Why do all "culchies" dislike the Dubs?

I dont mind the Dubs. Never had anything against them, always good craic on game-day and a rivalry like no other. They're our rivals and beating them is great, but if we're not playing them I dont particularly want them to lose. In fact now that we're out I want them to win it, afer watching them knocking on the door since 2002 they deserve the top prize. And this year they look like doing it. But we really wont know until they take a really big scalp like Kerry, Tyrone, Armagh, Mayo, Galway, Cork.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 465 - 28/07/2008 14:01:42    58535

I like the dub fans with the exception for hill 16 fans,they give out to much abuse. You can have a good laugh with dub fans.There prob the only fans apart from ourselves (obviously) that I like. They make plenty of money for the gaa,you can have a laugh with them and they are one if not the best supporters in the country. hopefully sam will be coming back to leinster this year!if not, let it go north!

o2o2beo2bealily (Kildare) - Posts: 43 - 28/07/2008 14:02:58    58538

funny thing is about 90% of the people on hill16 are gaa players, and probably could tell you more about gaa than an fairweather righteous culchie fan , that would not be seen near ballyshannon, mchale park in depth of january wetaher when we have full house at the NELL for O'Byrne cup matches. The the only true set of GAA Supporters I would bow to for supporting their team thourgh bad and good times would be Armagh, great GAA People unlike Donegal (who have their fair share of Soccer Supporters, as much as dublin), Mayo- wouldn't know a knowledgeable GAA Person if they were if it was more obvious than the nose on their face, Kerry (No complaints, a decent bunch), Cork (like ourselves good and bad), Momaghan (a bit narky, but gud craic), Tyrone (grand people once ye get around the cockyiness), Meath (Great Bunch, that we always seem to get on with except for loyal2deroyal), Laois (mad but harmless), Derry (Good People, magnamious in victory and defeat).

dubs4ever08 (Dublin) - Posts: 37 - 28/07/2008 14:18:28    58559

Yes, yes they do. Do we care, no, no we dont.
Its "The Way" !!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/07/2008 14:42:56    58614

I'm a proud Dub and time and time again we are hounded by the rest of the country for problems that arise from every other ground around the country during the Championship..late arrivals, pithch invasions, etc etc etc....all the gripes that they have for us...their neighbouring counties have about them... and so on, and so on. We have a deeply divided little island and it's burnt into our subconscious. Some people naturally see the fun side of things and others dont. I personally think that Dublin would be in the top 3 counties in the country that give that special atmosphere to the Championship that everyone loves so much..I have seen many changes on the Hill over the last 20 years or so and many of them I dont like either but it's part and parcel of it. The country has changed so much for so many but nowhere has changed to the same levels that Dublin has and I think a lot of young people now see the Dublin team in a new light. Where 10 years previously some kids would never go to a Dublin game..thinking it as "Bog-Ball" now they take some pride in being from Dublin even if they dont have the first clue and many of them dont and to be honest that does bother me...and an awful lot of other Dublin supporters but thats the way it is now. Its not the same country and it's not the same game but stop blaming Dublin for it. Yes Dublin play in Croke Park a lot. Is it our fault? Is it our choice....direct your anger where it belongs and dont waste your time directing it at us you clowns. Blow the dust off your Grannys type writer or jump onto the computer and write a letter to the GAA. Then get a new sheet or two and write a letter to RTE. The Dubs play in Croke park because it genereates huge audiences and the media companies that be spend literally millions to advertise during Dublin games. RTE want Dublin in croke Park. Get that and They'll keep blasting the money at the GAA and this revenue generated benifits everyone !!!!!!..... and if you dont want part of it then you'll have to get out of supporting Gaelic Games in this country because it's the very life blood!!..the dosh that keeps those little clubs going around the country which grows all the future talent which guarantees Gaelic games in this country for as long as we want it. We are not going anywhere. If anything we are only going to grow and grow. It doesnt matter if were rubbish, average or brilliant...we'll keep on coming back and our heads will never drop like so may others around the country as their our self belief dwindles with every loss or every wide. We'll be back with record numbers from the last year...and I cant wait to see you all there.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/07/2008 14:47:31    58637

Enrico

58222 Loyal2TheRoyal

I think that was me that threw the coke bottle, i was aiming for the guy beside you so sorry about that.

I have to say it was funny though, the look of shock and horror on your face was priceless....

Enrico can you remember was it a beer bottle or a coke bottle ??

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 28/07/2008 15:14:36    58710

festinog
Theres nothing wrong with Trinity!
Dont be jealous!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/07/2008 15:51:18    58797

if 90% of the hill are such DUB fans,where are they come league games.surely if you are a real fan,you follow your team all year.most counties woul get at least 25% of fan base following them in league.if this was the case,why dont Dublin have 20,000 fans at league games?,1,000 at Cavan game last year,and it only up the road?
simple fact,not real Dublin fans but sunshine followers who are out to party!

hogoboss (Monaghan) - Posts: 617 - 28/07/2008 16:11:13    58842

Culchies hate the Dubs.because 1 you call us Culchies 2 you are arrogant and can see no one else but Dublin 3 sick of looking at papers every wekend ,with articles about Dublin,when they are not even playing 4 most of your fans are obnoxious and dog ignorant(not all but most) 5 your fans abuse other teams players yet they don't know their own team. 6 you are always holding the games up by arriving late 7 you have a crap accent 8 you act as if you are english 9 you slag us for living in dublin yet you all try to take over our country towns 10 you are all too loud

footiemad (Westmeath) - Posts: 733 - 28/07/2008 16:44:23    58919

The 10 real reason why culchies hate the dubs

1/ The media hype whereas some of your conties get a few lines for discussion

Why - Because more Dubs buy papers

2/ The number of Dub supporters in Croke Park. You feel intimidated that Dublin fans have by far the bigger mix in the stadium

Why - Because Dublin has the largest population

3/ You think Dublin are cocky

Why - Becuase the Dubs believe culchies hate them.

