All Ireland Final Tickets

Down and out
County: Down

The All Ireland is for Everyone, not just the competing counties. Its not just this year were neutrals go along to see the match. The fact that its Dublin doesn't matter, people will always want to go and see the final regardless of who is playing. Dubs supporters thinking that everyone wants to go to see them need to cop on. The struggle to get tickets is as old as the hills, every county has to go though it when they get to a final.

where were all these people all year when there own countys were playing they wouldnt go,so why should they be given the oppurtunity to go watch the final when there team aint involved

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/09/2011 16:05:46    1034440

I have already witnessed kerry beat us twice this year and seen dublin as well. want to see the Tipp Minors as well as it looks to be a great team.
I might even go away after the minor final just to annoy the dublin fans :) (just kidding)

declan30 (Limerick) - Posts: 652 - 14/09/2011 16:07:23    1034442

The hurling final is different in that there is unfortunately less people interested in hurling and it was also the third year in row for kilkenny and Tipp. Clubs in Kilkenny sending back tickets tells its own story. Generally the Football is harder to get tickets for than the Hurling. The football is even harder to get tickets for this year because the Dubs have the biggest population, its simple supply and demand. Its definetly not a case of neutrals wanting to go to see Dublin, it neutrals wanting to go for the day out or because they always go and make a weekend out of it.

Down and out (Down) - Posts: 65 - 14/09/2011 16:09:01    1034443

liathroidboy
---------

well said, alas its wasted on the posters here, die hard fans and could get to parnell park with a map- give it a rest folks. the dubs have less than 5k real fans- the season ticket holders the rest are just people who want to watch a game but are no more important that some lad down the country who has never seen a game in his or her life. people would seriously want to get off their high horse, there are loads of tickets on ebay, oh that right these bandwagon supporters dont want to pay the price of the tickets either- you couldnt make this stuff up!!

THE DUBS HAVE ONLY 5K REAL FANS
guess your maths aint your strong point,how many were at dublins league matches an average of 30 thousand and 42k,59k,45k,52k,81k were at the 5 championship matches to date. love proving this chap wrong

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/09/2011 16:11:31    1034448

The only question I ask,why do we never see the neutrals on tv.there is always the magnificent colours of teams involved flags jerseys etc.yet the neutrals never stand out

dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 14/09/2011 16:17:25    1034461

And another thing thykingdoncome...

You wouldn't be rejoicing in this nonsense of Neutrals from up and down the country descending on Croke Park to attend 2 games whose outcome they don't really care about if you hadn't got a ticket for yourself.

I hope it's a windy day on Sunday and it blows out of your hand on Jones' Rd ;)

And as for this "only a Season Ticket makes you a proper supporter" nonsense... give it a rest lads, we all know that's pure BS.

Only 2,000 Season Tickets max available for all counties and we all know that there are many more then 2,000 who have attended all Dublin Games throughout the League & Championship...

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 14/09/2011 16:22:38    1034471

Maybe you should adopt "lord lucan" (not saying you done the same but you've forever tarnished one of our culchies)..... you wouldn't be anyway like paddy sarsfield (the earl forgive me getting his title wrong) now he was a hero and probably didn't feel the need to sign off his correspondance stating so!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/09/2011 16:22:54    1034472

Down and out
County: Down

The hurling final is different in that there is unfortunately less people interested in hurling and it was also the third year in row for kilkenny and Tipp. Clubs in Kilkenny sending back tickets tells its own story. Generally the Football is harder to get tickets for than the Hurling. The football is even harder to get tickets for this year because the Dubs have the biggest population, its simple supply and demand. Its definetly not a case of neutrals wanting to go to see Dublin, it neutrals wanting to go for the day out or because they always go and make a weekend out of it.

Worst reason ever to take a ticket off a real supporter.

If you want a "day out" then go on the Viking Splash tour or to the Zoo.

Leave the ticket for a supporter of the team who is actually playing.

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 14/09/2011 16:33:42    1034488

I rarely post on here.

I've just got my ticket thank Jaysus!!!!!!!.

On the discussion though, of course GAA workers and "time dedicators" from "neutral" counties deffo deserve a final ticket. However the distribution system is surely flawed. If all tickets that go to "neutral counties" go to dedicated GAA people how come so many make their back to people from the competing counties? The truth is that a lot of these people pass them on to others through friends, business links etc ensuring that non deserving supporters get them before people who have attended many games.

My argument is that the balance is wrong. The fairest way is to increase the proportion to competing counties. That way, through distribution through the county board deserving GAA people and supporters get more of the tickets.

The Season Ticket is great but is limited in number, therefore everyone who wants one cant get one.

Yes All-Ireland Senior Final days (H&F) are the culmination of the GAA year and good GAA people should be involved, but surely the majority of the crowd should be from the participating counties. This view is controversial, but counties with bigger support should get more tickets - talk about repaying people for their work over the year - its the paying supporters who pay the bills, like it or not!!. These should not be turned away come the final!!

Podge8395 (Dublin) - Posts: 38 - 14/09/2011 16:37:39    1034494

Good points well made there Podge.

