Ye we love our eggs in Dublin alright Hag!
Yer also found of sour grapes but hate humble pie ;)
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/08/2011 13:55:33
ah now hag thats coca cola its a drink dont get caught up in the slang haha
A survey was comissioned last year that estimated that every time dublin score a goal cocain with a street value of 20,000 gets flug into air on the hill with the excitement, it may have the appearance of a hazy summers day in the hill but there's something creating the haze..... winners don't do drugs :-D
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/08/2011 13:58:28
Hill I don't won't to be disagreeing with you, your posts are always good to read but to say soccer is not the number 1 sport in Dublin is wrong. No one goes to league of Ireland games cause its Crap but I reckon 80 per cent of the players are dubs, half the Ireland soccer team are dubs , Dublin games are a summer occasion that brings all dubs together for a day out but let's be honest half them couldnt tell you whose Paul flynn or denis bastick. I live in a working class area with over 60 thousand people with one gaa club in that area against around 30 soccer teams. Working class dubs have always played or supported soccer , come on hill even paddy Carr said last year that he can't believe no one goes to club championship games. Gaa is very strong in Dublin but soccer is the number 1 sport.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/08/2011 14:09:06
Not I hag, not I.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/08/2011 14:14:03
Clondalkindub:
Even in soccer, a Donegal man is number 1....:)
Theres just no getting away from us.....lol
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 25/08/2011 14:17:07
Clondalkindub
are you a member of a club. The amount if kids playing gaa is huge massively more thab 5 years ago. Maybe in clondalkin but its gradually pregnating the east south side. I live in santry and there is more kids playin gaa than soccer in a 10mile radius of me. Kids still follow the english clubs but thats different.
heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 25/08/2011 14:19:28
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 357
1018845 Hill I don't won't to be disagreeing with you, your posts are always good to read but to say soccer is not the number 1 sport in Dublin is wrong. No one goes to league of Ireland games cause its rubbish but I reckon 80 per cent of the players are dubs, half the Ireland soccer team are dubs , Dublin games are a summer occasion that brings all dubs together for a day out but let's be honest half them couldnt tell you whose Paul flynn or denis bastick. I live in a working class area with over 60 thousand people with one gaa club in that area against around 30 soccer teams. Working class dubs have always played or supported soccer , come on hill even paddy Carr said last year that he can't believe no one goes to club championship games. Gaa is very strong in Dublin but soccer is the number 1 sport.
the only thing soccer is strong in dublin is on the back pages of the newspapers.im not having a go at you but i just going to state the facts. you said dublin gets support only in the summer,well average attendance at league games this year was 30 thousand the irish played in carling nations and there 3 games combined got a total of 40 thousand,they played croatia the other week and got 17 thousand only.they have not filled the aviva stadium for any of there qualifier games which is the equivalent of a chmpionship game in gaa circles and dublin have ranged between 42,000 to 82,000 this weekend . dublin gaa in both football and hurling set the highest viewings for tg4 with both league finals this year. yes there are areas in the inner city mainly that hold soccer strong holds but on a county basis overall there is more club members in gaa in the whole of dublin. club championship games are the equivalent of the likes of sheriff street playing malahide united how many turn up at them games i would strongly suggest that club v club gaa comes out on top.as for your mentioning of the irish team being made of mainly of dubs i would have to disagree the irish soccer team is made up mainly of british born guys who were not good enough to play for their own country there is a number of dublin born guys yes but soccer does not bring the capital in a wash of green like a dublin match day where the county is transformed into blue and navy everywhere even stretching to towns in meath such as ashbourne and ratoath do be filled with people in dublin jerseys im sure meath posters would agree the same is in naas or newbridge or cellbridge in kildare has the same.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 14:30:55
Clondalkindub
are you a member of a club. The amount if kids playing gaa is huge massively more thab 5 years ago. Maybe in clondalkin but its gradually pregnating the east south side. I live in santry and there is more kids playin gaa than soccer in a 10mile radius of me. Kids still follow the english clubs but thats different.
heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 25/08/2011 14:42:10
GAA was always more popular on the Northside of Dublin, so nobody is right or wrong here, soccer may well be the no1 sport in certain areas of Dublin, but GAA is no1 in other areas of Dublin..I see things changing, I see an increase in the number of kids playing GAA too, problem is, i'm from a working clas area on the southside, and there is allot more soccer clubs for kids to join, only actually 1 GAA club, and it covers a very large area and population...and HAG neither myself or my friends take cocaine...shocking or what...
delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 25/08/2011 15:04:44
At the end of the day, they're obviously both popular.
