Who Are Ya??

25 minutes into game in Clones in Ulster semi final - Tyrone up 6 points to 1 and supporters laughing and chanting 'easy, easy, easy'! They aren't laughing now. Don't agree with this type of chanting but plenty of teams at it.

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 08/08/2011 10:21:51    1006164

There is now 7 Dublin threads on the page 1 of the main forum...

Any chance of talking about something else?????

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 08/08/2011 10:28:10    1006172

Jackeen

1006148 I agree with my county men. I'm one of those nary narks that shush people if they're talking and I too was talking a bit during the beginning of that minutes silence as I didn't hear the announcement. Usually you can hear it tho. And yes there was people singing underneath the hill area as they made their way up the stairsto the terrace but they wouldn't have been aware if it. I did hear the who are ye chants and cheerios and that was when there was 7 minutes left and we all know how quickly Dublin can lose a lead and in less time than that. I despair sometimes really I do.
_______________________-
No need to despair jackeen, that yesterdays news now, you lot have a semi final to look forward to, we are ones who should be despairing:o(

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/08/2011 10:35:03    1006179

the_walls

1005985 Are Kerry in the final Sheva?

as good as my son if previous is anything to go by

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 08/08/2011 10:47:51    1006193

08/08/2011 10:28:10
JinxyPoop
County: UK

1006172 There is now 7 Dublin threads on the page 1 of the main forum...

What did you think of the horse show ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 08/08/2011 11:08:15    1006217

ruanua

1006217 08/08/2011 10:28:10
JinxyPoop
County: UK

1006172 There is now 7 Dublin threads on the page 1 of the main forum...

What did you think of the horse show ?

I missed Smithfield on Sunday... any decent deals? ;)

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 08/08/2011 11:15:29    1006227

JamesHoran, maybe the Who Are Ya chants were directed at the lads playing in blue ? A sizeable number of those on the Hill are day-trippers

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1066 - 08/08/2011 11:45:38    1006278

1005985 Are Kerry in the final Sheva?

as good as my son if previous is anything to go by

Ha ha fair enough, we shall see ;)

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 08/08/2011 11:53:52    1006285

Who Are Ya??
To all the Dubs 'supporters', they are the team that have won 3 All Ireland titles in the last decade; have overcome much personal heartache on and off the field; and have conducted themselves with the greatest of dignity in defeat at all times. Pure class from everyone of them and for those who decide to retire. thanks for the memories. Many teams and fans, Dublin included, could take a leaf out of their book.

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 08/08/2011 11:54:33    1006287

I think we can all agree that you will find these type of negative followers in all counties. However, it does seem to be getting worse at the big matches and this is a real shame. Is it asking too much that we hold a higher code of ethics in support at GAA matches rather than copy the antics from across the water? To hear those nasty goading soccer chants from across the water being copied and used increasingly at GAA games is just a new low.

I remember back in 70's my father covering my ears at a Munster final as some of the Cork crowd chanted 'the referee is a ******' I remember asking him what it meant? More innocent times for sure. As a child I was taught never to boo at games and to applaud good scores even if it was from the opposition and it is something I pass onto my own children at matches today. The world is changing for better and for worse and I suppose all we can do really is look after our own and try pass good manners down to the kids.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 08/08/2011 12:25:40    1006332

fortyfive

another is cheerio! cheerio! cheeriooooo not nice when your team has either under performed or were hammered out of the gate never liked those chanting , still Mayo have a golden opportunity to put in a performance against Kerry felt they also under performed a few years back in the all ireland

ha thats rich you have a short memory your lot were chanting it in 08

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/08/2011 12:38:11    1006351

brendtheredhand

1005895 Well said, theres an apparent lack of 'class' amongst a large portion of the Dublin support, always has been, that ain't going to change and they are clearly hankering for the return of their beloved Premiership. Thankfully the real Dublin supporters more than make up for this 'deficit'.

Dear oh dear. A thread started by a Mayo man on the subject of misbehaving fans. Didn't Kieran Donaghy come in for serious abuse in Mayo a few years ago (2008 I think) and indeed got hit by a missle from the crowd also. Now that's classy alright.

Dublin fans were not booing Tyrone on Saturday. They booed some very dodgy refereeing decisions. In fairness the Tyrone players who were going down by trapping a defenders arm under their elbow would have deserved a booing for what in my book is cheating. Sad to see a class player like O'Neill resort to this also. As for the Ole chants this was merely a bit of fun bearing in mind the hiding that Tyrone gave us a few years ago. I remember serious abuse from Tyrone fans that day and I took it for the laugh that was intended.

People need to lighten up a bit I think.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 08/08/2011 13:05:07    1006402

It is amazing how all the supporters out side of Dublin are so critical of the Dublin supporters ,they are the gravy train that the GAA is built on and with out them there would not be all the great facilities all over the country , they are the only county that can now come close to having a decent crowd in croker and bring in huge advertising revenue .So lads dont bite the hand that feeds you.

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 08/08/2011 13:10:29    1006415

tinrylandman
County: Carlow

1006415 It is amazing how all the supporters out side of Dublin are so critical of the Dublin supporters ,they are the gravy train that the GAA is built on and with out them there would not be all the great facilities all over the country , they are the only county that can now come close to having a decent crowd in croker and bring in huge advertising revenue .So lads dont bite the hand that feeds you.

Its amazing how critical you are of everything.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12372 - 08/08/2011 13:19:23    1006428

Hate all those soccer style chants, and all it does is make the opposition hate you even more, I remember in 01 at the end of the Kerry game , we were throwing the ball around the the óles started and i thought this will come back to bite us in the . . . . how right i was
Down with this sort of thing

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 228 - 08/08/2011 13:49:20    1006474

This thread just deserves, Cheerio,cheerio,cheerio.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 08/08/2011 13:49:24    1006475

Joxer

Dear oh dear. A thread started by a Mayo man on the subject of misbehaving fans. Didn't Kieran Donaghy come in for serious abuse in Mayo a few years ago (2008 I think) and indeed got hit by a missle from the crowd also. Now that's classy alright.

Dublin fans were not booing Tyrone on Saturday. They booed some very dodgy refereeing decisions. In fairness the Tyrone players who were going down by trapping a defenders arm under their elbow would have deserved a booing for what in my book is cheating. Sad to see a class player like O'Neill resort to this also. As for the Ole chants this was merely a bit of fun bearing in mind the hiding that Tyrone gave us a few years ago. I remember serious abuse from Tyrone fans that day and I took it for the laugh that was intended.

People need to lighten up a bit I think.

You need to take those dub tinted glasses off, The dubs were unmerciful trying to put Tyrone players off taking frees and they booed them when they came out for the 2nd half.

Enoryt (Tyrone) - Posts: 41 - 08/08/2011 14:33:37    1006538

Enoryt

That's because you were finishing off the cross word puzzle in there and came out 5 minutes late...

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 08/08/2011 14:40:02    1006545

Yep, you know the Dubs have become a serious threat to SAM when the usual knives come out!!

Amazing how this thread didnt appear after our first championship outing this year!!

Of course other counties are full of angels!!

YAWN!!.........oh dear, the bill for the wheelie bins has just come in I better go pay it!!

Snufalufagus...Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/08/2011 14:50:53    1006565

there are other chants that are alot worse, such as when the kildare people started singing 'you fat b@stard, you ate all the pies' when cian ward was taking frees in the qualifier match between meath and kildare, i think this chant is ALOT worse as it is actually very personal and not nice at all, at least with the chant 'who are ya' it isnt to any individual player!

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 08/08/2011 15:29:54    1006609