Only the Dubs can do it!

Hill, I never stated facts, I didn't carry out a survey on how many soccer/GAA fans there are in Dublin, I don't give a monkeys about the premiership but one can simply observe the massive following it has in Dublin by simply looking around them on any given day, in the shops, on a bus, walking the street

I don't know if GAA is more popular than Soccer in Dublin (debateable at best) and I don't really care

But you said

not many dubs seem to care about what happens across the pond

and that's just bull.

Premiership soccer is very popular in Dublin, with Gaels & non-Gaels alike and no irrelevant pop at my own county can hide that. And in case you're thinking of having another pop at Wexford, just know I've been living in Dublin for the past 14 years and this is a part of the culture I've noticed, acknowledged but chosen not to partake in.

Just look at all the shirts in the street, the weekly flights to Liverpool, Manchester, Glasgow, the crowds in the pubs on a Saturday/Sunday afternoon & the viewings for Soccer Saturday or whatever that thing is on RTE2 on a Saturday night. So your above comment is way off in my view

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 24/08/2011 11:59:32    1017909

Im praying to god Dublin will lose , then we will finally see an end to all these pointless threads hyping them up when ultimately they wont beat Kerry

healy96 (Westmeath) - Posts: 177 - 24/08/2011 12:07:30    1017916

healy96, I REITERATE what Ive repeated several times, this thread is not about the FOOTBALLERS or the RESULT on Sunday, its about the SUPPORTERS....the mind boggles with some of the posters on this forum......

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 24/08/2011 12:16:27    1017924

Healy
the only people hyping dublin up are the media who are predominately country journalists. If you dont get that you never will. Dublin are favourites for sunday rightly so andkerry will be favourites for the final and rightly so. Take the chip off your shoulder.
It could be a thread about what song we are going to sing as in the donegal forum.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 24/08/2011 12:17:22    1017925

Gigoer

every pub in wexford shows soccer who cares who really cares so what big deal. I watch beach football shoul i take down my dublin flag. Welcome to the world and stop been narrow minded

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 24/08/2011 12:20:42    1017928

Liamwalkinstown

1017229 omaghredhand

1017217 Dublin Urban area population 1,045,769, 60,000 Dubs at Croke Park approx 5.75% of population
Donegal population 160,927, 20,000 supporters at Croke Park approx 12.5% of population

It would appear that there is more enthusiasm in Donegal than Dublin for this game!

Thats hardly surprising!
GAA is the number one sport in Donegal by a mile. The only ones close to it are WRC and Soccer and they are all distant seconds

In Dublin GAA has way more competitors, professional competetors are that. Why knock our GAA fans, surely you should feel empathy with the GAA crew in Dublin not dislike? We get knocked for not being true gaels......so it seems ye would rather there was no GAA atall in Dublin.

And for the record, the population argument is pure shite and you know it. At least 40% of that figure are non-nationals or Irish Non Dubs, So in taking that into account, maybe your figures would be a LOT more similar than you like to let on!

Ah Liam, your easy wired. The thread title is an absolute magnet for the anti Dub stuff and if you expect people to sit back and accept this back patting crap then you are sorely mistaken. The population arguement is tenuous to say the least, but the actual figures are not that important (although they are accurate, not sure about yours) However, your assertion that GAA is the No.1 sport in Donegal is somewhat flawed. Soccer is very very popular in Donegal. There is also the very valid point that from the likes of Gweedore it is almost 180 miles to Dublin at least an 8 hour round trip plus 4 hours odd in Croke Park, stopping to get fed both ways so your talking at the very least a 13-14 hour day for a Donegal supporter never mind E50 for diesel, I presume E40 for a ticket, E20 for a feed so your up on E110 for a single fella driving down. Even if the figures were similar in ratio terms surely that makes a lie of the opening post. Finally, how come you couldn't fill Croke Park for the Tyrone game? One of your biggest rivals, guilty of handing out one of your biggest ever hidings, somewhat on the wain and Dublin favourites, yet what, 50000 odd including a fairly sizeable Tyrone contingent. Maybe the Saturday thing interferes with the other various past times of the Dubs

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 24/08/2011 12:21:49    1017931

Mollymalone

Would you culchies just grow up!!!!! and admit the truth, the GAA would not survive without the Dubs, end of...............Cmon ye boys in blue.....

