Who Are Ya??

hipster

1005919 another dublin bashing thread this site never amazes me

RE: To hipster

Selective reading from a Dublin supporter or is it - you just cannot read? The opening contributor JamesHoran wrote 'This Dublin team and management is a class act with great dignity...' that does not seem like Dublin bashing to me.

I suspect the truth is you just can't handle criticism even if it is valid. I don't care what county you are from if you engage in that type of jeering behaviour at matches you are not a GAA supporter. Let's be honest, jeering opposition creates a nasty atmosphere and is a poison we can do without in the GAA - it is not banter - that is just a bad excuse for ignorant behaviour. Of course you will always have a few idiots at games from every county but to see this type of behaviour become accepted as somehow normal on a mass scale would be a real shame. It will end up with supporters being segregated and that is not what the GAA is about.

From a Dublin perspective, it is not doing Pat Gilroy or his team any favours going forward as this type of bad negative support will only fire up future opposition and turn any neutral support off. However, I suspect those who boo, hiss and jeer are too dumb to realise it.

Personally, I think it would be great for the GAA in general if Dublin won an All Ireland especially when we are competing with other sports such as rugby and soccer it is great to see a big interest in the capital and to keep that interest in the Capital is important for our Association. Perhaps some of the Dublin support not all has seen to many bad days and it has made them bitter. A word to the wise victory and defeat should both be accepted with grace.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 07/08/2011 21:14:51    1006000

Gega

i must say it was the single most satisfying moment of cork v kerry match for me personally

The day Cork drew with Kerry :)

the sad reality of it all....:(

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 07/08/2011 21:19:45    1006007

do people on here watch all the other teams with the volume turned down? It goes on in all games . I noticed the rossies at it big time against Mayo. I have faced taunts many times at Dublin matches and have seen many triumphalist displays and cheers at under 10s matches by lunatic parents and managers. Chill out lads. The future is blue. Down with all this kind of talk.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 07/08/2011 21:28:53    1006015

no its just dublin

wildrover (Carlow) - Posts: 242 - 07/08/2011 21:29:03    1006016

Seem to remember Tyrone fans dishing out something similar to Fermanagh fans a few years ago in Croke Park. Without looking anything up, 2003 quarter final maybe? So don't anyone start lecturing on respect. What goes around comes around.

glenhead (UK) - Posts: 117 - 07/08/2011 21:31:51    1006024

the_walls, read sheva's full post, its not that long and not too many big words :)

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 07/08/2011 21:35:04    1006029

I don't care what county you are from if you engage in that type of jeering behaviour at matches you are not a GAA supporter. Let's be honest, jeering opposition creates a nasty atmosphere and is a poison we can do without in the GAA - it is not banter - that is just a bad excuse for ignorant behaviour. Of course you will always have a few idiots at games from every county but to see this type of behaviour become accepted as somehow normal on a mass scale would be a real shame. It will end up with supporters being segregated and that is not what the GAA is about.

From a Dublin perspective, it is not doing Pat Gilroy or his team any favours going forward as this type of bad negative support will only fire up future opposition and turn any neutral support off. However, I suspect those who boo, hiss and jeer are too dumb to realise it.

Personally, I think it would be great for the GAA in general if Dublin won an All Ireland, especially when we are competing with other sports such as rugby and soccer, it is great to see a big interest in the capital and to keep that interest in the Capital is very important for our Association. A word to the wise victory and defeat should both be accepted with grace.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 07/08/2011 21:37:10    1006033

never liked that stood on the canal end in 95 watching the dubs going up to collect Sam never wanted to have that feeling again in an all ireland final thanks to Mickey and the Boys I haven't. booing,and slagging off other supporters is childish and I maybe in the company of such people at a match that do this But! I do distance myself from such behaviour ...................

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 07/08/2011 21:49:12    1006052

What about tyrone fans chanting easy easy against donegal in the ulster semi final?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/08/2011 21:49:24    1006053

There was a pile of Donegal supporters chanting Easy Easy at the Derry supporters as well. Pathetic

ayeboy_wan (Donegal) - Posts: 25 - 07/08/2011 21:55:59    1006071

What about tyrone fans chanting easy easy against donegal in the ulster semi final?

Ah c'mon Clondalkindub do you not know anything?

No true Tyrone Gael would be involved in such antics.

