Dublin v Donegal

Beautiful.Meath

donaldo

I have me ticket, bought me donegal jersey too!! Come on you boys in green!!

Ah come on now lad time to get a pastime, I'll be at the game but not supporting Donegal just to see a good game! Personally I think Donegal have nothing to loose and could cause an upset they will throw themselves into this game no doubt

I clearly have a new pastime and that's supporting donegal :) I spend my summers there and always supported them when meath were not playing

donaldo (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 22/08/2011 18:11:53    1016663

dublin will struggle to score on blanket defence,it panics teams to hit a lot of wides,think donegal could score heavy on sunday,dublin defence small in places,donegal abu

johndoherty25 (Donegal) - Posts: 82 - 22/08/2011 19:26:10    1016723

Dub Fans:

Spoiler Alert......

The Men from the Hills are coming to get ya.......:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 22/08/2011 19:29:18    1016724

Wow!! We needn't bother turning up so. Tks for the heads up lads. COYBIB 

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/08/2011 19:34:49    1016730

Bring it on , were really for yas.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/08/2011 20:16:35    1016763

My wifes from donegal and would like to see them win under normal circumstances but due to the fact the football been played by them is so rotten and likely to be aped next year my many counties should they win leads me to the conclusion that if for no other reason than the good of the gaa that dublin win

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 22/08/2011 20:22:08    1016766

Booboo I don't know what's shocked me more; you cheering for dublin or that someone would actually marry you

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/08/2011 20:33:37    1016776

:]

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 22/08/2011 20:37:54    1016778

God love your wife booboo......bless her...:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 22/08/2011 20:37:56    1016779

All things being equal Dublin will win it. They play a similar system as Donegal but have been doing it for a lot longer so have refined it a bit more and have better players in key positions. That said if either team gets around 5 points ahead it will be interesting to watch the other team having to push forward to get back into the game as neither are comfortable or setup for chasing the game. Donegal won't give up anything easy and if they stay in touch or edge ahead towards the end the pressure will really all come down on Dublin and it's then we'll see if this team really are a cut above their predecessors.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 22/08/2011 21:09:39    1016800

Doublehop.....we were 6 behind Tyrone in the Ulster semi....!!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 22/08/2011 21:18:52    1016807

Tyrone don't pull 13 players into their own half with the same intensity as Dublin do though, Tyrone try and pressure teams high up the field if they can whereas neither Dublin nor Donegal have any interest in that. Both teams are setup to sit on a lead, look what Dublin were able to soak up with 14 men against Kildare until we managed a late goal out of nothing to re-open the game.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 22/08/2011 21:33:45    1016828

Haha doublehop give it over how can all six Dublin forwards score from play if we drop 13 players behind the ball? It's not possible , we gave the best display if attacking football against tyrone this year. I reckon you kildare boys are freaked out right the thoughts of the dubs making the final must be making yous sick

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/08/2011 21:56:35    1016863

Bernard Brogan all the way

Moynalty4eva (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 22/08/2011 21:58:33    1016867

Should be a cracker - think Dublin might win it easier than most people think - weather conditions will be a factor.

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 23/08/2011 09:57:01    1016909

my life in Glasgow was made hell in the early 90s by Donegal people. The torment of 92 will finally be put to the sword on sunday. looking forward to hunting down my old club mates after a Dublin win. DUblin will win this quite easily. You read it here first.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 23/08/2011 10:11:37    1016924

I mean when ye don't have the ball clondalkindub, I can't see how that's up for debate since ye've been defending so effectively like that all year. With regards to the Tyrone match I've probably said a lot of things you don't agree with on this forum but I've never questioned the ability of all of Dublin's forwards to get scores when on the attack.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 23/08/2011 10:17:35    1016929

Doublehop I think you'll find that was the Dublin set up last year. The dropping of 13 players back was a way of keeping the game tight and ensuring that we didnn't get the same hidings as we did in 08 and 09. This game plan was devised around total defence and 5-6 breaking out in attack, this plan was effective to the point of exhaustion and a key reason for us losing the semi last year, simply put men got tired and became sloppy in the tackle giving up cheap frees.
This year the game has evolved, we maintain two men inside and if the oppossition go long we smother the middle and clean up on the breaking ball, if they go short we push up and start our defence from no. 15.
There is more emphasis on workrate from our midfield 2 of our half forwards and whoever is named as the 3rd full forward.
Its like this Connolly and B. Brogan hold the inside linbe B Cahill patrols the midfield hoovers up breaking ball with C

Kenjg80 (Dublin) - Posts: 228 - 23/08/2011 10:22:17    1016939

@thistle_harps Perhaps you shouldn't have joined a Gaa Club in Glasgow set up by Donegal people! How was your life made "hell"?

irishtom (Donegal) - Posts: 219 - 23/08/2011 10:27:33    1016942

Doublehop I think you'll find that was the Dublin set up last year. The dropping of 13 players back was a way of keeping the game tight and ensuring that we didnn't get the same hidings as we did in 08 and 09. This game plan was devised around total defence and 5-6 breaking out in attack, this plan was effective to the point of exhaustion and a key reason for us losing the semi last year, simply put men got tired and became sloppy in the tackle giving up cheap frees.
This year the gameplan has evolved, we maintain two men inside and if the oppossition go long we smother the middle and clean up on the breaking ball, if they go short we push up and start our defence from no. 15.
There is more emphasis on workrate from our midfield, 2 of our half forwards and whoever is named as the 3rd full forward.
Its like this Connolly and B. Brogan hold the inside line B Cahill patrols the midfield hoovers up breaking ball with Cullen. Flynn and A Brogan operate between the 40's and act as the link men. The aim is to dominate the middle by packing it out and have 3-4 scorers in good positions once the ball is let in.
In my opinion its a little more sophisticated than just 13 men in defence.

Kenjg80 (Dublin) - Posts: 228 - 23/08/2011 10:30:02    1016947