patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/08/2011 15:35:44 1004307 Link 0 |
In fairness as_ky it's Galvin that makes Donaghy tick . When Galvins injured , suspended or marked out Donaghy struggles . For the last 2 years Donaghy has struggled with the aerial ball but he's good at beating his marker to a long ball . RenardRedHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 547 - 05/08/2011 15:42:57 1004315 Link 0 |
They have some very good forwards and on their day are brilliant as a unit. I really dont think the best ever. Gouch, declan o sullivan and galvin are sheer class. rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 05/08/2011 15:45:46 1004320 Link 0 |
All the people who say no, since yer such experts tell us who you think is the best forward line? moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/08/2011 16:01:26 1004339 Link 0 |
Not being biased but you would go a long way to beat O'Rourke, Stafford and Flynn. Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 05/08/2011 16:07:46 1004348 Link 0 |
Moomoo , myself n Cute_Kerry_Hoor have already listed forwards that are better than the current Kerry 6 RenardRedHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 547 - 05/08/2011 16:44:15 1004384 Link 0 |
RenardRedHand moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/08/2011 17:10:50 1004409 Link 0 |
RenardRedHand sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 05/08/2011 17:18:08 1004418 Link 0 |
no dont think so either the 2 o suillivans are the best players in that forward line for simple reason they can dominate a game by themselves because of their ball winning abilites skill & disipline . dont think the same can be said for the rest even cooper he has looked the best for such a long time because of 2 o suillivans and d o se supplying oceans of ball to him which he is dependant on 01ros (Roscommon) - Posts: 113 - 05/08/2011 17:29:27 1004429 Link 0 |
No, the 75-86 kerry forwards were, and whilst the game is a lot different today than back then, i have no doubt that if you could take the 2 groups and train them to the same level applying the modern techniques etc of today, i have no doubt which unit would come out on top. Apart from gooch and maybe Declan O'Sullivan, could not see any of the current kerry lads edging out their illustrious predeccesors festy_o_semtex (UK) - Posts: 67 - 05/08/2011 17:35:05 1004432 Link 0 |
And a quick tally of the count tells me the "Nae's" have it. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 05/08/2011 17:45:08 1004442 Link 0 |
Cooper is top class with Declan O'Sullivan not too far behind and both would stand out on any team in any era, Donaghy and Galvin are very very good but not top class, however would make and improve any other team in the country. I think Darran O'Sullivan(despite his great goal) and D Walsh would not stand out if they were playing on weaker teams where the ball into the forwards was more scrappy and where their team was not on top over all. Im too young to compare them to teams in the 70s and 80s but I dont think they are a better forward line than the Tyrone forward line in its peak with players such as Peter Canavan, Sean Cavanagh, Brian Dooher, Brian McGuigan , Gerard Cavlan, Owen Mulligan or Enda McGinley. Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 451 - 05/08/2011 17:49:12 1004447 Link 0 |
I also in error left Stephen O'Neill out of that Tyrone list who in fairness is an unreal footballer when he is not injured Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 451 - 05/08/2011 18:07:25 1004465 Link 0 |
think donaghy is being seriously under rated here, he is at the core of every kerry attack, I may be wrong here but i would be very suprised if anybody has a higher assists to games ratio than him! This really is darren o'sullivans break through year, i really think he has the talent to prove himself a top class forward, as for donnacha walsh, while he is not as flash as the other forwards, he is necessary to have as his work rate is top class which has to be admired!! as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 05/08/2011 18:07:58 1004466 Link 0 |
My god people really don't like Kerry, easily the best forward line since the last great Kerry team of the 70/80's. Come on as good as down meath galway and tyrone they are not in the same league as the Kerry forwards of today. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/08/2011 18:32:25 1004486 Link 0 |
Its easy to look back fondly on past teams but this kerry forward line would be the best ever if not in the top three but there no way of comparing. Isnt great to even be discussed in such a forum though booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 05/08/2011 18:33:13 1004490 Link 0 |
Youre a laugh as ky. One of your brethern started this thread and maybe expected everyone to fall in line with his way of thinking. Tough. gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 05/08/2011 18:47:14 1004498 Link 0 |
no theyre definitely not the best, gooch and the o'sullivans are good players , probably if they tommy walsh in there they would be considered better cboyle92 (Down) - Posts: 184 - 05/08/2011 18:48:53 1004502 Link 0 |
Down '91-94, Galway '98-'01, Tyrone '03-08, and this present Kerry team all had/have great forward lines. In my opinion Kerry '75-82 were the best I have seen. I was at all of their championship matches in Croke Park bar the semi-finals of '77 , '79 and '82. The best forward I have ever seen played for none of the above. He played with Offaly. Take a bow Matt Connor, a true immortal. Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 05/08/2011 19:53:22 1004555 Link 0 |
no its not! now less of that sort of thing! ogi (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 05/08/2011 20:43:18 1004594 Link 0 |