Some dastardly Dubs obviously infiltrated the Tyrone support that day. In fact, going on my experiences at matches involving all counties, Dubs must be infiltrating all these games. Obviously that's the only explanation as no true Gaels from the country would be up to this lark.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 07/08/2011 21:58:19    1006078

square_ball_69
County: Westmeath

1005932 Heard it clearly after Hughes kicked a wide ! Nearly as bad as "waheying" every pass near the end..

A 3 time All Ireland winner thats who he is....

gaelic_life (Down) - Posts: 286 - 08/08/2011 08:12:21    1006082

Whilst I do not like booing or soccer chants, they are part of the parcel now-a-days. What was completely disgraceful was the Dubs on the hill chanting and talking during the minutes silence, I can only imagine how the fanillies of those deceased felt at this...

Just two points on this one:

Firstly, the speakers on the Hill werent turned on so we couldnt hear the announcements of the minutes silence. When people copped on they shushed others around them who in turn shut up.

Secondly, the chanting wasnt coming from those on the hill but rather from people coming up through the turnstiles under the hill. They didnt know either (obviously) and stopped singing when they came out onto the terrace.

DNS16 (Dublin) - Posts: 53 - 08/08/2011 08:16:58    1006084

Those tyrones fand were an embarassment bunch of kids. Fair play to Dublin they deserved it. Nobody likes the way their fans behave but it does make it al the sweeter when you do beat them.

Tyrone will be back with a new team. Absolute gold mine of footballing talent in the County and hopefully mickey stays to build a new team

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 08/08/2011 08:52:46    1006094

I doubt any of these muppets read this message board let alone know what the hogan stand is so it's unfair to judge the dubs on here (who are most likely the genuine Dublin supporters) based on these clowns.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 08/08/2011 09:50:56    1006126

Just want to make two quick points...

I was on the Hill over to the left as you look down onto the pitch... Hand on heart - I didnt hear a chant of "Who are ya" - I watched the highlights last night and you could def here that being sung at one stage... and I actually cringed. Higly disrespectful - but it happens at games and lets not be hypocritical country folk - it happens at all games.
Now if I couldnt hear it and I was on the Hill - It must have come from somewhere close to a microphone and was quite localised - because hand on heart I didnt hear it in real time.

I'll admit that I was talking for the first 20 seconds of the minutes silence - why? because I didnt have a clue that there was one in progress. We were getting lashed on and I honestly didnt hear any announcement - That's the honest truth of it. I then also noticed that there was a lot of singing going on coming up the steps and down at the bar at the back of the Hill. I actually felt quite guilty when I realised that there was actually a minute siilence in place and I was talking and joking about how wet it was.. Minutes silence should of course be respected but unfortnuately - I was one of those guilty parties that was talking and joking.

I just didnt realsie there was one in place...

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 08/08/2011 09:55:09    1006128

I agree with my county men. I'm one of those nary narks that shush people if they're talking and I too was talking a bit during the beginning of that minutes silence as I didn't hear the announcement. Usually you can hear it tho. And yes there was people singing underneath the hill area as they made their way up the stairsto the terrace but they wouldn't have been aware if it. I did hear the who are ye chants and cheerios and that was when there was 7 minutes left and we all know how quickly Dublin can lose a lead and in less time than that. I despair sometimes really I do.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/08/2011 10:07:01    1006148

Unfortunately Dublin do gather a fair quota of imbeciles the further they progress. Like other Dubs here I cringe at their antics and really would love to see them fk off and find some other source of amusement.

Having said that I was also on the Hill yesterday and there was a fair crowd of Kilkenny young fellas and young ones slagging Waterford supporters and singing 'cheerio' at those who departed early but in fairness they were a harmless bunch and nothing more to it than a few too many Bulmers and Blue Wickeds!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/08/2011 10:14:20    1006155

how quickly Dublin can lose a lead and in less time than that. I despair sometimes really I do.

I had the exact same thought watching the game last night...

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 08/08/2011 10:15:05    1006156

Every county does this, it's just more noticeable in Dublin but that's simply a matter of population, a huge number of fans will always show up on the Hill becuase it is in their own back yard and unfortunately, a handful of head-cases in there paints a bad image of the rest of them

I can say in all honesty in all the years I've been going to games, I've never once booed a player or a ref, I think it's always disappointing when you hear the booing & jeering, I like Rugby too and I remember bringing the ould fella to Thomond Park for Leinser V Munster in the Magners League final and you could hear a pin drop whenever O Gara or Sexton were taking a penalty - it was astonishing that 28,000 go from the cheering & yelling into complete and utter silence just like that, 52,000 in the case of the Aviva when Leinster played Leicster & Toulouse

It would be great if the same level of respect was shown in the GAA but it will never happen, not in Dublin or anywhere else

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/08/2011 10:19:58    1006163