Soccer is still Main Competitor to GAA

Louth Gael i wish that were true but I just don't believe it to be the case. And hopping on the odd sell out in Croke Park doesn't blast other sports out of the water either as some posters like to think. It's comical that they accuse others of being without facts when they argue with none themselves

I s'pse the only way to settle this argument is to ask the GAA, IRFU & FAI what their comparative revenues are for the last year. Anyone fancy a bit of research? Anyone, anyone?

Thought not.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 25/08/2011 12:18:46    1018707

gigoer i already stated this and in plain simple here it is for you

largest attendances= gaa
largest club members= gaa
largest tv viewings= gaa

so how do the other sports rate ahead of gaa ?

that last comment you said about revenues is a stupid comment seriously think about it
the gaa ticket prices are far less then say rugby who were charging 150 euro to see two games
or soccer who charge 60-70 euro for friendlies.
you can get into all of your teams matches between league and championship for the price of 2 rugby matches

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 12:28:52    1018720

I remain unconvinced and your word or insistence of fact without basis means nothing to me. Stop trying.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 25/08/2011 12:31:53    1018724

ah just let everyone watch / play whatever they want - and up the Dubs!!

jos33 (Dublin) - Posts: 243 - 25/08/2011 12:41:08    1018735

Last September's All-Ireland hurling final between Tipperary and Kilkenny attracted 979,000 viewers and was watched by more people than any other RTÉ programme apart from The Late Late Toy Show in December.

Number two in the sports list was the All-Ireland football final (770,000) between Cork and Down, a slightly unusual pecking order in that, according to RTÉ, football finals would draw bigger audiences seven years out of 10.

Third is the World Cup final (762,000), between Spain and the Netherlands in July, and one place behind, the Cork-Dublin All-Ireland semi-final in August (629,000).

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 12:44:38    1018741

If there was ever any question as to the huge appeal of the Dublin footballers, then the viewing figures from last weekend's National League finals on TG4 should dispel any lingering doubts. Last Sunday's live coverage of the Allianz Football League Finals on the Irish medium channel achieved the highest audience ratings so far this year for the channel, and fell just short of their highest ever figures. The official television audience measure from Nielsen show that an average of 307,000 viewers tuned in as Cork overtook the Boys in Blue with their late rally, that figure just 2,000 short of the channel's highest ever audience which was for the 2007 Allianz Hurling League Division One decider. Those high figures mean that one in three people watching TV in Ireland on Easter Sunday afternoon were watching the Football League final, making TG4 by far the most-viewed channel in the country for that time, with a three times higher share than any other channel. Add in the fact that Nielsen systems only measure domestic viewings and do not include those watching in commercial premises such as pubs and clubs, and the figures are all the more impressive as an exciting National League programme reached its climax

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 12:47:28    1018745

I was at the connacht rugby ground recently and saw some of the team.Those guys are huge.Theyre built like wrestlers.Im talking well over 6 ft tall with arms three times the size of mine and im not a particularly small man (5 ft 11,14 stone)Their physicality is beyond the capabilities of alot people.Good marketing or not this would be a turnoff for alot of kids who know deep down that (barring 10 years in the gym) they wont be able to compete with the likes of these guys in such a physical game.Now alot of gaa players are powerfully built admittedly,but these rugby lads are on a whole different planet. Even when i was in school, the only kids who wanted to play rugby were the bigger ones.

9801 (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 25/08/2011 12:48:59    1018750

TG4 HAS REVEALED that it set an all-time audience record for Sunday's National Hurling League final between Dublin and Kilkenny.

The official Nielsen television audience for Sunday's clash at Croke Park saw the audience peak at 430,000 viewers at around full-time, when Dublin confirmed a mammoth 12-point victory to take their first national hurling title since 1939.

At least 310,000 viewers watched the full match on the broadcaster according to Nielsen's statistics; in a statement, TG4 pointed out that the Nielsen ratings only included domestic dwellings and so did not take into account the numbers watching its broadcast from a pub or club.

At least one in three people watching TV in Ireland on Sunday watched the broadcast, giving the station a share four times higher for any other station and an overall reach of 620,000.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 13:11:29    1018783

maybe for the minds of the young, but soccer is very badly organised both sides of the border, rugby is making in-roads in both south down and south armagh

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 25/08/2011 14:15:57    1018859

I wouldn't worry about GAA in the least, theres a 'village' near me with more cattle than people in it and they have a gaa club, nearly every town in Ireland has one so whats the problem?

