All Ireland Final Tickets

Mayo v Kerry etc etc but this year cause the dubs are in the final none have come back.

Didn't know you were a ticket distribution engineer, did you ever think that people down the country might have been contacted by dublin supporters to get tickets.... also the demand for the tickets might have something to do with the 500,000 odd people that declare themselves as true blues, it was surveyed but one of your dublin papers as far as i know.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/09/2011 19:12:36    1034703

14/09/2011 16:22:38
GloryHunter

1034471 And another thing thykingdoncome...

You wouldn't be rejoicing in this nonsense of Neutrals from up and down the country descending on Croke Park to attend 2 games whose outcome they don't really care about if you hadn't got a ticket for yourself. I've been aware and happy with the ticket system for many many years and was happy with it yesterday before I knew I would have a ticket today. I'm happy to accept that the GAA was set up to promote our dance, games, music and language and count this as moe important that any success my own individual caounty may have. I'm delighted that people from all over the country will experience an All ireland final. Many of them for the first and last time. The final is not just for Kerry, tyrone, Cork, Mayo and Dublin people you knw.

I hope it's a windy day on Sunday and it blows out of your hand on Jones' Rd ;) I'll take it from the little smiley face at the end that you don't really mean that

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 14/09/2011 19:24:12    1034717

I don't for one minute think the ticket allocation is fair at all..Just consider the real fans that go to all the league and championship games, who will totally miss out on the final..Did all the neutrals that will attend Sundays game, go to see Kerry or Dublin or Tipp all year...I think not...I know it's different because it's the final, more interest etc...Yes lots of fans from these same counties are the bandwagon brigade...(same in every county).....But I am disgusted that I will miss Sundays game...and thousands like me, who were at all games this year...(I missed two in total), through no fault of my own....It's some of these people who can get tickets, then proceed to sell them on the black market...If you have all your ticket stubs from at least 80% of all the league and championship games this year...You should at least be in with a shout of getting a ticket, or some sort of fairer system....because it's pretty obvious, that the system at present is extremely unfair..

delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 14/09/2011 19:29:29    1034722

delordub:

It always has been unfair and even more since the gaa started getting in corporate sponsors.... the season ticket is the only way to go and most of the time they have had trouble with that too.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/09/2011 19:34:26    1034729

I know hag...ah i'm just mainly disappointed, but glad that I get to be disappointed, would rather miss out, then my county not be there at all, been waiting a long time for this...and I wouldn't change this situation for the world......:)

delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 14/09/2011 19:48:50    1034739

I heard some crazy figures for tickets on five seven live this evening.I have a ten year ticket which cost me 1250 and although I have just been hit with an unexpected 2 grand bill for a gas boiler I wouldnt sell my ticket.I suppose some people would say I'm stupid but I just love the atmosphere on all Ireland day regardless of what team is playing.there are some things money just can buy.

marita (None) - Posts: 469 - 14/09/2011 20:06:40    1034761

i dont get this malark about the all ireland final is more then the competing teams as its them who have deserved the right to be there,dublin have had a big support all year and alot of them bought tickets through ticketmaster for every match,i dont think its right that the gaa then turn around and dpnt let people purchase a ticket through ticketmaster for the final there should be 20 thousand tickets for sale on ticketmaster outlets in dublin and kerry and then if you realy want to make the final you will q up to get your ticket,im on the parnell park scheme and yes it is great but the fact that you have to go to dorset street to get your ticket on a tuesday only means alot of people cannot make it in to dorset street because of work on a tuesday so i dont think its a as simple as some people make it out to be .
the fact is dublin have been alocated 18 thousand tickets and our smallest attendance between league and championship matches for 2011 was 19 thousand against mayo

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/09/2011 20:18:18    1034767

Hag stay out of it yous couldn't even sell out the hurling final.it was billed as the biggest game of hurling of all time yet it didn't sell out.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/09/2011 20:35:34    1034779

Hag, you are getting awful anti Dub :-( Always enjoyed the hurling talk with you.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/09/2011 20:54:32    1034796

Hag, you are getting awful anti Dub :-( Always enjoyed the hurling talk with you.
hurlingdub , 14/09/2011 at 20:54
---------------------------------------
Ahh, he used to be decent but has got awful bitter lately!

No doubt i'll get the blame for it!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/09/2011 21:07:45    1034813

delordub

too right, thats the wya of it though, for some reason tickets become trophies with many, they couldn't give a flying ... for GAA but they'll be there. Feel sorry for the genuine fans who sat in Croker freezing their backsides off during the league being pelted by hail and having to listen to Jedward. Someone remarked on season tickts thats the way to it. Remember too people who bought through their clubs because their clubs got a percentage, all that counts for nothing.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 14/09/2011 21:37:30    1034842

Thykingdomcome... You see the Final as some sort of a "day out" for well connected Gaels.

