Why do all "culchies" dislike the Dubs?

Lads alot of generalisations going on here, like saying all americans are stupid,all arabs are terrorists etc.but no hates the soccer element in the dublin support more than dublin gaa people,I was on hill16 for the wexford game and the Garda Band played 'Molly Malone' thought it would have been great to get a aul sing song going, but half the shams didnt have a clue what the rest of us were singing and wanted to sing soccer chants. So i guess what im attempting to say is that until DCB find a better way of distributing tickets we will have to live these egjits. But dont generalize the genuine dubs support as you will struggle to find more knowledable gaa people than the core dublin support.

dubs4ever08 (Dublin) - Posts: 37 - 28/07/2008 11:42:37    58235

Loyal2TheRoyal:

1. That smack of a bottle seems to have made you delusional as well....

2. Oh I know I know, Ciaran Whelan - the cheek of him still being in the championship....

3. Did I mention yis were trashed in football by a hurling county?

4. So you were on the hill last week? Sure you don't have anybody else to support...

5. I'm devastated I'm not on that list.

6. You worry about him and I'll worry about you.

7. Yeah it must be very annoying seeing a blue hill again in August.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 28/07/2008 11:43:00    58238

could any Dublin fan on hill 16 name 5 or more Dublin players????

hogoboss (Monaghan) - Posts: 617 - 28/07/2008 11:46:01    58243

RMDrive

LOL. Now that would have been an entertaining minute if they got back into it.

Well like i said last week, i know it was unlikely, but what if they had managed to get 6 or 7 goals in that minute? It would have been some tense finish to the game then

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 28/07/2008 11:51:29    58260

Although certain reasons have been posted on the board as to why Dublin is hated by so many other counties, I can shed some more light on why this is the case

1. Judas was seen sporting a navy and blue scarf as he made his way out of the last supper
2. The plague was started by rats from Dublin, special rats who smoked john player blues and drank cans of dutch gold in public parks
3. Professor John Dublin invented Income Tax
4. It was thanks to Dublin that Celine Dion became famous
5. The Zappruder footage clearly shows a man holding a rifle shaped navy n'blue flag on the grassy knoll

There are many others but I think these are major contributions to the hatred of all things Dubs

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 28/07/2008 11:58:54    58281

hogoboss
County: Monaghan

58243 could any Dublin fan on hill 16 name 5 or more Dublin players????

Yes

Enrico (Dublin) - Posts: 148 - 28/07/2008 12:06:34    58306

Yes Hogoboss ... I will wrack my brains to come up with a few names

Cluxton, Henry, O Shaughnessy, Griffen, Cahill, Cullen, Nolan (or Moran or Flynn), Whelan (or Fennell), Ryan, Brogan, Sherlock, Quinn, Connolly, Bonner (or Vaughan), Keaney

Other players on the bench but who have featured include McConnell and B Brogan as well as the "ors" i mentioned above.

Anything else you'd like to know about the Dubs Hogo?

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 28/07/2008 12:06:59    58308

i don't think the hatred isn't for the actually team its about the media, the gaa and the supporters.
the media give dublin all the attention and seem to forget that there are 31 more counties in ireland most of the time.
the gaa seem to favour them over everyone else for example letting colin moran back to play in the leinster final and allowing the game to be delayed because the supporters wont come in on time. dublin also get praised for bringing the amount of supporters that they do to croke park but its easy for them when its only down the road. what about all the counties that have really long trips to croker? kerry? cork? donegal? monaghan? mayo? etc etc. if the matches were in one of those counties im sure the dubs wouldn't have such a great following. also with the supporters im sure the majority of them are ok but a few years back i was at a dublin/meath match surrounded by dubs and the language and things they were saying were disgusting and i think thats what would make most other counties anti-dub. having said all that i think they have a very good team and will go far this year!

kefan (Kildare) - Posts: 498 - 28/07/2008 12:08:03    58312

I suppose my hatred for them stems from an incident a few years back. I was sitting in the Cusack Stand near the Hill16 end and the game I was watching had just finished (needless to say, Meath were after beating Dublin) and I was getting up to leave when a coke bottle came flying in my direction. It hit me square between the eyes but fortunetely, there was no physical damage. However, it has had a big effect on me mentally, I still have nightmares about the incident and had to get two months counselling in an attempt to come to grips with my near death experience. I got lucky but others might not be as fortunate. True story.

