Only the Dubs can do it!

Well, the rest of ye can slag us off all ye like but NO other team brings the support and interest we do to the game. Imagine, its only Tuesday and already the "FULL HOUSE " sign has gone up at Headquarters. Sunday will be some occasion, I can tell, and some athmosphere, not to mention the revenue it will generate for businesses in the surrounding areas.....Cmon ye boys in blue!!!!!

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 23/08/2011 13:10:02    1017141

Mollymalone:

Did you ever consider that maybe 'Its only Donegal can do it'.....

If memory serves me correct our last All Ireland semi against Armagh in 2003 was also a sell out.....:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 13:15:05    1017147

Its well known in GAA circles, 25000 sold in Donegal for the game on Sunday, sorry.........

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 23/08/2011 13:17:25    1017152

Thats not counting all those sold outside Donegal...ie online etc etc.

Obviously Donegal are the attraction here......Dublin couldn't muster anything near a full house for their other four games in the championship to date.... obviously its the attraction of playing Donegal thats even bringing out the Dublin support and support from elsewhere.....Tír Conaill Abú

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 13:20:39    1017155

Dream on, Lifford Gael, how many were at the Ulster Final (compared to the Leinster) and where was it staged?????? think we had 82+ for Cork in the Semi last year so somehow I dont think its Donegal are the attraction here considern Cork and Kerry would be reputed to be the worst supporter in the country, they only come up for FINALS......jaysus is there every a time you give the Dubs credit or is "begrudger" your middle name!!!!

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 23/08/2011 13:28:42    1017167

2002 1/4 final replay. 82,000. 68, 000 DUbs. 8,000 dunnies. the rest neutral. BY half time there was only 3,000 dunnies .

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 23/08/2011 13:33:07    1017174

Mollymalone:

A lot of he Dub fans didnt travel to Clones for the Ulster Final.... too far or something.

Croke Park is more central from a neutrals point of view to go watch Donegal and also handier for all those in Dublin who would want to watch us.... stands to reason...Dublin couldn't even half fill Croker for the Leinster Final....you don't need to be Sherlock Holmes to work out that Donegal are the attraction here....:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 13:36:08    1017176

Despite an extra late allocation of Nally Stand tickets to the Donegal County Board yesterday, frustrated Donegal GAA fans are scouring the country as they search in vain for the elusive ticket that will gain them access to Croke Park this Sunday, as Donegal and Dublin go head-to-head in the All Ireland senior football semi final.

The 13,500 tickets allocated to the county board were snapped up with enthusiasm by the county's 40 clubs leaving the game the first 'sell-out' of the year at GAA headquarters. Based on a capacity of 82,000 punters, Donegal's allocation would amount to just under 17% of the total Croke Park allocation. It is understood that the initial allocation was as low as 8,000, until GAA officials here indicated that the demand would be much greater. Meanwhile, County Secretary Aodh Máirtín Ó'Fearraigh has assured this paper that all orders from clubs have been catered for and that the quality of tickets going to GAA members is better than any that have been made available on-line......

But Donegal GAA County Administrator, Noreen Doherty, said that she had not seen such unbridled enthusiasm since the lead up to the final of 1992. She told the paper: "It's simply a sell-out. We have never dealt with such a high demand for tickets since 1992. It's incredible; the buzz and excitement is everywhere to be seen. It seems that everybody wants to go to the game, which is great."

She was unaware of how many tickets the Dublin GAA County Board had been allocated, but Donegal had been on to Croke Park from the moment they knew tickets would be flying off the griddle like pancakes on Pancake Tuesday. Asked why this semi final as opposed to our last in 2003 was such an attraction she opined: "We are Ulster champions, we are playing Dublin in the semi final, evoking memories of '92 and then there was the breathtaking spectacle of the last ten minutes of the game with Kildare." Ironically, in the 1992 Donegal Democrat All-Ireland final supplement, there is a picture of then Dublin player, Dessie Farrell, holding the front page of the Democrat, with the lead story declaring: "GAA in ticket tug as meagre quota confirmed." The more things change . . . .

Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 23/08/2011 13:36:09    1017177

Thistle_harps:

I'm assuming you got those figures off the top of your head.....

Anyway, point is most of those in Dublin and most neutrals will go because Donegal are playing not because of Dublin....

As you say yourself we even sold out Croke Park at a quarter final replay..... the statistics speak for themselves....

Heres another one for you.... 2 Ulster Finals between Donegal and Armagh in Croke Park .....one a sell out and the other drew 75000....

Whats the common denominator here....:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 13:40:29    1017181

Lifford Gael

Thats not counting all those sold outside Donegal...ie online etc etc.

