Only the Dubs can do it!

ha funny coming from a kilkenny man whose team were outnumbered by dublin hulring supporters at the leinster final.there was 45 thousand at the dublin v tipp semi final what was at the kilkenny waterford match?

as for the meath guy typical crap as i said before you will be the first to make a referance to soccer when it comes down to an arguement about something in the gaa,
you know more about it then me obviously as i didnt know them two where playing on sunday guess somebody is a closet soccer fan,also guess your point is meaningless as its a sell out so not many dubs seem to care about what happens across the pond

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/08/2011 16:21:47    1017394

You outnumbered Kilkenny in a Leinster Final in Croke Park... I wonder would the same be true if it was in Nowlan Park? Hardly.

YellowYellow (Kilkenny) - Posts: 10 - 23/08/2011 16:30:04    1017402

Hill, are you nuts?

Go into any sports store in Dublin and you'll have Liverpool, Chelsea & Barcelona shirts everywhere with a few GAA shirts thrown in the back. Walk through grafton or Henry street any day of the week and you'll see about 1 GAA shirt to every 10 soccer shirts. Plus pubs pretty much devoted to soccer teams - that pub across from the Gaiety whose name escapes me, just know it's a Liverpool pub

Plus plenty of Dubs referring to the GAA as stickball & bogball

Sorry bud, i admire your support of your GAA teams but there would appear to be a lot more soccer fans than GAA fans in Dublin. And to say that most Dublin GAA fans in general don't care about what's across the pond is misguided at best

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 23/08/2011 16:37:31    1017408

If the Dubs go out again at the semi-final stage, you will see again just how dead this forum will go!....just goes to show on here how popular a talking point the Dubs are nationwide!
The board is always full of threads about us!!

.........the GAA is a dead organisation without the Dubs!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/08/2011 20:58:10    1017655

Are you saying Snuff that the Dubs are only fair weather posters...??...:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 21:03:32    1017665

omaghredhand

1017217 Dublin Urban area population 1,045,769, 60,000 Dubs at Croke Park approx 5.75% of population
Donegal population 160,927, 20,000 supporters at Croke Park approx 12.5% of population

It would appear that there is more enthusiasm in Donegal than Dublin for this game!

Out of that figure how many are 5 day week dubs !! If your going to go with statistics find out how many REAL dubs there are in Dublin and then come back with your statistics

Dubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 23/08/2011 21:47:13    1017738

Tipp minor footballers for the All Ireland
the senior hurlers will complete the double

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 23/08/2011 21:52:38    1017746

healy96
County: Westmeath

1017390 threads like these are the reason everyone hates dublin

Who is "everyone" Healy?
Cos only yourself and one or 2 other yokes on here seem to hate Dublin
We would be nowhere near the least popular county on HS my friend

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 24/08/2011 09:04:19    1017774

Nice one Snuf....well worded.

Laughing.Gravy (Dublin) - Posts: 404 - 24/08/2011 09:18:17    1017780

Just to add, any Galway fans attending this All Ireland semi final will be supporting Donegal, every neutral going to the game will be behind the green and yellow.

Best of luck Donegal, show them how its done.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1747 - 24/08/2011 09:41:40    1017792

I would have thought that the semi final would be a sell out regardless of who was playing. Although pricing is probably dictating the attendances in Croke Park more than any other factor in the run up to final and semi final day. I live in Dublin, and to bring the family is about 170 Euro between tickets, eats, and travel. So supporters who have to travel further have higher costs. The dedication that the players show deserves that they play to a full house. They are doing it for the love of the game.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 24/08/2011 10:25:41    1017814

Snuf, I couldent have put it better myself!!!! I started this thread and unfortunately a lot of silly people missed my POINT. Im referrin to Dublin Supporters, not the TEAM or that actual game on Sunday. Just pointing out the way the BLUES always come out in big numbers, no matter what and create a great owl buzz..Sadly a lot seemed to miss my point.....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 24/08/2011 10:28:58    1017819

You'd swear no other county supporters showed up at games at all.

And Snuf seems to think the GAA could not survive without Dublin

You guys should get down from your pedestals.

Overpopulation & Croker on your doorstep are factors that just so happen to allow for the big Dublin support yet you think you deserve some recognition for it.

heads up your own arses.....

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 24/08/2011 10:36:18    1017823

And Snuf seems to think the GAA could not survive without Dublin

To be honest I think the GAA would find it hard to survive without rugby & soccer :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6535 - 24/08/2011 10:46:15    1017830

Tipp for the double
Minor football and senior hurling

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 24/08/2011 11:24:33    1017863

Oh here we are AGAIN, the GAA will fail to survive without Dublin and its brilliant band of merry men and the great craic they bring to their matches!!! This will be Croke Park's first sell out this year thanks to the also valuable contribution of Donegal supporters and indeed a good few neutrals, myself included, and as for a boost to the economy well I have witnessed first hand the brilliant drinking capabilities of Donegal men (and women) and have no doubt that they would put their city cousins in the halpenny place when it comes to pre and post match beverages, thus they are capable of giving a significant extra boost to the economy than the Dubs, and I am talking about the supporters here in case anyone thinks I'm taking the wee wee :-)

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3760 - 24/08/2011 11:35:02    1017875

gigoer
County: Wexford

Hill, are you nuts?

Go into any sports store in Dublin and you'll have Liverpool, Chelsea & Barcelona shirts everywhere with a few GAA shirts thrown in the back. Walk through grafton or Henry street any day of the week and you'll see about 1 GAA shirt to every 10 soccer shirts. Plus pubs pretty much devoted to soccer teams - that pub across from the Gaiety whose name escapes me, just know it's a Liverpool pub

Plus plenty of Dubs referring to the GAA as stickball & bogball

Sorry bud, i admire your support of your GAA teams but there would appear to be a lot more soccer fans than GAA fans in Dublin. And to say that most Dublin GAA fans in general don't care about what's across the pond is misguided at best

no 1 main place you go wrong is you pick 1 area of dublin grafton street area on the southside of the city which is predominantly rugby and soccer area yes but come across the northside and every single pub has dublin flags up and the opposing team who we play next every shop has dublin colours up all corporation estates have dublin buntings and all kids are going around with either a hurl or dublin jersey on.again i say if dublin people rathered english soccer why on the same day that the biggest fixture in english soccer man utd v liverpool would dublin match be the first sell out of the year at croke park.i was recently in wexford and saw more kids with soccer and rugby jerseys on i think i saw 1 girl with wexford jersey that was it.
again how could there be more soccer fans when dublin football gets more support then ireland soccer your facts dont add up.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/08/2011 11:40:24    1017884

Lads I think we need to to just deal with the fact that Dublin fans are better than everyone else, its as simple as that. Shame on us for even thinking everyone is equal when it is so obvious that the Dublin fans are a level above everyone else.

We also need to make sure we are aware that as Hill says that GAA is by far the number one sport in Dublin with barely a soul interested in other sports, well certainly not as much as they are in Wexford. But at the same time, no other county has as many competing sports as Dublin. This may appear contradictory, but that is simply because we begrudge them their superiority and their right to be considered special and the saviours of the GAA.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 24/08/2011 11:54:09    1017903

Would you culchies just grow up!!!!! and admit the truth, the GAA would not survive without the Dubs, end of...............Cmon ye boys in blue.....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 24/08/2011 11:56:23    1017905

What does it matter what people support. There are enough club members and families in dublin to fill croker over and over again.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 24/08/2011 11:58:07    1017906