DUP call for an end to GAA fundraising !

From the BBC NI CEEFAX today 23/08/11:

'DUP MLA for South Down Jim Wells has called for a halt to GAA clubs raising funds by packing shoppers bags in South Down supermarkets. Mr Wells said the GAA was a wealthy body which deprived "genuine charities" of collection slots in stores. However the GAA Ulster Council said clubs and counties were responsible for their own fund-raising. "It's a matter for individual clubs and counties. We do not get involved as a provincial body," a spokesman said.

This was discussed on today's BBC Radio Ulster's TALKBACK programme and quite a few replies and comments came in. Surprisingly a few Unionist individuals from the South Down area criticised Jim Wells and spoke very favourably of the GAA in that area and it's great efforts with cross community projects. It comes as no surprise however that the DUP is still very much driven by anti-Catholic, anti-Irish and anti-GAA bigotry. Thoughts?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 23/08/2011 16:42:50    1017410

"DUP MLA for South Down Jim Wells"

I might as well stopped reading after that Ulsterman, In my opinion Jim is as big a bigot as you are ever likely to meet

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 23/08/2011 16:57:30    1017434

Does anyone know if Ian McCrea got a ticket for the match on Sunday.....being the big Donegal supporter that he is...??

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 17:01:25    1017440

He was called that Enola on the programme by most callers, a few of them Unionist too!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 23/08/2011 17:01:44    1017441

Just curious Ulsterman, some funding for the GAA is available through the national sports council of Ireland via Croke park, who then distribute funds to various counties. Most funding at club level is done at local level by fund raising events such as bag packing, lotteries, event nights etc. I would imagine that the ulster counties can apply to Croke park under the sports council scheme or does it have to be done through the UK sports body?

Anyway this guy seems to be a relic of times past thank God, great to hear there were Unionist community members condemning his backward and unhelpful comments. I have posted before that the GAA may have its shortcomings but their representatives in the North are doing exemplirary work in breaching divides by making our games inclusive and not biggoted and pro-sectarian. It makes you wonder do guys like this long for the return of the troubles to fuel their biggoted beliefs!

Kenjg80 (Dublin) - Posts: 228 - 23/08/2011 17:05:09    1017445

Lifford Gael

Does anyone know if Ian McCrea got a ticket for the match on Sunday.....being the big Donegal supporter that he is...??

I called up the other night with the 1st prize of two premium level seats he wasn't in but I left a note saying that these tickets were Hot!! still haven't heard anything yet................

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 23/08/2011 17:10:10    1017455

Lol...fortyfive...!!!

Wouldn't want to see him missing out on the big day.....:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 17:13:15    1017459

Yawn! zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!!

glenhead (UK) - Posts: 117 - 23/08/2011 17:16:17    1017465

At least you are honest glen, we had that same problem and attitude from many so called fellow Irish Nationalists in 1969; INDIFFERENCE! Nothing changes, Northern Catholics are just an irritant to the rest of the island, they bring all their problems on themselves. Imagine wanting civil rights, one man one vote and equality? The cheek of them!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 23/08/2011 17:31:44    1017484

pig = grunt

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 23/08/2011 17:33:56    1017487

Ulsterman

I think the zzzzz point is more that you are highlighting something where even the Unionist community are coming out and agreeing is bigoted. So unless fundraising is being stopped and the GAA are being actively discriminated against in this regard why bother giving this bitter politician any attention at all.

Dont mistake that for a lack of empathy.

Alan

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 263 - 23/08/2011 17:41:28    1017493

Fair enough Alan, point taken!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 23/08/2011 17:44:06    1017497

I don't know if McCrea deserves a ticket or not. He just jumped on the bandwagon, wasn't interested until it looked like Donegal where heading for HQ

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 23/08/2011 17:49:34    1017502

In fairness wise_guy he did mention it before the Ulster Final....:)

Rumour has it he was up in Donegal on his holidays last week and had a green and gold flag flying from his car....

Also heard he's a wild man for the rebel songs when he gets going...... kept the crowd in the pubs in Downings going til the wee hours.... a gas man altogether...!!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 18:00:29    1017508

Ah sure look it, leopards, spots and all that craic. Isn't this the same fella who embarrassed himself when he accompanied a group of Unionists to Dundalk in the 80's? The gardai took his flag pole and he stood there crying like a wee child. Twas fair funny to watch at the time I must say.

Keep up the good work in GAA circles in the north.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 23/08/2011 18:09:48    1017517

At least you are honest glen, we had that same problem and attitude from many so called fellow Irish Nationalists in 1969; INDIFFERENCE! Nothing changes, Northern Catholics are just an irritant to the rest of the island, they bring all their problems on themselves. Imagine wanting civil rights, one man one vote and equality? The cheek of them!

Ah would u lighten up a bit. The DUP statement hardly merits sand bags or dustbin lids.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3849 - 23/08/2011 18:14:43    1017521

wise_guy

I don't know if McCrea deserves a ticket or not. He just jumped on the bandwagon, wasn't interested until it looked like Donegal where heading for HQ

I don't know either if he would want a ticket he has had his fingers burnt already this year I also offered him a loan of my Fr Rocks shirt in case things go horrible wrong for Donegal as its very similar to the Dub's shirt and he could switch sides at halftime

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 23/08/2011 18:23:30    1017531

Donegalman:

Do you not find the fact that Mr Wells as an MLA to the Stormont Assembly and member of the majority party in the six counties coming out with statements like this, slightly disturbing?

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 18:25:23    1017533

fortyfive:

I wonder would there be any chance of getting a lift with him to the game....:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 18:36:10    1017543

Ulsterman - if the majority of callers, including some Unionists, called in to condem this mans bigotry, then it seems to me that this story has been dealt with correctly at the local level. That said, it gets tiresome that in 2011 gobshites like that man still have the wherewithall to get their half-baked opinions aired. This man and those like him should have been consigned to the dustbin of history years ago.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 23/08/2011 19:14:26    1017565