There would be a situation in many clubs around the Country where Clubs would recieve the couple of tickets and say "sure, we might aswell use them"

I wouldn't think many of the Clubs would be too bothered if they didn't recieve any tickets.

Volunteers don't volunteer for the sake of getting a ticket for the Final, they do so for the good of their Club and because they enjoy being involved.

To say that they deserve recognition for their efforts is true but surely not at the expense of people who desperately want to be there to see their own county compete in the Final.

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 14/09/2011 16:49:47    1034511

Re hill16man
How do you know these people didnt attend their own counties games? These people should be given a chance to go because they are GAA members and Sunday is the biggest day on the GAA calendar.

Re Glory Hunter
Your name really says it all. Ive said it in a previous post, these people are real supporters. Real GAA members who have paid their membership and given up their own time on a voluntary basis to help the association. If these people want to go to the match and make a day or a weekend out of it then so be it. Anyway the viking splash tour can be done on Saturday. The Guiness tour is better though.

Down and out (Down) - Posts: 65 - 14/09/2011 16:49:53    1034512

"you wouldn't be anyway like paddy sarsfield"
------------------------------------------------------
Outsiders will refer to the Earl by his title!!

Of course I am like Paddy Sarsfield. He helped a city under seige just like I help the Dublin posters on HS message board which is under seige from the likes of you and Breff!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/09/2011 16:53:05    1034518

I'm not slagging of Dublin Snuff, I'm slagging off you. So you do still live with your mammy then I take it? that has to be the only reason why you are making this stuff up.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12311 - 14/09/2011 17:00:37    1034530

Down and Out:

I said it above, Volunteers give up their time for the good of their own club... they don't do so to get a ticket to a game involving County Teams that have nothing to do with them and whom they have no vested interest in.

What have these neutrals attending on Sunday ever done for Kerry, Tipp or Dublin GAA?

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 14/09/2011 17:02:29    1034534

oh i love it, people saying bcause where they are born or who is playing they are more entitled to a tickets than anyone else. there is not one reason in the world why i didnt deserve my 8 tickets over someone from kerry, dublin or anywhere else- look folks we will be laughing at the same fools agains this time next year when a few fans get ahead of themselves and start thinking they are entitled to someonething or that they have more of a right over anyone else.

Ive said it for years, the safest method of distribution for all ireland tickets would be through ebay- noone could deny that, and anyone who even questioned that well they are just looking for something for nothing yet again!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 14/09/2011 17:06:55    1034543

Ive said it before, Sunday is not about Kerry, Dublin or Tipp. Its the biggest game in the GAA calendar, something to be enjoyed by everyone.

Down and out (Down) - Posts: 65 - 14/09/2011 17:08:46    1034546

Also Down and Out... It's not just non-members who happen to be dedicated supporters (Time & Money) of County teams that are missing out... GAA members, particularly in Dublin, are missing out on the Final because of this ridicilous distribution system.

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 14/09/2011 17:09:44    1034550

The All-Ireland Final day is bigger than Kerry, Dublin and Tipperary.

I think its right that neutral counties get an allocation of tickets.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 14/09/2011 17:15:29    1034559

It's a fact the neutrals all want to see the dubs. Tickets usually go down the country but most come back cause they have no interest in watching cork v down or Mayo v Kerry etc etc but this year cause the dubs are in the final none have come back. You slag us off yet you all want to be ay the final to see us.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/09/2011 17:44:35    1034598

The same discussion took place in Down last year and probably takes place in at least one county every year but to be honest the answer is the same every year. It is disappointing if you've been going to all the inter-county games and don't get a ticket for the final but without being as smug as some on here people who don't get a ticket really do only have themselves to blame.

Firstly there are several schemes such as the Parnell Park and Season tickets which will guarantee fans a final ticket. But more importantly every local GAA club will receive an allocation of tickets proportionate to their paid up membership. Most clubs distribute these on the Thursday before the final and virtually every member will end up a ticket (I know it's not ideal if you want to bring kids / sit with partner etc but most Clubs are quite accommodating).

The people who are most likely to miss out are the growing number of GAA fans who attend inter-county matches but are not a member of their local GAA club (most notable in Dublin but true of most counties). Inter-county success in great for any county but the primary unit of the GAA is the local club. The health of local clubs is a better barometer of the health of the organisation than inter-county match attendance.

In my opinion, any county that gets to an AI Final and doesn't use it to strengthen its clubs is wasting an opportunity. Hopefully every Dublin club will run a recruitment campaign in the New Year to get as many new members as possible. Of course a proportion of the new members will simply pay their €20 in the hope of getting a ticket next year but a proportion will also become active in the clubs and provide the boost of energy that many are badly in need of.

On the bright side we should celebrate the fact that on Sunday 1.33 per cent of the population of Ireland will actually be at the final and circa 70% will watch it on TV. Bearing in mind that a significant proportion of the tickets distributed to other counties will make their way to the participating counties I'd estimate that there will be at least 35,000 (3% ) Dubs and 20,000 (14%) Kerry people at the match. I don't know what the break down for other counties will be but I'll be there from Down.

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 14/09/2011 19:02:36    1034688