Only the Dubs can do it!

Cheers heresam.

You're a gentleman..... much appreciated.

Will definitely try out one or two of those...will make a pleasant change from the usual spots which are usually mobbed.

Enjoy the game and thanks again...!!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 25/08/2011 19:33:54    1019185

Snufalufagus

1019168 Would have been good to see Tipp fill Semple this year at some stage, what with only having to travel from all over the county and all!!....Never happens though!

Ah sure they were only the All Ireland Champions... well 3/4 All Ireland Champions - you'd think that would have had the fans out!

The ground is in Tipp... making it a lot easier for Tipp people to go and watch a game... hmmm sounds familiar! and well it's a far smaller capacity to Croke Park... wouldnt that be easier to fill to capacity then? and well with a population in excess of 130,000 people and lets be honest the Hurlers would get the most attention from the GAA supporting poulation

You'd think they would have filled the stadium at least once... hmmffhh ... the home of the GAA and all that... no place like it etc etc

But sure lets not go on about it....

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 25/08/2011 20:05:04    1019203

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

JinxyPoop:

Who's getting nasty I'm only taking the **** out of yet another thread the dubs have put up saying how great they are just because they filled croke park.... I've good time for the dubs me other half is a dub.... but by jayusss they talk some amount of manure when it comes to gaa.... they should step down off their liam and sam - less high horse for a while and take a major helping of humble pie!!

God help her

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 25/08/2011 20:13:51    1019210

Do the Dubs not have their own forum to boast about themselves?

headsup (Wexford) - Posts: 28 - 25/08/2011 20:21:08    1019214

headsup
County: Wexford

Who needs one with the amount of Dublin threads started by country folk on HS

At one stage there was 8 threads about Dublin on Page 1 - 6 of which were started by non Dubs.

Sure what else would yiz be talking about? Turnips or something....

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 25/08/2011 20:30:10    1019227

Turnips.....brilliant.............

headsup (Wexford) - Posts: 28 - 25/08/2011 20:35:24    1019233

Lifford Gael, the Croke Park hotel is a great spot, often have music on too, its bright and airy too....Gaffneys in Fairview is a great spot too but its pure Dubs, but it certainly would be an experience for ya....if youre headn into the city the Brazen head or the Merchant are great.........

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 25/08/2011 20:52:33    1019250

Jayz why would'nt ye fill the house, its a short walk after dinner. And ye have'nt won since '95 but none the less despite the sad ilk amongst your rank I will be pulling for the real Dubs, not the sunshine lot. The real Dub fan wiill not get on any site and make a fool of themselves, be humble ye of the gombeen mentality.No disrespect to Donegal, but one team wearing Green n' Gold on Sept 18th is plenty. Dubz- Kerry is long overdue. Good luck to all three counties playing in Sundays semis....

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 25/08/2011 20:53:55    1019252

Cheers Molly....advice much appreciated.... might even bump into you somewhere along the way.

Enjoy the game...

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 25/08/2011 20:58:08    1019256

Snufalufagus:

Difference is we don't come on making up thread patting ourselves on the back saying how great we are for filling a stadium occasionally.... also tipp's population is less than 10% of what dublin is...... should we have more in the ground when were playing at home well of course we should but the again I can be critical something dubs don't seem to be able to do when they speak about their supporters. They dubs highest attendance this year prior to this match has been 58,000 tipp's has been 36,000 (not in semple stadium) not including the semi final not a massive difference now is there yet the dubs are supposeidly better than everyone else!! My point is when you take population etc. into it that not the case something the likes of you just can't understand.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/08/2011 10:33:39    1019383

Does your logic and turning the tables junk apply to your girlfriend/wife?

Nope operation culchie has been a success.... I think every culchie should try and save at least 1 dub!! I might ring joe duffy about my sponsor a dub campaign.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/08/2011 11:22:28    1019430

HAG_AND_CHEESE

Hahaha very good... although with the amount us Dubs pay in tax... we're sponsoring the country at the minute!

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 26/08/2011 11:30:49    1019440

You pay tax in Dublin too Jinxy?