Obviously Donegal are the attraction here......Dublin couldn't muster anything near a full house for their other four games in the championship to date.... obviously its the attraction of playing Donegal thats even bringing out the Dublin support and support from elsewhere.....Tír Conaill Abú

haha how many was at donegal v cavam or antrim or tyrone for that matter i think less then 10 thousand . only 15 thousand donegal county board got and id say another 5 thousand through ticket offices.so that means around 60 thousand dublin.also i dont think its fair that either county board should get such big allocations dublin got 30 thousand and donegal 15 thousand where were all these club members all year most tickets were sold through ticket offices for this years championship and then the club members all come out of the wood work it was the same last week

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/08/2011 13:40:59    1017182

Molly, your a bit simple arent you
Dont mind him lads
he is probably a Meath Plant!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 23/08/2011 13:43:03    1017185

Have to agree with Legend...

Most of my friends can't get tickets for the game..... Donegal could bring 45000 alone to this game....Unfortunately a lot of the tickets haven't made their way to the county...!!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 13:43:22    1017186

Ya but so many Dubs can often be silenced by one man :-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEjudiKrh_A

Just kidding, should be a great game, looking forward to it now.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6535 - 23/08/2011 13:46:24    1017189

I'm not really sure what you re trying to boat about here...

Dublin has a population of just over 1 million

Donegal has a population of just over 160,000

If Donegal bring 20,000 then thats 12.5 % of the population attending
If Dublin bring the rest of the capacity (62,000) then that 6.2% of the population

So Donegal are bringing twice as many fans to the game per head than Dublin

And you guys are at home. I wonder how that would change if it was played in say Galway.

Fair play to you though - its a long journey in on the Bus/Dart/Luas - and they always have to delaythe start because of your effort to make it in an all.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 335 - 23/08/2011 13:58:00    1017200

Al why rise to him and in the process become just as bad as him?
For the record, I and many other Dubs dont live in Dublin
I have been travelling 300 mile round trips for every game for donketys years now
not looking for praise, just showing you not every Dubs fan only "hops on a Luas"

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 23/08/2011 14:04:38    1017213

Dublin Urban area population 1,045,769, 60,000 Dubs at Croke Park approx 5.75% of population
Donegal population 160,927, 20,000 supporters at Croke Park approx 12.5% of population

It would appear that there is more enthusiasm in Donegal than Dublin for this game!

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 23/08/2011 14:08:21    1017217

Lighten up lads, its only a bit of light relief from the gloomy recession that surrounds us out there and besides we ARE the BEST SUPPORTERS in the land......lol..............UP da Dubs........

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 23/08/2011 14:09:32    1017219

Some of you Dub posters should stop kissing your own arses, especially if they get kicked by Donegal/Kerry.

You are leaving yourselves open to ridiculous scorn.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 23/08/2011 14:12:06    1017224

omaghredhand

1017217 Dublin Urban area population 1,045,769, 60,000 Dubs at Croke Park approx 5.75% of population
Donegal population 160,927, 20,000 supporters at Croke Park approx 12.5% of population

It would appear that there is more enthusiasm in Donegal than Dublin for this game!

Thats hardly surprising!
GAA is the number one sport in Donegal by a mile. The only ones close to it are WRC and Soccer and they are all distant seconds

In Dublin GAA has way more competitors, professional competetors are that. Why knock our GAA fans, surely you should feel empathy with the GAA crew in Dublin not dislike? We get knocked for not being true gaels......so it seems ye would rather there was no GAA atall in Dublin.

And for the record, the population argument is pure shite and you know it. At least 40% of that figure are non-nationals or Irish Non Dubs, So in taking that into account, maybe your figures would be a LOT more similar than you like to let on!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 23/08/2011 14:15:34    1017229

Liamwalkinstown

1017229 omaghredhand

1017217 Dublin Urban area population 1,045,769, 60,000 Dubs at Croke Park approx 5.75% of population

Thats hardly surprising!
GAA is the number one sport in Donegal by a mile. The only ones close to it are WRC and Soccer and they are all distant seconds

In Dublin GAA has way more competitors, professional competetors are that. Why knock our GAA fans, surely you should feel empathy with the GAA crew in Dublin not dislike? We get knocked for not being true gaels......so it seems ye would rather there was no GAA atall in Dublin.

And for the record, the population argument is pure shite and you know it. At least 40% of that figure are non-nationals or Irish Non Dubs, So in taking that into account, maybe your figures would be a LOT more similar than you like to let on!

Oh here we go again, this old argument that always hinges on Dubs' tired assertion that there is nothing to do in the country and everyone is reared with the specific intent of playing and attending GAA games.

There are all sorts of vagaries for populations and past-times and interests etc but the bottom line is there are more Dubs than anyone else FACT. Deal with it. I don't hold it against ye at all but it is a fact that should just be straight up acknowledged.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 23/08/2011 14:33:11    1017251