Dublin v Donegal

doneanddusted

For all those dublin fans getting ahead of themselves, take the tyrone game wiv a pinch of salt as from what i heard and this is coming form a reliable source, that there was major unrest in the tyrone camp in the lead up to the dublin game, which involved two of their biggest stars!

who cares about that dublin punished them start to finish never let the foot off the brakes and not only that won the battle against the ref too,as for donegal dublin will be the stronger team and can see your onion bag will been found and for the blanket defence all they have to do is bring the ball close enough dublin have the players to shot from long range to find the points so once the dubs keep composure and lets see what happens

COME ON DUBLIN !!!!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 15/08/2011 21:49:51    1011847

its gonna be a fantastic battle! suppose i would just like to ask one question, have dún na ngall peaked?? with all this talk of peaking here there or anywhere noone has even mentioned us. Now its quite clear that dublin are at the height of their powers with an amazing display of point scoring against tír eoghain, but to be fair tír eoghain's defense was shockingly open, with a huge amount of space inside. That wont happen with us, even though it is obvious that dublin can score with ease if u give them half a metre.
On the otherhand, dún na ngall have not played to their best yet at all, exept maybe in hte second half of extra time against cill dara. During that same match we went without scoring twice for a bout 30 minutes, playing very poorly and giving cill dara a lifeline. The truth is that we shouldve put they out of their misery well before that. For that reason i dont think donegal have peaked at all, we still have to play 1 solid match and that may well be against the capital. well, hopefully;)
As an afterthought i think that giving the professor 3 weeks to study the opposition will also work to our advantage. If we start well and if both murphy and mac phaidin play well (hasent happened yet) we could make the dubs start doubting themselves and work on from there.
Dún na nGall abú!!

ogi (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 16/08/2011 11:10:43    1011968

dublin will rip donegal a sunder 4-16 to 0-09

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 17/08/2011 21:57:46    1013556

dublin will rip donegal a sunder 4-16 to 0-09

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 17/08/2011 21:59:37    1013559

we heard you the first time gammy.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 18/08/2011 08:05:04    1013565

Why are the days dragging? Tyrone v Dublin game feels like ages ago now. Will Sunday the 28th of august please hurry up.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2011 12:14:17    1013765

This is a Tough call (emotionally) for me. I lived in Donegal for a few years in my Hay Day and would like to see them win
On the other hand Dublin have Looked Dangerous All year, played a great stile of football and deserve a Final spot to.

Heart - Donegal by 2 points
Head - Dublin by 4 points

Good Luck to both on the day.
I will prob end up chearing for the team that goes behind by 3 points first, The underdog and all that!!!

FromTheNa (Mayo) - Posts: 583 - 18/08/2011 15:05:55    1013991

Why is time going so slow to this game its all i can think of have a college exam the Friday before it and finding it very hard to study for it just want the 28th to come

ringerbell (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 18/08/2011 15:23:12    1014018

1013765 Why are the days dragging? Tyrone v Dublin game feels like ages ago now. Will Sunday the 28th of august please hurry up.

we must be same boat buddy and its no engine for seems like forever for this match to come around...
TALK ABOUT WISHING ME LIFE AWAY WITH A BIT OF LUCK AND NO DISRESPECT TO DONEGAL IM CONFIDENT THE DUBS WILL BEAT THEM AND AFTER THAT MATCH ILL BE ITCHING FOR THE FINAL ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 18/08/2011 20:44:38    1014261

Be careful what yez wish for dubbydave & clondalkindub!!

Ah seriously though I'm the same, just can't wait!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9871 - 19/08/2011 08:46:21    1014321

There's the history, of course. The 19 years without an All-Ireland Final appearance, but frankly, like all history, that's bunk.
I think about it a lot, and have done since I was able to kick a ball, when the GAA laid its transforming hands on me and gave me the gift or disease or whatever it is that runs in the blood of football fans country-wide.
For teams like Donegal, for all teams in fact, the Championship is where hope is born and where it can die.
All football fans like to think they've had it worse than their peers and there's a peculiarly Irish competitiveness about which team and indeed fan has suffered the most. The truth is we all suffer, and so we must, to enjoy our day in the sun.

Donegal GAA means more to me and tens of thousands of others than it should, but we can't help that. Football fandom, real football fandom, defies logic. It's deep and visceral and actually beyond logic. That's why we all shout so loudly when something seems to explain our lunacy. "That's why!" we cry, "That's why we go!"
This Championship run is one such occasion. Sceptical wives, children, workmates and pundits say 'well done', and we bask in it.

We love the football too: the players, the goals, the tackles, the saves. We love each other: the comments, the songs and shouts and shared passion. To stand (and occasionally sit down) with the massed ranks of Donegal fans on Sunday week will feel like the next step of a journey (not a short, X Factor journey, but a proper slog over many years).
We'll bear witness to the beginning of something, or the end. I'm not quite sure which.

We deserve this, the players deserve this, the board deserves this, and Jim McGuinness deserves this. I cannot let this go - my hours are filled with obsessive thoughts about Michael Murphy's hamstring, and Michael Hegarty's knee.
I have sleepless nights worrying if lads who stood with me in Breffni, or in Clones, have tickets.

Donegal GAA deserves this. So often the butt of pundits and other fans' jokes, we deserve some dignity. I love this county and the people who live in it. I'm proud to have been born here, and I imagine this is where I'll die, among people I understand. Funny, compassionate, blunt, to the point, and always up for a good time - oh what a session that would be!