Obviously more people support football than GAA or Rugby especially in larger towns and cities because its an easier game to play, I mean you can use your top for goal posts for jaysus sake, try doing that for GAA and see how you do!!

Basically though everything will be grand, don't worry about stuff.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/08/2011 14:44:44    1018907

Put it this way nobody goes to see domestic soccer or rugby matches.

Irish Rugby etc. also has the fact that it is representing the whole country. The AI final is still the most watched. Imagine if the AI final involved every county in Ireland, if you know what I mean...

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 25/08/2011 15:20:42    1018947

Hokey I would wager domestic soccer draws bigger crowds than domestic GAA if we are comparing club GAA to LOI soccer

but then thats not really comparing like with like or is it?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 25/08/2011 15:32:16    1018957

liamwalkingstown this is how i would compare like for like

soccer gaa
irish soccer team = irish gaa team
league of ireland clubs = county teams
amature leagues = club teams

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 15:55:41    1018984

ochonlir,

Im not a hurler on the ditch, im a hurler on the pitch!!

Simple fact im making is: Why fight other sports for control of the kids??

Personally, all through my life there was nothing to beat picking up my hurl and tipping around at home against the wall or with the club. Nothing would bore me to tears more as a kid than dribbling a ball on the ground or throwing an oval shaped ball to a lad behind me!
Likewise, other kids couldnt think of anything worse than trying to hit a ball with a piece of wood!!!!

Get over it! Kids will naturally go to what they themselves enjoy the most!
Some kids like LEGO, some kids like a science kit!!!.......deal with it!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/08/2011 16:54:49    1019051

Louth Gael
County: Louth

32_4_1, Liamwalkinstown, gigoer. Lads where are ye living. Gaelic football is still the most played and most watched sport in Ireland. Being from Louth and i often here people calling us a soccer county but this is nonsense, just compare the number of club and the numbers attending games. As for rugby, one of ye said it was massive in Louth, it's practically none existent here. I think you lads are believing the hype to much and ignoring the facts.

well said louth has 3 rugby clubs and one is a micky mouse club that apart from people around the louth area have never heard of. how many soccer and football clubs are in the dundalk and droghrda area yet there is only 2 rugby clubs between the two of them

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 25/08/2011 18:30:31    1019129

Gaelic Football is not the most played sport in this country, soccer is. And it isn't close...like not even slightly.

Turenne (Cork) - Posts: 28 - 25/08/2011 21:04:29    1019262

Turenne
But most here are talking about GAA sports here is a report from esri On a thread elsewhere):
http://www.esri.ie/UserFiles/publications/20091216163532/BKMNEXT155.pdf

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4957 - 25/08/2011 21:24:07    1019269

wouldnt it be great to be able to follow your county team all year in a home and away basis like the premiership with maybe 2 or 3 divisions with play offs and promotion. Get to travel the country supporting your team and have televised games everyweekend to promote it also. After september there is a long break and this is where s.occer has an advantage. Though soccer is getting so over hyped and boring with ridiculious play acting (premiership) probably dont have to worry. Young kids seeing their county play all year would be more familiar with the names of the players rather than a couple of championship matches to get to know their names. most can tell you who plays for united or liverpool or chelsea but not their inter county team bar maybe one or two players. This is something i would love to see change.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 25/08/2011 21:36:56    1019285

25/08/2011 21:04:29
Turenne

1019262 Gaelic Football is not the most played sport in this country, soccer is. And it isn't close...like not even slightly.

That depends on how you classify someone as playing soccer, sometimes in surveys taken of people who participate in all the major sports they include in soccers totals the lads who go for a kick around every friday after work etc, they dont seem to do that for any other sport
On people who play for clubs etc gaelic football is well out in front for the next few years at least

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/08/2011 21:37:08    1019287

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

Actually your right about the soccer stats, the esri report mentions the soccer breakdown and it contains 5-a-side soccer and other casul informal leagues/competitions. The biggest GAA growth areas are in ladies football and camogie.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4957 - 26/08/2011 09:03:20    1019321