waynoI County: Dublin Posts: 2736
986923 I dispise that "game" its absolutly vile to watch. And whats being said is true. I just wonder how many Leinster and Munster "supporters" would go to games if they where poor sides with no realistic chance of winning trophies. A bit like Soccer , If Bohs or Rovers or anyone had a team capable of winning the champions league every single year playing the likes of Man united and Barcelona , I garuntee they would be able to fill tallaght stadium or Dalymount 7 or 8 times over. Its sick
I agree with you there. I hate rugby aswell. What i hate most is the s*** they go on about like ''Its a mans game compaired to other sports'' and stuff like that. Theres something wrong with a sport that you have to go back to be able to go forward. Most rugby players are just lads who weren't good enough to play other sports
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 18/07/2011 14:47:11
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 456
Theres something wrong with a sport that you have to go back to be able to go forward
Not a big fan of Rowing ?
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 18/07/2011 14:55:30
dhorse County: Laois Posts: 8622
988134 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 456
Theres something wrong with a sport that you have to go back to be able to go forward
Not a big fan of Rowing ?
Wouldn't be top of my list i have to say
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 18/07/2011 15:04:48
Didn't think you were a Mick Wallace fan Seamie ;)
I agree with him that soccer is still a more widely popular game but I wouldn't dismiss the progress rugby has made in terms of spreading the game beyond the Dublin private schools and Limerick. Hard to argue that the likes of O Driscoll and O Connell haven't been great sportsmen for us.
roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 18/07/2011 15:06:14
Didn't think you were a Mick Wallace fan Seamie ;)
I agree with him that soccer is still a more widely popular game but I wouldn't dismiss the progress rugby has made in terms of spreading the game beyond the Dublin private schools and Limerick. Hard to argue that the likes of O Driscoll and O Connell haven't been great sportsmen for us.
Roundy
Well, his socialist politics aren't my cup of tea, as you might have realised from reading my posts, I'm not a left-winger. But if I was stuck in a lift with Mick Wallace, I'd be able to have a good chat with him about two loves we share, Italy (the food, the language, the football, the culture) and football. Mick isn't a smoked salmon socialist like many in the Labour Party, he's independently minded, he's intelligent, and he cares deeply about improving things in this country. In fact, if Mick ran in Carlow Kilkenny, I'd probably give him my vote, or at the very least a transfer.
Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 18/07/2011 16:24:47
i sat beaside Mick at a 6N game this year- he must be on the bandwago too :D
rugby is the number one sport in this country and has being for a long time now
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 18/07/2011 16:33:11
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 457
988122 waynoI County: Dublin Posts: 2736
986923 I dispise that "game" its absolutly vile to watch. And whats being said is true. I just wonder how many Leinster and Munster "supporters" would go to games if they where poor sides with no realistic chance of winning trophies. A bit like Soccer , If Bohs or Rovers or anyone had a team capable of winning the champions league every single year playing the likes of Man united and Barcelona , I garuntee they would be able to fill tallaght stadium or Dalymount 7 or 8 times over. Its sick
I agree with you there. I hate rugby aswell. What i hate most is the s*** they go on about like ''Its a mans game compaired to other sports'' and stuff like that. Theres something wrong with a sport that you have to go back to be able to go forward. Most rugby players are just lads who weren't good enough to play other sports
As a game its not as skillful as hurling but the way g. football is reffed, rugby is a much better sport. How can a contact sport like gaelic not have a defined tackle.. Plenty of munster fans would go to games when they have had no realistic chance of winning. Plenty of munster, leinster and ulster fans also attend local club games most weekends There is plenty of rugby players who played GAA to a quite a high level. Tomas O Leary captained cork to a minor all ireland but felt playing pro rugby would be better for him. I bet half of ye who hate rugby so much will be shouting in front of your tvs for ireland to win in september in the world cup
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/07/2011 17:25:42
Spot on Mick Wallace.
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 18/07/2011 18:51:55
The only sport I know where there is a rule that a man HAS to put his hand between another male's legs.
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 18/07/2011 18:54:03
You know a sport is doing well when the begrudgers are out in force. Rugby's getting bigger and bigger and that's that. Great to see Ireland actually competitive in a sport than the usual heroic failures we produce
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 18/07/2011 19:20:09
pplocal County: Tyrone Posts: 3532
988615 You know a sport is doing well when the begrudgers are out in force. Rugby's getting bigger and bigger and that's that. Great to see Ireland actually competitive in a sport than the usual heroic failures we produce
Rory McIlroy and Darren Clarke arent failures.
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 18/07/2011 20:19:58
if the players dont know the rules do you think ballyboy does
mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 538 - 18/07/2011 20:26:01
Real Kerry Fan County: All Posts: 2175
988584 The only sport I know where there is a rule that a man HAS to put his hand between another male's legs.
-------------------------------------
WRONG - a second row can bind on the outside hip of the props if they wish
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 18/07/2011 21:43:42
So they all wish not to? Is that what you're saying? All sounds a bit 'Dead Cat Bounce' to me...
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 18/07/2011 21:50:16
Seamus89
Mick isn't a smoked salmon socialist like many in the Labour Party, he's independently minded, he's intelligent, and he cares deeply about improving things in this country.
Doesn't seem to care much about improving things for the creditors of his businesses who are going bust waiting to be paid.
black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 19/07/2011 09:04:26
doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 1019
988838 WRONG - a second row can bind on the outside hip of the props if they wish
So they all wish not to? Is that what you're saying? All sounds a bit 'Dead Cat Bounce' to me...
------------------------------------
Michael Swift from Connacht and DOC form munster often bind on the hip. begrudgers just out in force yet again, rugby is well used to it
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 19/07/2011 10:26:41
I think the point is being missed here. Soccer may have people who jump on a bandwagon of a particular team, but with rugby we have people who don't even like the bloody sport jumping on the bandwagon. I grew up in Clondalkin, the rough part they're all shooting each other in lately, and nobody liked rugby there when I was growing up but I have people now I grew up with going to the European final supporting Leinster and I remember them in school slating rugby. You say it to them and they're like "oh yeah but I'm in with another crowd of people these days, ya know?" No I don't know, either you like a sport or you don't.
Padraig_Dub (Dublin) - Posts: 100 - 19/07/2011 10:57:35
liathroidboy County: Mayo Posts: 3898
-------------------------------------
Most dont wish so it is a game for fondlers!
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 19/07/2011 12:35:52
'Rory McIlroy and Darren Clarke arent failures.'
It has been a great few months for British golf, what's your point?
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 19/07/2011 13:25:21
more people watch leinster and munster per year than they would watch any gaa team - thats not as bandwagon, thats just the most popular sport in the country, like it or hate it but you cant deny it, world cup coming too folks the obsession is only going to grow :)
liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 19/07/2011 17:31:12