I got into this argument in the first place because the initial statement was that few Dubs care about Soccer/across the pond and only about GAA (or something to that effect) and that was a really stupid thing to say. Soccer is immensely popular in Dublin & nationwide and anyone who tries to deny that is away with the fairies.
It's as popular as any other sport, possibly more so than GAA whether that's in Dublin or Nationwide. What, like a million people nationwide who subscribe to Sky sports for the premiership? Practically every pub in the land advertising Sky Sports in the window for the punters?, Every week some crowd hopping on a plane to Manchester/Liverpool/Glasgow? Viewing figures for international qualifier matches, attendances in the Aviva, League of ireland followers? (who cares if it's *****, it's still got a mass following - just look at the crowd for the Shamrock Rovers last week?)Viewing figures for Soccer Saturday? Hell, they even show Champions League football on RTE2 even when there isn't a Premiership side in it, like they did last week. Trying to pawn off viewing figures for a few choice GAA finals as opposed to all of that is self-serving and nothing else. I doubt if Liverpool were playing Man U in March on a Sunday afternoon that the majority of the pubs in the country would have Dublin v Mayo in the League on TG4 on screen
The irony here is that outside of the international team, i don't give a monkeys about soccer/premiership etc and I wish could believe hill/heresam are correct in saying that GAA is a lot more popular in the country than Soccer overall, but when you look at all of that, it's hard to be convinced
So again, we will have to agree to disagree
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 25/08/2011 15:53:28
I cant believe how much interest this Thread generated!!!!! Everything aside, I hope everyone has a great day on Sunday and may the best team win.....heres to a great and memorable sporting occastion.........
Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 25/08/2011 15:57:24
yes htere are areas on the southside where soccer and rugby has more clubs but if you take kilmacud crokes or ballyboden they might have only 1 club in there areas but there playing numbers are massive they have 3 teams at nearly every age group from under 9 to senior so thats the equivalent of 3 clubs
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 15:58:14
You too Mollymalone....
Where do you recommend for a few drinks after the game to either celebrate or drown the sorrows where there'd be a bit of banter and craic.... away from the usual spots of Quinns and the Big Tree etc?
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 25/08/2011 16:02:57
delordub:
But your from kildare.... maybe your parents brought you up ok.... and remember drugs are bad mmmmmmkkk!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/08/2011 16:10:15
delordub:
ok I'll turn the stats back on the dubs.... there are more killings and drugs incidents in dublin therefore all dubs are just violent drug taken hooligans that love gaa!!! I mean if ye want to take it as yous are the best supporters as ye fill croke park I can take advantage of it when outlining the view of dublin people too
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/08/2011 16:12:53
Hill i could argue with everything you said there but I won't. Let's agree to disagree.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/08/2011 16:16:33
Hag.......seriously man.............! Come on!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 25/08/2011 16:23:56
Hag.......seriously man.............! Come on!
What, I'm just drawing conclusions they same way as ye do when it comes to population size!!! You's don't let it when the shoe is on the other foot do ye!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/08/2011 16:31:29
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 2639
1019013 Hag.......seriously man.............! Come on! ____________
Here, Here.... Funny that a Tipp man gets so upset at the sight/sound of arrogance
If that's the case
You must have had to move away from Tipp years ago Hag...
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 25/08/2011 16:34:44
HAG_AND_CHEESE County: Tipperary Posts: 5720
1019023 Hag.......seriously man.............! Come on!
What, I'm just drawing conclusions they same way as ye do when it comes to population size!!! You's don't let it when the shoe is on the other foot do ye!!
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 25/08/2011 16:38:42