Only a week to go, can Waterford make a fight of this, their pride was hurt after the Munster Final but they've responded well. Think this could well be Davy's last game and I expect Waterford will throw off the shackles and just give it a go. Nothing to lose but I think their defensive frailties will come back to haunt them. As for Kilkenny, they're doing well so far, they've found a nice corner back in Paul Murphy and winning their matches quite well. But like Tipp, they haven't really been tested firmly. I expect them to win this though and make the final on the first Sunday in September. Mulman (Tipperary) - Posts: 562 - 30/07/2011 17:26:46 998849 Link 0 |
I think Waterford can win. OK Galway are probably THE most inconsistent side in hurling so it is hard to judge Waterford's performance in the quarter final but if Waterford keep the heads down, play man v man hurling, forget about tactics and systems and go back to what they are good at they have a chance. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 31/07/2011 12:37:50 999344 Link 0 |
There has never been a lot between the teams, bar the 08 final, waterford should have no fear, everybody is expecting the final of recent years and i'm sure they'd love to spoil the party. Galway are inconsistent but they were well in touch at half time and a goal in the first minute of the second half would have tested waterford's bottle but to their credit they ploughed on. Just believe and keep attacking, they got a new lease of life with their free flowing style last week. Mulman (Tipperary) - Posts: 562 - 31/07/2011 13:09:12 999408 Link 0 |
This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here. Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 02/08/2011 10:18:49 1001258 Link 0 |
There were recent articles from walsh and delaney in which they said they'd love another crack at tipp, they'd want to be focused on waterford before they think of that. It would be funny if they took their eyes off the ball and waterford get one over them, probably won't happen. Mulman (Tipperary) - Posts: 562 - 02/08/2011 10:58:12 1001291 Link 0 |
Write Waterford off at your peril, but I think Kilkenny will just about sneak it. They will be mad to get another crack (and possibly a final one for a chunk of this team) at Tipp and try to win back Liam, but I think they will fail in that quest. Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 02/08/2011 11:01:36 1001293 Link 0 |
Can see waterford winning this one, I don't think the problems in the waterford full back line are fixed yet and Kilkenny have the firepower to take advantage of it. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 02/08/2011 11:14:00 1001307 Link 0 |
I hope you're right pinkie, maybe if davy stops with the tactics and lets them play hurling, they can have a right go, just hope it isn't over after 10 minutes. Mulman (Tipperary) - Posts: 562 - 02/08/2011 11:17:16 1001312 Link 0 |
Man v Man Waterford simply don't have good enough players to beat Kilkenny (unless Kilkenny play below their average, which is unlikely in a semi final). Liam Lawlor is still very unproven as a full back who will be severely tested by Ritchie Power/Shefflin. Aiden Kearney is sorely missed also on their full back line. A bad full back line can lose you matches but a good set of forwards can win you matches and i feel this is where waterfords major problems lie. KK and Tipp dont rely on any 3 or 4 players to get a bulk of their scores. Each of their forwards and midfielders are more than capable of putting up the scores. However the same cant be said for Waterford who need Mullane,Shane Walsh,Eoin Kelly (who is barely holding his place on the team) and Mahony on the frees to provide for them. Simply not good enough when it comes to this stage of the championship. catch_it_wil_ya (Galway) - Posts: 541 - 02/08/2011 11:45:50 1001356 Link 0 |
"So Davy has to try something tactic wise to stifle Kilkenny" Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 02/08/2011 11:59:58 1001372 Link 0 |
Typo. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 02/08/2011 12:09:48 1001382 Link 0 |
i agree Hag his use of tactics is pretty bad so far (Munster Final, enough said) but if he wants to beat KK his hand is almost forced to try something because Man for Man they simply dont have the men! Either way they could be in for a hiding depending on how well KK play,thats the real deciding factor in this game and they are not going to be stuck for inspiration with the chance of meeting Tipp in the final! catch_it_wil_ya (Galway) - Posts: 541 - 02/08/2011 12:37:54 1001425 Link 0 |
Whilst this may come back to hit me in the face, I can't see Waterford winning. Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 03/08/2011 12:24:27 1002294 Link 0 |
@puddersthecat, Last time i checked our "tactics" worked against Galway!! As they say its the managers fault when they lose!! what about when they win?? ha deiseblaa (Waterford) - Posts: 21 - 03/08/2011 13:05:14 1002353 Link 0 |
What tactics was used in the 2008 final 222 (UK) - Posts: 864 - 03/08/2011 13:25:02 1002374 Link 0 |
Waterford don't have the players to beat Kilkenny. The cats will win at a canter. I'll fall off my armchair in surprise if the game is even close! Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 03/08/2011 13:31:46 1002383 Link 0 |
The tactics against Tipperary in the semi last year didn't work because every Tipp puckout & clearance that landed in Waterford's half was still contested 50/50 inspite of them having extra men back to help. The Waterford defender invariably tried to catch the ball over his opponent's instead of simply batting it down to the extra defender in front of him. The ball usually broke unfavourably & Tipp had sharp forwards to take advantage of this. keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 03/08/2011 13:39:10 1002386 Link 0 |
Pudders is spot on, KK are just too good for Waterford ( and the rest bar Tipp). Deiseblaa, your tactics did not win the Galway game the fact that ye were playing the most inept Galway team I have had the bad luck to see in a long time was the deciding factor there.If the cats are focused they will win with a bit to spare. Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 03/08/2011 14:31:09 1002463 Link 0 |
Keeper, You're kind of onto something I think. It's not very easy to bat the ball down to a waiting man. Very few hurlers would be able to perfect that art. Doubling on it ain't easy either. However, I reckon that if some inter-county side learns to use the hurley effectively in the air, to move the ball on without catching, to bat the ball out with some degree of accuracy, they could be the next big thing. Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 03/08/2011 14:46:06 1002482 Link 0 |
Could see an upset happening here....everyone is on about waterfords backs but Kilkennys full back line is very suspect......kilkennys performance against dublin in the league final showed these lads are running on empty.....i no they beat dublin but jackie tyrell dalton hickey delaney are there for the taking.....its irrelevant really becuase tipp wil beat both of them anyway.....wud be great for hurling if waterford won...mullane tony brownw brick walsh deserve another crack at all ireland final GalwayBoy455 (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 03/08/2011 15:04:06 1002510 Link 0 |