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do ye want a medal or what Mollymalone...?? Is your self esteem that low that ye require some recognition from your country cousins.....?

You're actually embarrassing some of your fellow Dublin posters by pursuing this rant time and time again!!

Sunday will see a semi final in Croke Park with approx 30000 Donegal supporters, 10000 neutrals and 42000 Dublin supporters....big deal.... as I was saying in jest earlier in this thread but one which you unfortunately couldn't see through, we could equally say that Donegal are the attraction on Sunday, thus the full house....try taking your head out of your proverbial ar*e for a minute and try and see the light.... congratulations on bringing 40000 supporters down the road for a match.... I'm actually prouder of the fact that we're bringing 30000+ on an 8-10 hour round trip to Dublin with only a fraction of the population that Dublin has....sorry to burst your little bubble and sorry if I've damaged your self esteem even more but believe me the GAA will survive without the Dubs....

(And apologies to all sensible Dublin posters who I might have inadvertently offended...the rant was directed at Mollymalone and only Mollymalone)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 24/08/2011 12:21:51    1017932

Mollymalone

healy96, I REITERATE what Ive repeated several times, this thread is not about the FOOTBALLERS or the RESULT on Sunday, its about the SUPPORTERS....the mind boggles with some of the posters on this forum......

What you don't seem to get is that threads like these make people dislike the Dublin SUPPORTERS which in turn makes them want the FOOTBALLERS to lose. You cant separate the two I'm afraid

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1446 - 24/08/2011 12:22:18    1017933

Omaghredhand
it wasnt long ago ulster teams were gettin a hiding from dublin galway and kerry on a yearly basis. We dont harp on about that.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 24/08/2011 12:27:30    1017936

Dubstar

1017738 omaghredhand

1017217 Dublin Urban area population 1,045,769, 60,000 Dubs at Croke Park approx 5.75% of population
Donegal population 160,927, 20,000 supporters at Croke Park approx 12.5% of population

It would appear that there is more enthusiasm in Donegal than Dublin for this game!

Out of that figure how many are 5 day week dubs !! If your going to go with statistics find out how many REAL dubs there are in Dublin and then come back with your statistics

Surely if that's your arguement then it is up to you find out how many "real" Dubs there are

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 24/08/2011 12:27:41    1017937

heresam, might I also remind them of a statistic that you cannot change, Dublin have won 22 All Irelands, Tyrone-3, Armagh -1, need I go on????

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 24/08/2011 12:30:58    1017951

gigoer
County: Wexford

Hill, I never stated facts, I didn't carry out a survey on how many soccer/GAA fans there are in Dublin, I don't give a monkeys about the premiership but one can simply observe the massive following it has in Dublin by simply looking around them on any given day, in the shops, on a bus, walking the street

I don't know if GAA is more popular than Soccer in Dublin (debateable at best) and I don't really care

But you said

not many dubs seem to care about what happens across the pond

and that's just bull.

Premiership soccer is very popular in Dublin, with Gaels & non-Gaels alike and no irrelevant pop at my own county can hide that. And in case you're thinking of having another pop at Wexford, just know I've been living in Dublin for the past 14 years and this is a part of the culture I've noticed, acknowledged but chosen not to partake in.

Just look at all the shirts in the street, the weekly flights to Liverpool, Manchester, Glasgow, the crowds in the pubs on a Saturday/Sunday afternoon & the viewings for Soccer Saturday or whatever that thing is on RTE2 on a Saturday night. So your above comment is way off in my view

my point is dublin footballers get far bigger support then any other sport team in ireland never mind english soccer teams or the irish soccer or rugby teams so how can you throw accusations about dublin supporters caring more about soccer in england,as for pubs showing matches do you realy think thats only in dublin as iv been to most countys in ireland and they all show them matches in there pubs,as for people wearing them jerseys thats also in every county so why are you trying to say dublin is the only county with people who support english soccer clubs

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/08/2011 12:32:34    1017955

Jaysus. Sometimes I wonder do people actually read these posts before replying to them.

