No, I was disagreeing with your implication that Dubs have only interest in GAA & none in Soccer, and Liverpool pubs, shirts etc are evidence to the contrary
I'd have thought this would make for an interesting debate, but made up statements & pops at Wexford just goes to show you're too arrogant to see beyond your own argument or you're too thick to understand what I'm trying to say, either way I'm done wasting my time with you
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 24/08/2011 13:02:50
gigoer County: Wexford Posts: 729
1017408 Hill, are you nuts?
Go into any sports store in Dublin and you'll have Liverpool, Chelsea & Barcelona shirts everywhere with a few GAA shirts thrown in the back. Walk through grafton or Henry street any day of the week and you'll see about 1 GAA shirt to every 10 soccer shirts. Plus pubs pretty much devoted to soccer teams - that pub across from the Gaiety whose name escapes me, just know it's a Liverpool pub
Plus plenty of Dubs referring to the GAA as stickball & bogball
Sorry bud, i admire your support of your GAA teams but there would appear to be a lot more soccer fans than GAA fans in Dublin. And to say that most Dublin GAA fans in general don't care about what's across the pond is misguided at best
that is your original post and you clearly say THERE WOULD APPEAR TO BE A LOT MORE SOCCER FANS THAN GAA FANS IN DUBLIN. you also state PUBS PRETTY MUCH DEVOTED TO SOCCER TEAMS.which is what i clearly replyed to
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/08/2011 13:02:56
Jaysus Hill:
I have to agree with gigoer here...you're not reading the posts properly....and then misquoting us.
I mentioned in reply to Mollymalone that I had mentioned the Donegal factor in the full house in jest.... that I wasn't actually being serious but I was making the point that I had every right to claim that as the Dubs had. (Read it back if you want)
As regards the figures, ok 10000 neutrals may be a slight overexaggeration but 30000 Donegal is not....... 15000 sold through the clubs, 5000 sold through commercial outlets in the county and then the huge Donegal contingent in Dublin and those that bought online of which there were plenty....by my calculations that should bring us up to 30000...anyway what does it matter....the point here is that some of the stuff being spouted here by one or two posters in particular is completely nonsensical....
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 24/08/2011 13:05:21
gigoer i clearly said i didnt know man utd v liverpool was on this sunday and it doesnt seem to interest or have nay care for dubs as croke park is all ready an 82,300 sell out a week before the game so you have the 2 most supported soccer clubs in england playing but yet dublins match has far more of an interest by being sold out a week before the game would you not agree considering none of dublins other matches sold out
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/08/2011 13:09:44
Jackeen County: Dublin Posts: 1491
1017979 Benjyy that's a silly thing to say. You only have to look at some of the threads on your own board to see why it could be assumed all Donegal posters were as childish and arrogant as some on those boards. I, myself know that the majority of posters on HS are "normal" but that there is a sizable amount of trolls who just open accounts to stir things up. So if a thread started on HS by a Dub makes you dislike all Dubs, in my opinion this says more about you than the Dubs! ____________________________________________________________________________________________
To be clear, I never said I felt that way, just that others may do so. And you're absolutely right that something that one Dub says shouldn't make anyone dislike all Dubs, but again, unfortunately that is often the case. For example I take the case of the DUP MPs comments about GAA - people shouldn't dislike everyone in the DUP for what this one person said but you would be a fool to think it doesn't happen!
benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1446 - 24/08/2011 13:10:38
Lifford Gael County: Donegal Posts: 1228
1017155 Thats not counting all those sold outside Donegal...ie online etc etc.
Obviously Donegal are the attraction here......Dublin couldn't muster anything near a full house for their other four games in the championship to date.... obviously its the attraction of playing Donegal thats even bringing out the Dublin support and support from elsewhere.....Tír Conaill Abú
that was what you said OBVIUOSLY DONEGAL ARE THE ATTRACTION HERE. and you contiue to say dublin couldnt muster a full house but yet i put to you donegals attendance figures this year and you dont reply
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/08/2011 13:17:26
Gigoer
dont write about a subject you know nothing about. A pub opposite the gaiety. For heavens sake. A liverpool pub. Its actually rugby is the main sports promoted there. A little lesson in city life.
Most of the pubs in city centre show sport to the masses based on whats on. End of. Most club members in dublin watch all sports. Numbers playing soccer and gaa is roughly the same. Numbers of members of gaa clubs far outstrips ssoccer membership. Rugby is quite big in sutton clontarf and east sothern dublin however gaa is growing massively in these same suburbs. Thousands play other sports everything and anything.
Whether dublin gaa people follow gaa or soccer or both nobody gives a toss.
Dublin gaa is now huge in dublin and is driving the minor under 21 in hurling and football. Expect dublin to be a successful duel county for many years to come.
