Only the Dubs can do it!

I see jinxy has missed the point in favour of some high-horsing, some things never change :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 24/08/2011 16:00:17    1018217

So basically your quarter wasnt sold out but you gained a few thousand more tag along sunshine fans along the way? yeah your right only the dubs can do it ;)

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 24/08/2011 16:05:13    1018226

JinxyPoop:

Not the best at spelling I see.

Nope I mildly dyslexic!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/08/2011 16:08:23    1018234

Breffni39

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 24/08/2011 16:32:36    1018267

Every team has sunshine supporters whats your point.
So what

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 24/08/2011 16:34:40    1018269

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

1018234 JinxyPoop:

Not the best at spelling I see.

Nope I mildly dyslexic!!

Ah Jaysus - I apologise :)

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 24/08/2011 16:35:07    1018270

Every team has sunshine supporters whats your point.
So what

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 24/08/2011 16:40:55    1018276

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

1018205 JinxyPoop:

Lets put it this way I know a fair few dubs and you can't have a conversation with them without them mentioning how they always have a big crowd at a match and never say anything about the amount of people living in dublin

It would be something similar to say tipp people boasting that they'd have more people at a hurling match in thurles playing Sligo.... firstly there are more people in tipperary and secondly the match is on in tipperary!!!

Unfortunately the dubs look at it in the blue and navy tinted glasses and it obious enough that none of them would ever get a job in the central statistics office...

Good post

Sure man I agree with you... Did you not see my post above?

This attendance talk is silly (Clutching at straws to hold onto some sort of GAA significance perhaps? - I don't know? Perhaps "we" take pride that the City boys can bring in a crowd even after our ever present west-Brit, soccer supporting, Jackeen taunts - and perhaps some Dubs like to throw those taunts back at people and start the odd thread) - I agree with you! Croke Park is in Dublin... we have more support than most. Logically that would be one major factor to a high attendance at most GAA matches involving Dublin in Croke Park but it's not the only factor - It would be wrong to think otherwise IMO

That's the point I made above... it should be a bloody sell out! It's a feckin semi-final involving the Dubs... you can take it as an almost guaranteed sell out! Even during the worst economic crisis that this country has ever seen - It's still a sell out and Donegal have played a big part in that too.

It's the norm... why do we have to have this argument every year? Sick of it... you boys should really rise above it! And hey it's no harm now and again to tip your hat to the city boys. After all it really is a win win situation for us all... Never look a gift horse in the mouth.

Here's too many more sell out games involving the Dubs... by the looks of it... you might see a bit more of it over the next few years! Hopefully the crowds start to appear for the Hurlers.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 24/08/2011 17:09:58    1018307

Its great that there will be a full house. Even watching on TV the game is far more of a spectacle when the stadium is full.

I'm pretty sure that there are many Donegal supporters who are more eager to go because its Dublin and because you know it will be a full house.....no doubt it adds to the appeal for travelling fans.

So here's to the Dubs.....see you on Sunday, the place will be rockin'!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1446 - 24/08/2011 17:23:51    1018321

ps Had I not managed to get tickets last night my opinion would no doubt be very different!!! damn bandwagoners!!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1446 - 24/08/2011 17:25:07    1018323

benjyyy

1018321 Its great that there will be a full house. Even watching on TV the game is far more of a spectacle when the stadium is full.

I'm pretty sure that there are many Donegal supporters who are more eager to go because its Dublin and because you know it will be a full house.....no doubt it adds to the appeal for travelling fans.

So here's to the Dubs.....see you on Sunday, the place will be rockin'!

Fair fecks to you... :) Here's to a great game and lets enjoy the show!

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 24/08/2011 17:28:32    1018327

The best moments that GAA players and fans alike can have are in Croke park, one of the best stadiums in Europe. The atmosphere of a packed house is something else, and unless it's All Ireland Final day, it's rare that it will sell out without the Dubs. I don't see why there's one-up'ing going on about this. The game would never be the spectacle that it will be without the Dubs. And I'm sure most folk in Donegal wanted to meet Dublin for that very reason. Imagine winning on their turf!

Who really gives a flying toss who has more fans, who traveled what distance to get there, what benefit the GAA gets from it. The main thing is that we can look forward to an exciting game.

The point of my post? Fook knows...I've gone mentally hilarious these past few days waiting for the game. Anyone got a flux capacitor?!

1814ninetytwo (Donegal) - Posts: 6 - 24/08/2011 18:10:38    1018364

Yes benjyyy, 1814ninetytwo, and Jnxypoop, I totally agree with you, and it's always a special atmosphere when it's a full house and the Dubs are in it...and judging by the Donegal posters, most seem really decent and nice GAA fans....so here's to a great game, played fairly, with one hell of an atmosphere....if my nerves can survive it though...Come on the dubs!!!! and Hag stop being so negative...

delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 24/08/2011 18:26:27    1018374

Lads in all fairness soccer is the number 1 sport played and supported in Dublin. If gaa was number 1 in Dublin we would walk the all irelands every year.

what a stupid comment just because something is the main sport in a place doesnt mean they win something every year thats like a 5 year old comment.
take new zealand rugby is the main sport there but how many world cups have they won answer is 1.
dublin footballers bring in bigger attendances then all of the 5 soccer clubs in dublin put together.
there is more club members in gaa then soccer.the tv viewings for dublin matches are bigger then the irish soccer team hence gaelic football being the main sport.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 11:46:02    1018667

Beautiful.Meath

So basically your quarter wasnt sold out but you gained a few thousand more tag along sunshine fans along the way? yeah your right only the dubs can do it ;)

2 thousand atr meath league games in navan two months later 20 thousand capacity was a problem hmmm sunshine supporters in meath seem a plenty

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 11:51:12    1018673

Hill are you saying that soccer is not the number 1 sport in Dublin?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/08/2011 12:01:54    1018683

Well I for one welcome all bandwagoners north and south of this great land. Lets turn croker blue and navy, green and gold and enjoy every single minute of Sunday!! Safe trip everyone! Up the Dubs!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/08/2011 12:04:14    1018687

yes i am saying gaelic football is the number 1 sport and i proved it to you in last post

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 12:06:59    1018692

Aw clondalkindub, read the earlier posts, you're talking to a brick wall

Anyhoo, nice to see that Croker is a sell-out on Sunday whether the Dubs are hogging all the credit for it or not. It's the first sell-out this year, isn't it? Just goes to show that the GAA will be counting the bucks come the final with their €10 increase in ticket price for it, but business is business I guess

Speaking of which, it's €40 a ticket for the semi according to ticketmaster, is that an increase on last year? (Haven't been to a semi since 2008 :-(

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 25/08/2011 12:11:24    1018697

your wrong gigoer they actualy announced they are reducing the final tickets by another 5 euro now.
how are you talking to a brick wall i layed out the facts on that last post the biggest attendances numbers the biggest tv viewings and biggest club memebers all states gaa is number 1

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 12:18:08    1018706