Diarmuid Connollys red card overturned

diablodeKingdom

1024011 Omaghredhand,

Its true, since 1986 we haven't been able to beat your lot. But then again, we haven't been able to beat Dublin since 2009, and we haven't been able to beat Offaly since 2002. In fact, there are 4 teams we have never managed to beat in the championship - Westmeath, Donegal, Kilkenny and New York.

"you haven't beaten our boys since 1986" - change the record man. Besides, truth be told quite a lot of counties, like Wexford in the 1910's, Cavan in the 40s and Offaly in the '80's have emerged and had a 'hoodoo' over Kerry. Look at Down for God's sake. Our real rivals are Cork and Dublin as they've managed to sustain it for more than a couple of years - often managing to be competitive 2 years in a row.

Some of you Kerry boys aren't that smart are ya? My response was directly to that new clown that has taken to the boards recently claiming that I was patronising somebody for wishing them well. Given that Kerry on occasion have been quite patronising themselves I find that rather amusing. If you can't see that my riposte was solely to the new kid then there is not much point continuing with you

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 01/09/2011 12:30:11    1024620

---

Well said Omaghredhand,

Thank God you weren't patronising in that latest "riposte" of yours. At least you managed to avoid taking either the original post from mlcollins or my response to your rant "at the new kid" personally. Us thick Kerry boys could learn a lot from your undoubted superior intellect. Consider me suitably humbled!!

However, you'll also see that my post had nothing whatsoever to do with any condescending comments you made to mlcollins. I was commenting on you assertion that Kerry haven't beaten your boys since 1986, something that is factually correct, with regard to the Championship at least. I continued by drawing parallels between your boys and other counties that have, over time, produced very good teams that have had success over short periods. I then closed my post by asserting yet another fact - that Dublin and Cork have continuously produced better teams than most.

Anyway, you do what you gotta do. Thankfully, you have all of September in which to do it.

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 01/09/2011 13:24:02    1024673

diablodeKingdom

1024673 ---

Well said Omaghredhand,

Thank God you weren't patronising in that latest "riposte" of yours. At least you managed to avoid taking either the original post from mlcollins or my response to your rant "at the new kid" personally. Us thick Kerry boys could learn a lot from your undoubted superior intellect. Consider me suitably humbled!! Glad to hear it

However, you'll also see that my post had nothing whatsoever to do with any condescending comments you made to mlcollins. I was commenting on you assertion that Kerry haven't beaten your boys since 1986, something that is factually correct, with regard to the Championship at least. I continued by drawing parallels between your boys and other counties that have, over time, produced very good teams that have had success over short periods. I then closed my post by asserting yet another fact - that Dublin and Cork have continuously produced better teams than most. Jesus it's like schooling a wain. This point was meant to antagonise him 9no-one else). It's not a small wonder that Dublin and Cork have continiously produced decents teams given the size of them

Anyway, you do what you gotta do. Thankfully, you have all of September in which to do it. I have the whole of Spetember, October, November etc to do what I need to, although a wonderful attempt at a bit of humour

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 01/09/2011 13:36:13    1024686

as a donegal man, i would hate to see Diarmuid Connolly miss the final because of this red card. It shouldnt have been a red and hopefully the ccc will show some cop on (for a change)
It would be a shame to see him miss it as he played a huge part in the win over Tyrone in getting Dublin this far

donegal4sam (Donegal) - Posts: 20 - 01/09/2011 13:38:26    1024687

appleboy
County: Armagh

1024570 hope connellys red card stands , he walked and a few others were losing their composure . PRESSURE does that to an overhyped team . kerry is the kingdom .

Have you ever heard of punctuation? Go back to hedge school. By the way his name is Connolly. Good to see the nordies supporting southern football. Looking at that Donegal display, I wouldn't blame them!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 01/09/2011 13:46:48    1024699

omaghredhand i hope its safe to say you will be 100% behind the dubs come all ireland final day (not only for your sky rocket haha)

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2011 15:35:52    1024813

I thought the red card on Connolly last Sunday was harsh. It reminded me of Marc O Se's red card during the league which was also reactive. However if he does get off, then it further highlights the inconsistency of the CCCC. Having said that on a personal level, you would hate to see a dedicated player lose out on a final. 2 years ago, the ref refused to re-look at Miskella's strike on a Tyrone player in the semi-final. Miskella's strike was a way more serious than Connolly's reactive handbag stuff but because of the ruling then, the ref's refusal to look at the incident again after play, thereby allowing him to get away with it and play

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 01/09/2011 16:05:18    1024857

The red was dished out due to the unmanly actions of a donegal man!!!.....for shame!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 01/09/2011 19:46:07    1025087

Ah Snuf, youre a man after my own heart, love to see ye on here....youre sooo right......

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 01/09/2011 19:54:13    1025090

Snufalufagus

The red was dished out due to the unmanly actions of a donegal man!!!.....for shame!!