I have nothing against Dublin, but I have no room in my heart or thoughts for anyone but my family, my team and my county.
Supporting a team is like playing a game, only over a much longer period. There's a lot of hard slog, tons of blind alleys and plenty of pain, but every now and again there's something sublime and gorgeous to celebrate. Let's hope it happens Sunday week!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9871 - 19/08/2011 12:04:29    1014435

Tear to the eye stuff Lockjaw! Hope you're not having any sleepless nights over me still searching for tickets!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1435 - 19/08/2011 12:30:15    1014452

A great post lockjaw. Sport is a passion which is hard to comprehend. It just gets you and pulls you around your emotions run riot because you really care. The famous Bill Shankley comment about football being more than life and death. What a great comment. You feel the hurt and the pain down to the pit of your stomach and the highs lift you to places you didn't think existed if you have really got the bug.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 19/08/2011 12:58:47    1014480

Great post Lockjaw... I'm oly 14 but am so excited about the game and how we're 70 mmins away from the final. Mammy be's giving out to me for always talking about the game and for being on this all day reading the donegal page, and making her buy all the donegal papers everyday incase thers any injury news. I just canno wait for the 28th.... and like people said up above, the days seem to be goin so slowly. Seem like ages since we played Kildare, yet feels like the 28th is never going to come.
Dún na nGall abú

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 19/08/2011 15:06:57    1014645

a boy the lockjaw, Jayocluxton himself would be proud of that one! Well said sir!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/08/2011 15:27:40    1014671

Dublin are not just playing for a place in the all Ireland final there playing to save gaelic football from the puke football brought down by them northies , so all lovers of gaelic football get behind the boys in blue cause people will stop going to matches if puke football prevails. Donegal = the devil

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/08/2011 19:27:05    1014868

predicting a full house house for croker come the 28th hope all attends both matches

COME ON DUBLIN......

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 19/08/2011 20:04:20    1014893

There's the history, of course. The 16 years without an All-Ireland Final appearance, but frankly, like all history, that's bunk. I think about it a lot, and have done since I was able to kick a ball, when the GAA laid its transforming hands on me and gave me the gift or disease or whatever it is that runs in the blood of football fans country-wide. For teams like The super Dubs, for all teams in fact, the Championship is where hope is born and where it can die. All football fans like to think they've had it worse than their peers and there's a peculiarly Irish competitiveness about which team and indeed fan has suffered the most. The truth is we all suffer, and so we must, to enjoy our day in the sun.

Dublin GAA means more to me and tens of thousands of others than it should, but we can't help that. Football fandom, real football fandom, defies logic. It's deep and visceral and actually beyond logic. That's why we all shout so loudly when something seems to explain our lunacy. "That's why!" we cry, "That's why we go!"
This Championship run is one such occasion. Sceptical wives, children, workmates and pundits say 'well done', and we bask in it.

We love the football too: the players, the goals, the tackles, the saves. We love each other: the comments, the songs and shouts and shared passion. To stand (and occasionally sit down) with the massed ranks of Donegal fans on Sunday week will feel like the next step of a journey (not a short, X Factor journey, but a proper slog over many years).
We'll bear witness to the beginning of something, or the end. I'm not quite sure which.

We deserve this, the players deserve this, the board deserves this, and Pat Gilroy and Micky Whelan deserve this. I cannot let this go - my hours are filled with obsessive thoughts about Bernard Brogans hamstring, and Michael Daragh MacAuleys Finger. I have sleepless nights worrying if lads who stood with me in Croke park , Parnell park And the rest of the country, Have tickets

DUBLIN GAA deserves this. So often the butt of pundits and other fans' jokes, we deserve some dignity. I love this city and the people who live in it (Of all denominations) . I'm proud to have been born here, and I imagine this is where I'll die, among people I understand. Funny, compassionate, blunt, to the point, and always up for a good time - oh what a session that would be!

I have nothing against Donegal or it's people , but I have no room in my heart or thoughts for anyone but my family, my team and my county.
Supporting a team is like playing a game, only over a much longer period. There's a lot of hard slog, tons of blind alleys and plenty of pain, but every now and again there's something sublime and gorgeous to celebrate. Let's hope it happens Sunday week!

BELIEVE :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 19/08/2011 20:30:42    1014913

And there was me thinking you were a reasonable type of bloke clondalkindub....

I guess I was easily deceived...:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 19/08/2011 20:49:05    1014925

Well "Gammy-Knee" you should not make comments about something you know NOTHING about. I could spend the next hour outlining for you what WE here in Denver have done to promote the GAA over the past FIFTEEN years since our club was formed. And all of it with predominately AMERICAN BORN players. I wont mention the Mens football team, the 2 Mens Hurling teams, The Camogie team, our youth program which developed young AMERICAN Players that have grown up to be part of our Adult program, the fact that 2 of those youth players made it onto the NACB minor team that beat Ney York and London 2 years ago. We also spent 2 years preparing to host what was considered one of the BEST North AmericanFinals ever in 2004.
By the sound of your moniker "Gammy Knee" you have not played or probably participated in GAA sports for many years, Gammy Knee sounds like an excuse to me??? Probably based in New York where developement of GAA games is no exisitant for American Born players due to the money going to bring in the mercenaries from home each year, or am I out of line for ASUMING??

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 19/08/2011 21:21:33    1014939