Heresam, I never suggested for a second that anyone should take down their flag, I never said Soccer should or does overtake GAA, I also said that I don't give a monkeys about premiership etc and you still couldn't avoid another irrelevant pop at my county

I'm simply saying for Dubs to promote themselves, as one poster has done in this thread, on the basis that they only care about GAA and they don't care about soccer is pure make believe and one look around will tell you that

do you get it?

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 24/08/2011 12:35:28    1017957

Mollymalone

heresam, might I also remind them of a statistic that you cannot change, Dublin have won 22 All Irelands, Tyrone-3, Armagh -1, need I go on????

---------------------------------------------------------------

Mollymalone.....what age are you..?? That is the most childish post I've read in years!!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 24/08/2011 12:38:15    1017963

Mollymalone

1017951 heresam, might I also remind them of a statistic that you cannot change, Dublin have won 22 All Irelands, Tyrone-3, Armagh -1, need I go on????

22 indeed, 14 of which came prior to 1923 before Sam Maguire was even a prize and only 8 in the 88 years since, still I suppose an average of one every 11 years is a record a lot of counties would love to have.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3760 - 24/08/2011 12:42:17    1017967

Lifford Gael

where are you getting your crowd numbers from pal.
20 thousand donegal 60 thousand dublin and about 2 thousand neutrals will be there the gaa already stated that.
how can you say 10 thousand neutrals that would be more then most games that involved them countys there hardly going to pay more money for tickets after complaining all year that it costs too much to go to croker and now you think 10 thousand of them will go to see a game not involving there own county get real.
your letting your won county down with this childishness about dublin supporters coming to see donegal dublin supporters only care about dublin and i imagine doengal supporters only care about donegal so cut the crap.
donegals match attendances so far were antrim game 7,385. cavan game 9,325. tyrone game 18,536. ulster final 28,364. all ireland quarter final 39,612
dublins match attendances so far were laois game 41,786. kildare game 58,723. leinster final 43,983. all ireland quarter final 52,661(worth noting 67 thousand tickets were actualy sold so numbers dont add up)

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/08/2011 12:46:34    1017973

Christ, give these people the strength & courage to read plain English

Hill, where did I say or try to say only Dubs look at english soccer clubs? WHERE?

I was simply debateing the issue that you yourself implied that Dubs only care about GAA and not soccer which I don't think is true

If you personally feel the GAA rule as a majority over soccer fans in Dublin, then good on you, but your sweeping statement of that was way off in my view & i'm simply disagreeing with that - this is a discussion forum after all

Yet you and heresam have somehow twisted that into me making some sort of ridiculous statement that Dubs should take down their flags? That nowhere outside of Dublin shows soccer?

When ye aim for a bullseye, do ye even hit the board?

Sheesh.....

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 24/08/2011 12:48:05    1017978

Benjyy that's a silly thing to say. You only have to look at some of the threads on your own board to see why it could be assumed all Donegal posters were as childish and arrogant as some on those boards. I, myself know that the majority of posters on HS are "normal" but that there is a sizable amount of trolls who just open accounts to stir things up. So if a thread started on HS by a Dub makes you dislike all Dubs, in my opinion this says more about you than the Dubs!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/08/2011 12:48:05    1017979

no gigoer you were implying dublin people have more of an interest in soccer then gaa by saying about 1 pub you saw that had liverpool on it and few people on grafton street wearing soccer jerseys ,compare that with match day for dublin where the city is a wash with dublin jerseys and the pubs are packed

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/08/2011 12:49:47    1017982

Player profile done with Bryan Cullen that thought was a good laugh: http://totalgaacoach.com/60-secs-with

humpty (Down) - Posts: 9 - 24/08/2011 12:55:02    1017985