Of course because a Dublin player would never doing anything wrong

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 01/09/2011 20:08:07    1025103

omaghredhand: How old are you?, seriously!!. Have you actually thought out what you are going to post. In fairness to diablode and im not attempting to patronise diablode or "jump" to his "defence" as his posts are so well formulated and factual they can stand on their own. STATEMENT OF FACT.His response was to your needless denigrating and infantile statement re: kerry not beating tyrone since 86. persecutory complex comes to mind. That tyrone paranoia and sub conscious inferiority complex is disturbing.STATEMENT OF FACT.What juvenile comments did you use in your previous posts again, oh yes BS. Charming and so elequantly articulated,the recourse of a school yard bully and a neandertal.Please humour me for a while, as we already know you have enjoyed our previous attempts at humour!!! .Visit Wikipedia and please look up "nouveau riche", this if you ever had the pleasure to peruse KEYS TO THE KINGDOM was jacks description of yere lot.If ever a defination articulated the microcosim of a people, this was surely it By the way when you do seek out wikipedia please pay special attention to paragraph one with emphasis on the last two lines . Remember class is permanent,something which you and yours ostensibly lack. END OF STORY.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 02/09/2011 10:38:52    1025317

Kieth Barr hits the nail on the head!

'However, a line was crossed by Donegal (not the 20-metre line too often, unfortunately) during the Diarmuid Connolly incident -- and if a Dublin player had dived in an attempt to deny a man a place in an All-Ireland final, I'd call it. The failure of a number of high-profile former Donegal players to highlight the dive since has disappointed me greatly.

And we can do without the 'soccer' analysis that some commentators are applying to the incident, claiming Connolly "raised his hands, therefore deserved to go". Had Marty Boyle not grabbed his face and hit the deck, Connolly stays on the field. End of story.

Thankfully we have a system that can review the justice of a decision like this, just as it did with Michael Murphy earlier in the summer, and hopefully a strong message will be sent in due course that feigning injury doesn't work in Gaelic games. Left unchecked in soccer, diving is now constant and is crucifying the' image of the game

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 02/09/2011 11:21:04    1025349

and if a Dublin player had dived in an attempt to deny a man a place in an All-Ireland final,

I don't think Marty was thinking that far ahead. because at that stage none of the dublin players were going to be playing in an all-ireland final. at that stage Donegal were the most likely winners. so whatever you accuse boyle of doing he certainly wasn't deliberately trying to get connolly banned from the final. Wise up keith Barr.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 02/09/2011 12:03:02    1025378

Keith Barr is dead right. All these soccerisms should not be allowed to creep into the game: diving and feigning injury...and some posters on this thread are no better spouting out FIFA rhetoric: "he raised his hands" etc etc.. So for everything that is good and unique to gaelic football Connolly must be available to play in the final - there's more at stake here!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 02/09/2011 12:24:24    1025399

Totally agree floops.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/09/2011 12:41:22    1025415

Theres an awful lot of repugnant self-praise and subjective thinking going on from the Dubs here, now I expect that from Snuf but I'm a bit disappointed the rest have followed him. Anyway I've said here before that I think the straight red was harsh and that I think Connolly should get off but I hope theres no double standards going on here either. Just curious (and I ask this without insinuation) what do the Dublin fans think of Brian Farrell's straight red card and upheld suspension earlier in the year for an equally harmless incident?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/09/2011 13:13:57    1025454

Omagh, Kerry have won 6 all irelands since 86 and recieved over 50 all stars. They are not the called the aristocrats for nothing. People amaze me arguing with kerry, that they are better because this that and the other. Success is measured in all irelands and kerry are miles ahead of us all.

JohnMitchel (Dublin) - Posts: 178 - 02/09/2011 13:25:59    1025464

ah now lads connolly didnt deserve to go. If it was a donegal player who had been sent off for the same thing would the same people still be saying that he deserved to go? Murphy raised his hands against cavan but he got his red card overturned.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 02/09/2011 13:41:00    1025476

JohnMitchel

1025464 Omagh, Kerry have won 6 all irelands since 86 and recieved over 50 all stars. They are not the called the aristocrats for nothing. People amaze me arguing with kerry, that they are better because this that and the other. Success is measured in all irelands and kerry are miles ahead of us all.

Nobody arguing with them regards there footballing ability. I wished a Dublin supporters well and have since been accused of being patronising, stupid, a neandrathal etc. The fact that I believe that Kerry can be the most patronising of all is what makes their points so humourous. Again, let us be clear, no one is arguing about how successful or otherwise Kerry are.

MCollins, Hopefully I will get time this evening to reply to your little rant

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 02/09/2011 14:02:55    1025501

If Connolly gets off it's a joke.
He threw at least two closed fists at the Donegal lad.
Open and shut case.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 02/09/2011 14:41:35    1025548