4/ You think Dublin get favourtism from the GAA

Why - Because its usually the wrong decision, see name of thread for thought process

5/ Ciaran Whelan

Why - Becasue you love a hate figure to use in your arguments even though he is one of the best players in the game.

6/ You go out of your way to seek out degenerates wearing the blue jersey who may be a tiny proportion but fit with your thinking of why you hate Dublin

Why - Becasue it suits you

7/ Jealousy, simple as that, not from a sporting perspective but more from an economic point of view

Why - Because you perceive most of the jobs go to Dublin. You forget that Dublin is full of culchies, but its better to forget this so the flames can be kept burning!

8/ There is a danger that Dublin with its population could dominate GAA if their lease was taking off and they for once actually started winning all Irelands

Why - Better to be safe than sorry, keep the dubs down.

9/ Reaction. You are bound to get a reaction from a Dub on a message board that say someone from say Mountmellick

Why - You culchies like to wind up people its in the blood from the early days of land grabs and land selling. You like to consider yourselves cute w£$$%%

10/ You can't talk about Down or Meath football forever on a board, or discuss the tactics of Antrim hurlers or Tipps football fans.

Why - Its hard to get past one sentence before scratching your head.

phelo (Dublin) - Posts: 28 - 28/07/2008 16:58:05    58948

Dubinmeath

Yes it is right, here il break it down, cheapest seats in the place = hill 16, area with highest % of dublin fans = hill 16...
50,000 fans?? No sign of them in the league though... These arent fans, just louts after a day on the booze...
And as for the man/woman u mentioned bringin their kids to a match, lets hope they dont subject them to the disgraceful behaviour of ur beloved dublin fans, who do nothing but ruin a family day out...
Dublin fans do no more for the game than any other fans and its more dublin b.s. to say that u do... The gaa wud get along fine, so u can keep ur 10 pieces of silver...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/07/2008 20:56:11    59195

What are you on about Mikeynora.I love the Dubs and the colour and noise they bring to the championship.Their definately my second favourite team.

AdamG (Mayo) - Posts: 309 - 28/07/2008 21:07:07    59204

footiemad, your argumant is pathetic. i see now that all our champo matches were delayed. i was under the impression that it was just the one, against you's??? and all the westmeath fans were already in croker??

and when did i think i was english?? love for ya to walk up to a group of dub lads and say that to 'em , just to see the reaction

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 28/07/2008 22:25:41    59266

Dublin should like the fact that people do not like them because in a perverse way it signifies that people have a tinge of begrudging respect for them

Nobody, for example, dislikes the Dublin hurlers as they do not see them as an All-ireland threat. The Cork supporters actually applauded one of the dublin scores a few weeks ago. I could not see this "sportsmanship" occurring if it were Henry Shefflin that did it or Alan Brogan.

Dublin, though have no All_Irelands won, are there or there-abouts every year and people resent the relative success. There are costs to success and you just have to get on with it. As Ball-Boy (apparently he is an economist) will tell you, there is no such thing as a free lunch. He will also tell you that nobody dislikes Mayo because they are not seen as an All-Ireland contender.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/07/2008 19:18:37    60357

I agree with my cork friend bennybunny, i'd swear I know him. ye dubs should lap up all this attention. in fairness to the dublin posters on this site ye have a common sence approach to your team. ye know their limitations but still have realistic expectations that ye will go all the way this year.

every county has its every day moron of a supporter. dublin has double if not treble the numbers of supporters that most popular counties have so its stands to reason that they will have proportionally more morans supporting them than most counties. this should not be held against them as sadly its a trend that is expanding big time within the GAA.

I say good luck to dublin, if they win all-ireland then they are good enough and deserve to win. i will be obviously be hopeing that cork win it but then again i hope and believe that cork will win the double. cork people get a bit of slagging aswell on HS for having such views. is it not my right to believe this and hope for this and enjoy it if we do it. the gaa is about supporting your county and cheering them on as best you can. this men and women we support are amaturewho give alot of time and dedication to their cause. they should be given some respect.

happytobehere (Cork) - Posts: 360 - 29/07/2008 21:50:30    60427

HOGOBOSS, you're an idiot, just thought I'd throw that in there, anyway 100% of you're posts are complete rubbish,

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 29/07/2008 21:57:29    60432

The only reason i hate dublin is because every time i go out there i end up leaving about ?150 in the bloody place, good job i don't get out too often. Dublin fans are a bit of craic all the same, only set of fans i ever have trouble with belong to midland counties generally kildare and westmeath, they're an angry bunch.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/07/2008 00:30:03    60536

To: Loyal to the Royal Are you sure your not Graham Geraghty in disguise? He seems to have had a few problems over the years and if as you said, Meath won on that occassion, it must have happened a long time ago. On second thoughts, maybe you are Joe Sheridan. Enjoy the rest of the Summer and Autumn and Winter consoling yourself how Meath kept the dynamic Limerick forward line to only 4 goals. Assuring the Meath minors of the full attention of The Hill in their next match!!

dubinexile (Dublin) - Posts: 4 - 30/07/2008 20:27:17    61501

Dublin GAA people are sound. The rest are anglicised idiots!!!

ChungLad (Longford) - Posts: 351 - 30/07/2008 23:10:22    61562

I have nothing against dublin people or gaa.all i will say and have ever said is that their footbllers are no good way overrated.Beaten by a mediocre mayo team in 2006

cesc4 (Mayo) - Posts: 238 - 31/07/2008 04:48:28    61629