All Ireland Final Tickets

Anyone know the routes to obtain these?

I know clubs and participating county boards will get a big share. Do any go on ticketmaster, etc ??

Yours In Sport,
Joseff

joseff (Louth) - Posts: 964 - 28/08/2011 18:48:22    1020883

Participating counties will get a good lot of the allocation but a lot of them go to corporate sponsors etc;
AFAIK tickets are then distributed to clubs all around the county.
Don't think they go on Ticketmaster or any of those..

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 28/08/2011 19:13:03    1020911

Dubs will get and extra as their minors won. 6000 I think. Should make the search a small bit easier but not by much.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 28/08/2011 19:46:31    1020960

if ya dont have one on the day and u have a hundred quid u will have no bother getting one. unless your blind

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 530 - 28/08/2011 19:58:31    1020995

sure the dubs will have enough tickets to cover the 30,000 supporters who turned up for the tyrone game....sure ye were all there weren't ye???...ooopssorry was man utd playing that evening in the pub?

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 28/08/2011 20:01:56    1020998

Your club will get 2.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 29/08/2011 08:09:54    1021213

Mayotyroneman
Oh I was there that night alright and it was a sweet sweet win. Your posts are beginning to resemble 51s at this stage. Zzzzzzzzzzzz!!! Up the Dubs!!:)))))

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/08/2011 09:05:42    1021236

Well its at this point that the 'bandwagon' really starts to hit the dedicated supporter. I've had an order of 3 Hill tickets with my club for the last 15 years. I fill it for hurling/football etc - even if one of my regular crew can't make it, I'll take the 3 tickets and spend a saturday making calls to get a taker for the 3rd. Have often been left with it in my pocket going into the ground over the years for the early round/league games but thats what I do to make sure when the sell out games come I'm down on the books as having always taken 3.

Doubt I'll get 3 for the final though. Some friend of the club chairman will want one for his son etc who hasnt been to a game all year. Everyone will the club will scramble for tickets and I'll get hit. "we can't give you 3, no one is getting 3, we didnt get as many as we thought we would etc etc etc"

Very frustrating but there you go, thats life - thats club politics.

DNS16 (Dublin) - Posts: 53 - 29/08/2011 09:39:45    1021275

Thank God for the Parnell Park pass...

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 29/08/2011 10:02:32    1021302

yahoo bubba my words exactly finally it comes in good for all ireland final haha will have to be in the q early that morning as it will be half way around drumcondra

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/08/2011 11:08:10    1021420

Well i'm going but i don't know who i what to see win or lose

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 29/08/2011 21:58:26    1022439

the best way to get a ticket for 2012/13 is
1. take an underage team
2. take up the whistle and be a referee
3. volunteer around your club
4. become chairman/ secretary/treasurer

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 29/08/2011 22:00:44    1022446

Unfortunately being a club member is not sufficient. Even within clubs, younger or 'less important' members who have been going all year will be passed over for old boys who are in with the executive or worse all sorts of chancers who know someone. It depends on the club. Many are honest and open but I've seen in the past, lads who no-one knew turning up when the tickets were being given out in the club and being handed envelopes. A woman I know who brings her son to most hurling and football matches can't even get one for the hurling this weekend even though her son is a juvenile player but he doesn't even come onto the radar at this stage. Even since yesterday I've had people ask me to get them a ticket for the football (be lucky to get one myself to be honest!) because they "would like to go"!! Would rather eat the ticket than give it to someone like that.

And it's not just a Dublin thing. I know a lad in Kilkenny who couldn't get tickets last year for his girls (one of them a county under age minor). He ended up sitting in a row with six people from a local business family who he had never seen at a club match or a Kilkenny match. Such is life unfortunately.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 30/08/2011 08:25:30    1022455

cuchulainn, In theory thats true. I manage (underage and adult) and play for teams in my club, i have served on numerous committees over the years. I have supported all fundraising events etc etc.
The situation in Dublin (as is the case in every county) is that we have amassed quite a big bandwagon and its people like me who will miss out on tickets. It means very little what work you do its the same bar stool brigade and fence sitters who will get the tickets.

captaincaveman (Dublin) - Posts: 18 - 30/08/2011 08:30:54    1022460

I've been to all Dublin Championship matches and most of home league games. Doesn't look like I will get a ticket though. I should have applied for a season ticket earlier in the year. Never bothered applying through the local club who are over subscribed anyway. Next year though …

Drummerboy2 (Dublin) - Posts: 36 - 30/08/2011 09:29:42    1022498

mayotyroneman, yeah it's only Dublin fans whose attendance's increase as the championship goes on....

And there was more than 30k of us at the Tyrone game.

Padraig_Dub (Dublin) - Posts: 100 - 30/08/2011 09:58:01    1022520

captaincaveman,

i do feel for you, i come a small club, in fact most clubs in the north are small, theefore any real contribution is recognised and rewarded with ticket allocation,

to the previous post about the kilkenny person who couldn't get a ticket, just doesn't add up, kilkenny is a small county and has a much smaller gaa membership than a lot of weak counties and therefore any real involvement with a club should be rewarded,

i fully understand the problem in dublin with some very large gaa clubs of in excesss of 2,000 members - with maybe an allocation of 200-300 per club of that size, the problem with dublin which is magified by its population, is the massive media attention which results is the bandwagon supporter,

the only plus side is that at 80 euro a ticket , there will be many in non-competing counties, here and abroad who will be put off due to the economic down -turn,

last year down had a smaller gaa membership than the early '90's ( understandable) - but nearly all club members were sorted and others obtained tickets in england, dubai, australia etc

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 30/08/2011 10:11:21    1022536

I would like to publicly ask anybody who can help to please PLEASE look out for a ticket (ideally 2) for me for the football final please. My club will get two and I won't get one. I'm an honest to goodness supporter of both codes home and away and like many others have spent a small fortune this year. I'd be devo if I don't get a ticket. Although I know the chances are slim. Still, have to keep positive right.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2011 10:22:04    1022551

jackeen,

obviously you are not with a dublin club

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 30/08/2011 10:29:38    1022566

Jackeen

I would like to publicly ask anybody who can help to please PLEASE look out for a ticket (ideally 2) for me for the football final please. My club will get two and I won't get one. I'm an honest to goodness supporter of both codes home and away and like many others have spent a small fortune this year. I'd be devo if I don't get a ticket. Although I know the chances are slim. Still, have to keep positive right.

Enter every competition, contact any friends or relatives in other counties, or people working in the large companies in Dublin...there will be tickets floating around outside Croker last minute before the throw-in......and the Kilmacud 7s is a great place to pick up tickets.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 30/08/2011 10:31:17    1022573