Liston, Pat Spillane, Paidí Ó Sé, Jacko etc., etc. on the other must be rubbing their hands with glee such as the spotlight they are again being thrown into for the next four weeks.

A penny for every time the great Dublin/Kerry rivalry will be mentioned on the airways and the print media over the next few weeks & I could be a millionaire. Bet the 1955 final with Heffo etc. also gets prominent mention.

And to think that it's been 26 years since Kerry met Dublin in a final.........yet we will be brainwashed into thinking that this is the final all Gaelic afficianados want and relish the most as its the real "traditional one".

OMG give me Kerry v Mayo anyday.

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 28/08/2011 19:56:01    1020988

I can imagine the rubbish that's going to get written on here now. All the snide remarks about how that era was overrated and the neutrals dont care about this rivalry or the history of it. Well,kerry fans care and dublin fans care and we're both in the final so i guess we're the only ones that matter.

mikeoc (Kerry) - Posts: 567 - 28/08/2011 20:06:50    1021009

Amen Mikeoc.... on the money kid,

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 28/08/2011 20:44:22    1021087

Kerry aren't the Kingdom for nothing Dublin need tp grab the Keys and storm the Bastion of Gaelic football that is Kerry .... Best of luck to both teams

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 28/08/2011 20:48:16    1021097

A good kick up the behind some of ye need. Your arrogance and patronising behaviour is not one of true greats, you are letting your side down too as the old school had class.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 28/08/2011 20:49:08    1021098

The story of Paidi's lucky underpants should be getting an airing soon. Think they're on display in the GAA museum.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 28/08/2011 21:22:55    1021143

Well I can only imagine the snorefest we would have been treated to if Donegal had got to the final. At least we should get a decent game of football out of it.

Dublin v Kerry is still one of the iconic fixtures in GAA, and it will definitely bring back memories of great battles in the past.

I am looking forward to it.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 29/08/2011 08:08:26    1021212

Pinkie
County: Wexford

1021212 Well I can only imagine the snorefest we would have been treated to if Donegal had got to the final. At least we should get a decent game of football out of it.

Dublin v Kerry is still one of the iconic fixtures in GAA, and it will definitely bring back memories of great battles in the past.

I am looking forward to it.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/08/2011 09:02:07    1021234

It absolutely drives some people mental that Kerry and Dublin are in the final now :)
And I love it!! Ha ha, I love it!
Kerry lads, cant wait to meet ye in a few weeks.
Mutual Respect is a great thing.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 29/08/2011 09:33:59    1021267

Well if people would prefer seeing Wigan or Hull Kingston Rovers or St. Helens in an All Ireland football then that is their perogative. I think most people think differently.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/08/2011 09:37:00    1021272

Some great memories of the Dublin V Kerry games spring to mind.

Their last meetings in finals though both went Kerry's way.

1984 Kerry 0-14 Dublin 1-6
1985 Kerry 2-12 Dublin 2-8

The hype in the last week leading up to the final will be great, the media will go into overdrive about Dublin (important, that's not Dublin's fault, big population, big sellers, more media hype) but it will be a final worth talking about. Give Gilroy credit he's got Dublin to a final which has not happened for 16 years despite some near misses.

Up for tthe match the night before the final will be great.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6557 - 29/08/2011 11:31:26    1021463

Funny, my memories are of mostly one sided affairs.

If you were a few years older you'd remember that Dublin team in its prime.
They were well capable of beating Kerry and did.

Tomás Tralee (Kerry) - Posts: 391 - 29/08/2011 11:49:43    1021495

Tomás Tralee

1021495 Funny, my memories are of mostly one sided affairs.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/08/2011 12:51:48    1021610

Fair play Tomas

6 all ireland finals in a row and won three
thats often forgotten

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 29/08/2011 12:56:05    1021617

Whilst we are in a nostalgic mood has the Archbishop been lined up to perform the ceremonial throw in?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/08/2011 13:10:25    1021645

Tomás Tralee

Funny, my memories are of mostly one sided affairs.

Beat them once in a final, Kerry won every other final they met in as far as i am aware. Correct me if i'm wrong. Not beat Kerry since 1977. Who in the name of jesus can say thats a rivalry, they can but will have to say it's very one sided though as Mayo have a better record the last 30 years as we beat them.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 29/08/2011 13:22:26    1021670

Now your just being nice to the Dubs, thats very chivalrous of you indeed but the recirds speak for themselves and you as a Kerryman should be aware of that.

During the era of that Kerry team (best Kerry team I've ever seen play by the way) Dublin won three titles, comprehensively beating Kerry along the way. I'm a little surprised a Tyroneman would not appreciate that. Remember Dwyer nearly got the road after the '77 semi-final. That Dublin team is held in high regard down here, as are the Tyrone team of the noughties. Furthermore, as Liam pointed out they reached numerous other finals, something you can't say about your own fine team, albeit ye played in a more competitive era. Just because Dublin lost a few of those finals does not take away from their achievements.

Tomás Tralee (Kerry) - Posts: 391 - 29/08/2011 13:25:02    1021678

Tomas, the likes off 51 and Brend HATE the fact that Kerry see Dublin as a worthy opponent. It kills them :)
They have no respect for tradition and genuinel rivalry. Dublin Kerry rivaly goes way back, prior to the 70's.

It being a Dublin Kerry final is killing them :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 29/08/2011 13:36:51    1021709

Nothing wrong with nostalgia folks.

Some of those memories were of a differenct Ireland entirely, not sure if it was better or worse but the memories of Big Joe McNally, Jack O'Shea, Brian Mullins, Mikey Sheehy, countless great moments from all those Dublin V Kerry clashes.

Leinster seemed to be divided up between Dublin & Offaly back then until Meath spoiled the party in 86 with their 0-9 to 0-7 win over Dublin. Come to think of it the score from the 84 Leinster final was 0-10 to 0-4...........

Kerry's bid for the 5 in a row ended in 82 with Seamus Darby's goal and then in 1983 Tadhg Murphy did the same with cork beating Kerry 3-10 to 3-9 in the Munster final. There was the 83 Cork V Dublin games where Barney Rock's last minute goal earned the Dubs a draw and they hammered cork 4-15 to 2-10 in the replay in Cork.

While some might think the football back then was a poor standard, most teams caught the ball, kicked it and battled. There was little talk of blanket defence, tactics, systems or coaching, everybody was in a recession but just got on with it and if you had a job you minded it and got up for work even if you did drink 15 pints the night before.

They were good times & football was a better game back then.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6557 - 29/08/2011 13:49:43    1021727

Liamwalkinstown
What kills me is this problem i have with Irish society in general its this pseudo historian we have in every pub club and gathering, from Irish republicanism to GAA. It's quite incredible really.

Dublin had an okay team in the 70s, gaelic football was pathetic in terms of quality, if you want to get all romantic and faux about it thats your lookout. The whole Dublin /Kerry is rotten to the core and stinks of an elitism that was about Irish society at the time. Back to the said era anyway, this golden era as they say, (tut tut) Kerry were by far the greater team, they beat Dublin in every final bar one, now is this true or is my information wrong? Dublin (i have said this so many times) have not beaten Kerry since 1977 in championship football, is this true or not?

Of course Kerry will adopt to the love in, isn't a win win win for them, aren't the old boys still making a few quid off it and sure don't they beat u in the football, ffs tonight man, wake up, they are the cuttest whoor about and a cute whoor will never admit to been a cute whoor btw, you fools.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 29/08/2011 13:53:24    1021732