Sorry Loyal, but I can't read that story withoiut having a little chuckle to myself. you have to admit it is a bit funny.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 28/07/2008 12:11:16    58320

I had a fellow throw tomatoes at me at a match some years ago. People say tomatoes dont hurt but they do when they are in tins !

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/07/2008 12:27:30    58359

Beacaire Gorm
Fair play to the mayo lads for going down to the hill. Ur reaction reeks of dublin b.s. The hill doesnt belong to ye, its full of dubs cuz they r the cheap seats... Dubs seem to think that every1 is out to get them and try to rub it in every1's faces, when the reality is no1 cares about dublin more than any other county... So when dublin lose ppl say there ye go, ye'r actually nothing special, and dubs go through the roof, 'youz are just jealous'... Jealous of wot exactly??
And as for this nonsense about real dub gaa fans being so knowledgeable, i have yet to meet any of these guys... I thought mark vaughan was a 'real gaa man', till he got streched out for mouthing off even tho dublin had lost... Only in Dublin...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/07/2008 12:29:56    58369

You think thats bad Loyal. I was walking up Clonliffe Road last year when a crowd of gurriers with green and yellow jerseys appeared in front of me. They were all drunk and singing something about Meath Ultras. My 92 year old granny was with me - bless her - and she wanted to know were Meath Ultras a new brand of cigarettes. Anyway just ahead of us one of these lads hopped on someones car and began to remove a Dublin flag from a lamp post. All this while the other sheep in the herd bayed various animal noises. When the flag was removed there was a ritual burning to the sound of more animal noises and general savage behaviour. My granny asked me why these 'bold lads' were burning the Dublin flag as the ambulance man gave her more oxygen. All I could say was 'forgive them - for they know not what they do.' But she was really annoyed and said 'May their team be humiliated the next time they darken Croke Park, may they be humiliated again on the double next year' and blessed herself............

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 28/07/2008 12:35:15    58381

Im not speaking for all culchies when I say this just myself! Look at this message board for instance...Dublin people have to be the most annoyin group of individuals when it comes to football. It happens at the same time every year, you's win Leinster and then all the talk starts about how great Dublin are. Who did ya's beat along the way...Westmeath was your toughest game and they were bet by a tyrone team without their two best players Sean Cavanagh(who went off when they were behind) and Stephen O Neill(who if he was playin would still be one of the best forwards in the country) and who have not hit full form yet. The All Ireland is very open this year but I cant see Dublin doing much when they come against the Ulster teams for instance were their forwards will not have half of Croke Park free to run round in! Why do ya's always think ya's are so great? You really arent...you's have some lovely stylish footballers who have excellent passing ability and shooting but only with that space. When the chips are down in the last 10mins and you need players to win the dirty ball it wont happen! So in my opinion you's wont win the All-Ireland this year! Yes the media has you's as high-profile as ya's are but ur supporters are taunts and sneers!!! Thats only the opinion of one man however...who am i to say? P.S. I hate ''Da Dubs''

Tony (Cavan) - Posts: 63 - 28/07/2008 12:38:52    58390

Your google is working ok then i see, Beacaire Gorm

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 28/07/2008 12:46:12    58413

I bow to your obvious superior knowledge O great Master ...

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 28/07/2008 12:51:11    58428

The hill doesnt belong to ye, its full of dubs cuz they r the cheap seats... - is that right Master?

And what about the other 50,000+ Dubs who paid 25 euro for a stand seat for a 1st round match and 35 euro for the Leinster Final? What about the Dub fan who brings his/her kids (or the pensioner) and gets a paltry rebate of euro15 on a euro 35 ticket - IF they have Cusack Stand tickets only. Note - No increase in rebate despite price being a tenner dearer. (What about the Munster final where there were two for one offers and other specials and still only 22,000 bothered turning up - no such offers for the Dub fans who have greased the palms of the Leinster Council for years now).

