Dublin and Tyrone is a Massive Game

Oh no... Saturday is meant to be a bloody wet one. Some serious showers forecast...

This will suit Tyrone a lot better than ourselves - Also with the long lay off running out into the wet...

Dublin are not a wet weather team. This is like 2008 all over again....

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 03/08/2011 15:20:45    1002533

yea, the forecast is horrific, lets hope they are gettn it wrong....dead right, bad and wet conditions will play right into Tyrones' hands.....I really would much preferred us to be in the qualifiers again, daft and all as that may sound, tyrone have momentum, been out every other week , we havent played in 5 long weeks....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 03/08/2011 15:35:43    1002549

bit early for excuses lads :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12456 - 03/08/2011 15:40:10    1002556

Why would the weather suit Tyrone better aren't we all lashed on by the same rain lads! Have a bit of faith!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2011 15:41:15    1002558

The wet whether will suit Dublin as they will seek to ruffle and negate Tyrone. Than again Tyrone are never really effected by bad weather...

Enoryt (Tyrone) - Posts: 41 - 03/08/2011 15:41:19    1002559

Just had a wee giggle there boyo after reading your claim of DUBLIN'S GAA DOMINANCE for years to come. Tell us this. When does the summer holidays end in Dublin because the sooner you get back to school the better.

To dominate something you have to win it but then again Dublin havent got the backbone needed for the heat of battle. Cork proved it last year. Kerry gave you a lesson in 2009. The less I say about your display against the O'Neill men in 08 the better and then there was that mighty footballing force from Mayo in 06 or 07? Hardly a strong record for domination.....

Leave gaelic games discussions to those that know what they are talking about. As for Saturday just sit back and admire the MEN in red giving out another footballing lesson.

Tir Eoghain abu

lomanaiochtabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 114 - 03/08/2011 16:01:40    1002586

Spot on Breffni.

The Dubs have enough excuses lined up anyway.

No doubt if they do go on to lose, we'll have to listen to it all over again.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 03/08/2011 16:26:52    1002614

Clondalkindubs post says "we will dominate" not "we have dominated". Basic grammar ffs! but you have your little rant there! COYBIB!!! 

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2011 16:38:28    1002628

This Dublin team is made of much sterner stuff than fell apart in 2008. The rain will not help Tyrone against the physically stronger Dublin side. Stepehn O Neill made a fair point in the press today when he spoke of Tyrones 17 wides last year. They were not all caused by poor finishing but rather a Dublin rearguard that forced Tyrone to shoot in tight spaces without compusure or from far out to try and bypass Dublins blanket. We only scored a paltry 9 points against Donegals blanket this year and it remains to be seen if we can overcome that intensity of defence and at the same time keep the Brogans and co at bay. Tough ask indeed.

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 03/08/2011 16:42:52    1002636

Haha your funny mate before 03 you hadn't even won an all Ireland and after this bunch of great tyrone players finish which isn't far away you will back were you belong as nobodies. Good teams come and go, your great era is coming to an end.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/08/2011 16:44:42    1002638

Enoryt

The wet whether will suit Dublin as they will seek to ruffle and negate Tyrone. Than again Tyrone are never really effected by bad weather...

I beg to differ my Tyrone friend , Laois a few years ago in the qualifiers the weather was atrocious and games in the league against Derry , yes we got the rub of the green against Dublin in Croker in 08 but this game is to tight to call and one slip by any defence could be the crucial turning point, that said hoping for an exciting and fair game may the best team win!!!!! Tir Eoghain abú.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 03/08/2011 16:54:38    1002650

clondalkin yous always get the ill informed like loyal the royal and the other from tyrone funny how he forgot about last years game or how mayo knocked them out as well , and john boss thata a great post fair play to you it will be a tight game and it will come down to who has the bottle in front of the posts

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 03/08/2011 17:00:33    1002653

hipster

1002653 clondalkin yous always get the ill informed like loyal the royal and the other from tyrone funny how he forgot about last years game or how mayo knocked them out as well , and john boss thata a great post fair play to you it will be a tight game and it will come down to who has the bottle in front of the posts

If it comes down to bottle the Dubs will be in bother I'm afraid

vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 03/08/2011 17:16:43    1002673

clondalkindub,

To say we had won nothing before 2003 is a little of the mark, we won 4 U21 all ireland titles, 5 Minor All Irelands and the NFL twice before winning Sam in 2003.
These underage titles are important as was the 2003/2010 victories for Dublin which will probably land the Dubs a senior all Ireland in the near future, maybe even this year.