Getting more like your country cousins every day then so. And there was me thinking I was sponsoring the social welfare system for ye all up there...:)

Fair play mate.... sharing is caring!!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 26/08/2011 11:35:58    1019448

hill16no1man

ha funny coming from a kilkenny man whose team were outnumbered by dublin hulring supporters at the leinster final.there was 45 thousand at the dublin v tipp semi final what was at the kilkenny waterford match?

as for the meath guy typical crap as i said before you will be the first to make a referance to soccer when it comes down to an arguement about something in the gaa,
you know more about it then me obviously as i didnt know them two where playing on sunday guess somebody is a closet soccer fan,also guess your point is meaningless as its a sell out so not many dubs seem to care about what happens across the pond

gigoer that was my original point read it again it states in relevance to man utd playing at the same time that not many dubs seem to care about what happens across the pond i didnt say all dubs dont care but making a point that croker was sold out a week in advance of the match despite man utd playing on the same day and time

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/08/2011 11:40:10    1019453

gigoer

It's as popular as any other sport, possibly more so than GAA whether that's in Dublin or Nationwide. What, like a million people nationwide who subscribe to Sky sports for the premiership? Practically every pub in the land advertising Sky Sports in the window for the punters?, Every week some crowd hopping on a plane to Manchester/Liverpool/Glasgow? Viewing figures for international qualifier matches, attendances in the Aviva, League of ireland followers? (who cares if it's *****, it's still got a mass following - just look at the crowd for the Shamrock Rovers last week?)Viewing figures for Soccer Saturday? Hell, they even show Champions League football on RTE2 even when there isn't a Premiership side in it, like they did last week. Trying to pawn off viewing figures for a few choice GAA finals as opposed to all of that is self-serving and nothing else. I doubt if Liverpool were playing Man U in March on a Sunday afternoon that the majority of the pubs in the country would have Dublin v Mayo in the League on TG4 on screen

The irony here is that outside of the international team, i don't give a monkeys about soccer/premiership etc and I wish could believe hill/heresam are correct in saying that GAA is a lot more popular in the country than Soccer overall, but when you look at all of that, it's hard to be convinced

So again, we will have to agree to disagree

sky sports comes as a package deal and not just premiership it is bought for all sports including rugby darts horse racing and many more, setanta and espn show probably more matches then sky sports anyway, as i stated the viewings are higher for gaa i showed you the facts for that.a few people hoping on a plane to see a mcth is hardly meaning its the main sport here there actualy leaving the country so how can that mean anything in irish sports terms,international matches in the aviva as u said they are very poor have they actualy filled it since it opened i dont think so 30 thousand was at the last qualifier and 17 thousand at the croatia match a week ago.league of ireland attendances are abysmal the highest attendance was rovers v bohs 4 thousand on average bohs rovers pats and shels get between 1 and 2 thousand at home games with ucd around 200-300 people.so where has it got a mass following and you said just look at the crowd at shamrock rovers last week yes that was 4 thousand that aint impressive now.yes and rightly so they should show champions league football in it when there is no premiership team in it this is ireland not england the premiership is not our home clubs so why should they show they only promote 1 foreign country and not the rest.i wasnt pawning any figures the stats are there that even ryle nugent mr rugby in rte published himself stating gaa is still out in front as what people want to watch and that also was stated by another poster that irish soccer and rugby has supporters from all over ireland for all there games where as gaa is county v county and the all ireland final is the only equivalent of an international viewing audience but yet it still comes out on top.well man utd are playing on sunday the same time as dublin v donegal why dont you put your theory to the test and visit a pub and report on what they were showing dublin or man utd.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/08/2011 11:55:37    1019469

with the amount us dubs pay in tax

haha jim you are on form today I'll think you'll find the lazy dubs are at the 'milking' end of the welfare system!!

vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 26/08/2011 11:56:25    1019472

HAG_AND_CHEESE

Hahaha very good... although with the amount us Dubs pay in tax... we're sponsoring the country at the minute!

Sure look at what it's costing the country for methadone for the dubs.... the poor ould culchies left to pick up the bill.

Lifford Gael:
The majority of the dubs have PHD's as in Please Handover Dole

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/08/2011 11:58:17    1019477

Then I suggest when you make statements like that, make them a little less generic Hill

It fuelled a fiercely entertaining debate anyway, whether it was misguided from your original comment or not

With all hostilities ceased (hardy har) there have been good points made and with all due respect, i remain unconvinced on the GAA/Soccer issue

Have a good day on the hill on Sunday

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 26/08/2011 11:59:53    1019480

my sponsor a dub campaign.

Might get bob geldof to front it with the lines

"Some dubs younger than 16 years old have never seen their team lift Liam McCarthy or Sam Maguire, please give generously and help these people to find comfort in their miserable lives".

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/08/2011 12:02:37    1019482

Hag...you're on form today...:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 26/08/2011 12:08:28    1019489