You are a clown and like a lot of others here (a lot from your own county) know nothing about what Dublin fans do for the game at club level here not to mention what we bring in terms of finance, support, colour etc. We get shafted all the time but keep filling the grounds. Face it - and I am not being funny here - imagine the state the GAA would be in without us.

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 28/07/2008 13:03:10    58447

What's a google Bannnas ... i thought that was like a 1 followed by a gazillion zeroes ....

Seriously though, no ... just top of my head and based upon being at a lot of O'Byrne, League and Championship games down through the years. We might be in the minority but there are a few of us who do actually know our team and their positions and what is expected of them for each of their positions etc. But I take the point that there are quite a few gobdaws heading to Hill 16 who don't really have a clue other than one or two of the players and to hurl abuse. It goes with the territory and actually was far, far worse in the 70s and 80s than it is today.

I have been (nearly) involved in some ugly fans vs Garda scenes / riots etc in my time and am glad that seems to have gone out of our support base (by and large)

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 28/07/2008 13:19:26    58471

i dont dislike the dubs. they bring great crack to the c'ship and i would support them against most teams. they can take a bit of guff and give it.

voiceofreason (Mayo) - Posts: 588 - 28/07/2008 13:22:21    58478

Other reasons Dublin is hated:

Brendan O'Carroll. 'Nuff said.

It has the cheek to call itself the capital city when everyone knows that honour in fact belongs to Cork. Or at least everyone in Cork knows it.

It's full of Mayo people.

It's too close to Meath.

Trinity college.

Bono and Eamon Dumphy live there. As does Gerry Ryan and Joe Duffy. A hard cross for any city to bear.

Dublin has the audacity to win the All-Ireland every now and then. Damn their eyes.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 28/07/2008 13:46:45    58513

I've said it before and I'll say it again.
There is no mistery to why some people hate the Dubs, its quite simple but the ingrained stubborness of Irish people doesnt all ow us to reveal it.
Let Snuffy put it in simple terms:

Take your own friends for instance or people you know:
There are two types of people you slag off or give a hard time to on this earth and they are....
1. Your closest mates. You love to slag off constantly. Why? Because you know they can take it and because you enjoy it and they enjoy it. They will tease you back and there is no harm in it yet you can badger them mercilessly. Irish friendships are based on 'slaggin'. They are also the ones you would most miss were they gone!

2. Those you are jealous of. Most of us leave this behind us during our teenage years and when we grow up and fend for ourselves we see that all people cannot be equal. Some can afford nice things and others cant. Thats the way the cookie crumbles. For those that cannot, thats just their make-up as individuals. The best way to attempt to lessen the more successful people in the eyes of right thinking member of society is to 'abuse' them. "What we are jealous of - We abuse!"

That leaves us with HS message board.
Some of the worst antagonists of the Dubs on this site fall into category No. 1 and are endlessly jibing the Dubs, but it is all playful stuff and harm is not done. Most of these will have many Dublin friends they went to college with etc.

Those in category No. 2 are more vicious. This is the jealous person. The jealousy is DEEP rooted. Many see Dublin as the place where money is made and the place with the best hospitals and places to shop and such trivial things as those and begrudge the fact that they dont have these things on their own door. My own opinion is that these people see themselves as having an inferiority complex due to the fact that their county did nothing for Irish freedom yet find solace in 'mocking the failure of the ones with the courage from Dublin' which takes the glare off their own counties shining inadequacies as the 'best form of defence is a good offence'.
People know well my views on this.

Some of you will scoff at my post, especially the last part as typical Snuffy stuff but to do so is to only fool yourself, but amongst your number out there some of you will think deep and realise the truth is in the words I have written.
1. We only slag the ones we really actually like.
2. What we are jealous of, we abuse.
Consider this to your own circle of friends and see how right I am.

Consider my words and be true to yourself as you read them.

"I was cursed with a brain!"

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/07/2008 13:49:41    58519