We could fill croke park many times if all members and their families went to this sundays match.
heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 24/08/2011 13:18:16
Anyone else getting sick and tired of these tired old arguments... Because bloody hell I am...
Every year it's the same thing. Year after year. The sad thing is that it must be part of the GAA. I only had to read the first 3 posts to see where this was going...
Big deal if it's going to be a full house - It should be anyway... It's a Semi-Final! It's a big game... it's the championship - most people are off work at that hour on a Sunday - what else would you be doing. It's being played in Dublin making it easier to attened for one of the teams involved etc etc
I'm just glad that we're there... I wouldn't care if we played in Front of 10,000 - I'd still be there to cheer on my county and my favourite sport (Fishing isn't really a sport so I won't count it)
At the end of the day - Dublin draws attention. There's no arguing with that
I don't understand why some people have such a problem with that?
In the same fashion
I don't understand why some people would take pride from that?
It's the way it is... just like the tired old arguments that I mentioned above - It's part of the GAA summer.
Accept it as the norm. Because that is exactly what it is! Why else would it happen every year. It's not a fluke... accept it.
You're never going to win this argument. So what's the point in arguing... it's utterly futile.
As I get older - I'm starting to learn a lot about acceptance - Life as a consequence is starting to get a lot more chilled.
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 24/08/2011 13:27:57
Hill:
See later post where I replied to Molly Malone.....
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 24/08/2011 13:31:17
Lads,
This all boils down to a simple assumption stated at the start of the thread by Molly Malone
That because Dublin is PART of a sell out fixture in Croke Park therefore they have the best fans in Ireland.
Well they don't by that assumption - they just have MORE fans by POPULATION and are playing the game on their HOME turf.
Simple...
Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 335 - 24/08/2011 13:44:56
al the beef i have with gigoer is that he clearly tried to say dublin has more soccer supporters then gaa and i pointed to the facts thats all. as for lifford well he is just trying to say its because donegal is playing that its a full house which i pointed to previous attndances to prove him wrong thats all. as i said before im just looking forwrd to a full house and good game but when people start making stupid accusations about dublin being a soccer or rugby county like the other mayo fool ballboy well then i like to prove them wrong with the facts thats all
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/08/2011 13:54:04
Hill:
I give up...enjoy the game on Sunday!!
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 24/08/2011 13:56:34
Who cares if soccer is played more in Dublin anyway... Why is that used as some sort of weapon?
Is it because it's associated with Britain...? If that's the case - You are the ones with the problem and if you cant see that... well enough said.
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 24/08/2011 13:59:20
Lads in all fairness soccer is the number 1 sport played and supported in Dublin. If gaa was number 1 in Dublin we would walk the all irelands every year.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/08/2011 14:01:21
Xenophobia
Look it up folks.
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 24/08/2011 14:02:22
I wonder if its possible to be able to support both GAA and Soccer all at the same time....
Maybe that's a revolutionary idea...
But I could ask the 100s of friends who do.
Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 335 - 24/08/2011 14:08:45
How many threads do we have to endure saying how great the dubs are to bring a crowd..... do the maths lads there are more people living in dublin.
Say that only 10% of the people living in dublin have an interest in dublin gaa.... that's 180,000 thats still more than the population of any county outside maybe Galway and cork!!
Obsiously the ould dubs aren't great at maths he's a quick sum for yous whats 2010 minus 1995.... the answear to that is something that might be a bit more relevant to dublin gaa.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/08/2011 15:20:26
HAG_AND_CHEESE County: Tipperary Posts: 5705
Ha-ha… You love rattling that one off... just as much as those who rattle off the Dubs attendance rubbish…
Lost count at the amount of times you've felt urged to respond in such a manner... are you just copying and pasting it? Save yourself sometime…
Why does it bother you so much HAG? Seriously… an intelligent fellow like yourself… or have I misjudged you?
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 24/08/2011 15:41:06
Obsiously the ould dubs aren't great at maths he's a quick sum for yous whats 2010 minus 1995
Not the best at spelling I see...? Maybe you could help out with the Maths and then we can get onto your spelling... How's that sound?
It's a win, win... just like a large attendance at Croke Park - You know it both promotes and finances our games.
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 24/08/2011 15:51:00
JinxyPoop:
Lets put it this way I know a fair few dubs and you can't have a conversation with them without them mentioning how they always have a big crowd at a match and never say anything about the amount of people living in dublin
It would be something similar to say tipp people boasting that they'd have more people at a hurling match in thurles playing Sligo.... firstly there are more people in tipperary and secondly the match is on in tipperary!!!
Unfortunately the dubs look at it in the blue and navy tinted glasses and it obious enough that none of them would ever get a job in the central statistics office...
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/08/2011 15:53:06