Tyrone has however been building successful underage teams since then and have won 3 further all-Ireland minor titles and these players are filtering through to the senior side. The side which started against Roscommon only had 7 of the players that played in the 2003 final. My feeling is that Tyrone are in transition but have turned the curve and are now progressing in an upward direction. Saturday night will be the real test for this team. Win or Lose the experience will bring on the younger players and should leave Tyrone with a platform to be strong for the next 10 years. I don't think we are going way anytime soon :)

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 03/08/2011 17:19:11    1002676

To all the Dublin Posters on here...

Dublin have an awful lot of questions to answer on Saturday...

There form so far in the cahmpionship has been average to say the least, They were the better team against Kildare yet still needed a poor decision to go there way to win it.
The Leinster final was a shambles and many Dublin lads ive spoken too will admit that they left croke park very worried after that performance.

5 weeks on were are Dublin now? They seemed to peak to early for me... Playing 100 miles an hour in Jan/Feb and then being totally flat in Jun/Jul

Looking back on 2010, Dublin got the breaks against Tyrone and Tyrone kicked a serious amount of wides that day...
Will Tyrone kick the same amount of wides on Saturday?

Tyrone have the experience the knowledge and the man on the line to make the right calls were the presure comes on....

For me there is one player that will tip the balance to Tyrone, Sean Cavanagh i might be wrong but wasent he sick before last years game?
either way this man is flying this year and his powerfull running and his ability to get scores when required for me will be the difference.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 03/08/2011 17:19:24    1002677

Going to support Clondalkindub on this (even though he's a southsider) Dublin GAA is potentially on the cusp of something very special, we have 5 teams still playing Championship in August, with real possible chances of taking at 4 AI's, the exception being our senior hurlers who will have to beat both Tipp and KK, but you never know. We have the ingredients to not just dominate football but in time hurling also. In terms of the senior footballers I really feel that we have to win this one on Saturday night because in my view anything short of an AI final appearance this year is not progress. Quite simply Tyrone could be in transition for the next two years and we need to take advantage of that. This really is a fascinating encounter the outcome of which is very hard to predict.
Can we do it? yes, will we do it? I hope so. I'll call it Dubs -3

Kenjg80 (Dublin) - Posts: 228 - 03/08/2011 17:20:48    1002679

I'm tipping the Dubs.
I think they'll have too much pace for Tyrone

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 635 - 03/08/2011 17:26:34    1002684

Breffni39

bit early for excuses lads :)

Never too early man.

Personally I'm going for the 'Dublin's long lay-off hasn't helped them" angle.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 03/08/2011 17:26:56    1002685

Jackeen

I know what the post about domination said that is why I implied for a team to dominate they have to WIN REGULARLY. Notice those three letters in that wee word WIN. Therefore I was pointing out that this current crop of soccer chanting boys in blue have BOTTLED it more times than not when the over hyped Dublin media machine had them talked up as ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS.

Once again I never mentioned last year simply 2010 because the game was in the balance until O'Gara got the rebound off the post to score the goal that helped them stagger over the line. Hands up Dublin won but Tyrone never bottled it.

As for Mayo in 2006 no complaints either because after O'Neill goaled to level the game 1-9 to 0-12 midway through the second half we failed to score for the duration of the game. That is something that is not acceptable at such a high level.

Im looking forward to the game but Dublin and their media spouting half wits ignore the threat of Tyrone at their peril. Tyrone have nothing more to prove to anyone and I doubt if Kerry or Dublin have won an All-Ireland like 2005. Tyrone had to play Armagh three times and Dublin twice from the Ulster Final just to get beating Keery in the final. Now compare that to beating Tipperary or Waterford to reach the Munster Final or Carlow, Kilkenny or Westmeath to reach Leinster. You get the drift...

I for one am looking forward to another great occasion on Jones Road and the look of bewilderment on the Hill when they crumble YET AGAIN....

lomanaiochtabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 114 - 03/08/2011 17:32:45    1002696

Haha your funny mate before 03 you hadn't even won an all Ireland and after this bunch of great tyrone players finish which isn't far away you will back were you belong as nobodies. Good teams come and go, your great era is coming to an end.

In case you aren't a great follower of Football, you will notice that Tyrone have won Minor All-Irelands in 2004, 2008 & 2010 and lost out to eventual winners Armagh in 2009. Dublin have not won since 1984.

Dublin have yet to conclusively prove themselves, the '03 team's time is coming to an end certainly, but there are footballers just as good waiting in the wings to keep Tyrone up there where they belong.

Dublin have won one all-ireland in 27 years, which was not deserved. Tyrone have won 3 all-irelands in 7 years.

Enoryt (Tyrone) - Posts: 41 - 03/08/2011 17:34:12    1002699