I see it more as the pinnacle of the Inter-County supporters year, a day when all the bad days at freezing grounds watching League and O'Byrne Cup is made worthwhile by the chance to see YOUR TEAM win the biggest prize.

Nothing can convince me that the Supporters of the team in question should be the No 1 priority when distributing Final Tickets.

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 14/09/2011 21:56:36    1034866

Agree with you on that Glory Hunter. Not sure how you can get around that in these days of sponsorship at all levels. One of the reasons supporters in Kerry and Dublin who are club members or regular recipients of club tickets are struggling is that every club in both counties has to give a certain amount to sponsors and in fairness if someone is handing over thousands of Euros every year to keep a club going then they are obviously good GAA people and deserve something in return. Unfortunately that not only deprives club members of tickets but also means that if a sponsor gets four tickets there is a good chance that some of them are going to go to family and friends who do not have the same interest.

On a lighter note, I remember being at the Dublin Mayo semi final in 2006 and getting into a silly argument with a Mayo man sitting two seats away from me in Lower Canal. This was during the sillyness during the warm up. Anyway, it was getting hot and heavy when the person sitting between us told us to cop on. That was fair enough and he was right. He then went on to tell us that this was the first game he'd been at in four years and he wasn't going to get too excited about it.

Both myself and the Mayo lad then got stuck into him and told him that we knew dozens of people who would have given their right arm for a ticket. You just can't win :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/09/2011 08:43:11    1034885

That's fair enough Glory hiunter. You have your opinion. But please don't say I would change mine just because I didn't get a ticket. I was flying to Dublin, ticket or no ticket this saturday to support my team and I wouldn't begrudge any GAA fan their day out either.

We all know that the vast majority of tickets end up in the hands of the competing counties anyway. The idea that 20,000 people from noncompeting counties out of the 24,000 allocated to them will be attnding is just not true. You will get a couple of thousand fans who will make the journey (day out as you call it). The problem for Dublin fans is that really they need a 120,000 seater stadium for All ireland finals purely because of the number of dublin residents. And it's even more pointed this year due to the opposition involved and the fact that it's the first in 16 years. If you filled the stadium with 82,500 Dublin fans you'ld still probably have 20 or 30,000 saying they were desparate for aticket.

This problem has never arisen since the capacity of Croker has been increased. In the past, if you were willing to travel you would get a ticket at face value on the day.

As for your comment about my ticket blowing away in the wind. That was very nice of you and tells it's own tale but I assure you I will have it safely wrapped up in my inside pcoket until I reach the Hogan Stand turnstyle at 2:00 on Sunday.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 15/09/2011 09:46:15    1034910

thykingdomcome, tell me is the rhumor true that there will be a fair few returns from Kerry tomorrow. Heard it from a colleague I work with who has relatives down there, basically said due to the recession a lot of people who would normally travel genuinely cant afford the expense between train fares , food etc...I'll just keep houndn Croke Park on the phone just in case....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 15/09/2011 09:59:25    1034918

Mollymalone

thykingdomcome, tell me is the rhumor true that there will be a fair few returns from Kerry tomorrow. Heard it from a colleague I work with who has relatives down there, basically said due to the recession a lot of people who would normally travel genuinely cant afford the expense between train fares , food etc...I'll just keep houndn Croke Park on the phone just in case....

hahaha you must be joking Molly!!!! There are no returns, your colleague's relatives must be rugby people or something!!!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 15/09/2011 10:14:36    1034923

another hope dashed!!!!!

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 15/09/2011 10:21:32    1034926

folks the problem is that ticket prices are far too cheap. an all ireland ticket should start at 200 for a hill and rise upwards- that would take all the neutrals out of the equation.

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 15/09/2011 10:30:03    1034934

hill16no1man

THE DUBS HAVE ONLY 5K REAL FANS
guess your maths aint your strong point,how many were at dublins league matches an average of 30 thousand and 42k,59k,45k,52k,81k were at the 5 championship matches to date. love proving this chap wrong

Hill16no1man

I don't really want to defend that infantile ballboy but don't forget that up to half of the people at each match will have been from the other team.

I hope all the Dubs who regularly post on HS get sorted. But as I said above its is a big issue that people who regularly go to watch Inter-county GAA are not members of their local club and are therefore not members of the GAA and thus end up missing out on the big day. The lesson for all is: this Dublin Team will be around for a couple of years now. So anyone who is not a member should get down and join their local club in the New Year (make it an early New Years Resolution).

Good Luck

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 15/09/2011 10:31:17    1034935

Mollymalone

another hope dashed!!!!!

Molly, visit the official Kerry GAA website, there are deals being done there.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 15/09/2011 10:38:01    1034940