Why do all "culchies" dislike the Dubs?

Bit of a generalization there about the entire Mayo contingent on this site. All fairness this topic emerges every year and no one ever pins it down!!

Mayo89 (None) - Posts: 159 - 27/07/2008 22:05:27    57871

Mikeynora, I have to clear my name when it's blackened. On the contrary my friend, I really like the dubs. I'm always defending them (both the fans but more so the players). The most important thing to say about them is that they the play the game the way it should be played, good, direct kick-passing mixed with a little bit of hand-passing (not the other way around, take note Ulster)mixed with great,pace, stamina & strength.

Also I love the way they're putting so much work into hurling in terms of the underage setup.

So there!! UP THE DUBS!!

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 27/07/2008 23:18:26    57915

If ye didn't brand everyone outside the pale as culchies there wouldn't be a differentiation., it'd be just ye against the individual counties. Learn geography and discover Ireland. I blame the GAA as much as ye you should be made travel more and discover Ireland.

westlim (Limerick) - Posts: 5 - 27/07/2008 23:53:35    57935

Dublin are my favourites to lift Sam at this stage, and if they do I wouldn't begrudge it to them.

Shane Ryan, Sherlock and Brogan are great players to name a few. Thought we were blessed to come out with a draw in Parnell Park league match. If they don't implode, a la England in the foreign code, the talent is there.

Perhaps we perceive Dublin as the England of GAA world? Maybe that's why part of us sadistic culchies delight in your pain and agony - when you want it so badly. Blazing the ball wide at critical stages. That kind of hush over Hill 16. Enter at your peril - this is our patch. Choke Park. AAAAAAAAAAwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

Now that I've got that off my chest if we don't do it I be happy to see Dublin do it. Loads of time for fans going away to League and backdoor games (when you don't take Leinster by storm.) Dublin's toughest game was to Westmeath, who are more than a very decent side, and the win was well won.

A rematch with us would kind of continue the "It's deja vu all over again." Rocky 2 with Kerry in the meantime. I'm sure Dublin to love to see Kerry out of the equation and fancy their chances against us if were were to come through the next one.

babser (Monaghan) - Posts: 103 - 28/07/2008 00:27:48    57946

OK,The reason i dont like the DUBS is due to their fans.
they dont travel to league games and come championship time they all jump on the bandwagon and use a game in croker as an excuse to go on the lash.80% of Dub fans at a championship game in croker could not name 3 Dublin players.this is unfair as real football fans struggle to get tickets for these games.
also Croke park is not Dublins home venue and yet 99% of championship games are held there given other teams in ireland an unfair advantage in the latter stages of the championship due to lack of playing time at HQ.

hogoboss (Monaghan) - Posts: 617 - 28/07/2008 08:31:07    57975

Didnt realize there was a dislike of the Dubs,certainly not in Armagh anyway. Maybe were not culchies...

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1072 - 28/07/2008 08:48:30    57984

Mikeynora
County: Limerick

57587 , The Mayo lads, in fact the entire Hoganstand ppulation of Mayo and Galway,

I resent that statment. Im not anti dub and nor have i ever made a remark or such rubbish. Your whole ststment is rubbish as there was hardly an antidub remark passed all year (except by the usual haters) so please dont count me as part of the Mayo Mafia............ OK!

FromTheNa (Mayo) - Posts: 583 - 28/07/2008 09:11:50    58007

'in fact the entire Hoganstand ppulation of Mayo and Galway'

Mikeynora, its a bit cheeky to say the entire HS populations of both counties dislike the Dubs. Just because you have seen ONE person constantly rising them dosent mean you should generalise. I have nothing against them. I think the Dubs get the abuse they do, probably because of all of the media coverage/hype

Spuddy (Mayo) - Posts: 345 - 28/07/2008 09:29:24    58018

27/07/2008 02:53:58
Mikeynora
County: Limerick
its something i have never understood. Why do you all dislike the dubs? And its not just a "bit a crack" ...there seems to be a HUGE anti dubs thing here and i dont get it? I mean before they played Louth people said Louth would beat tham, then it was westmeath, then it was wexford. People said all woudl beat them, no-one did, but no one gives the Dubs credit, but ye all said they would lose? It seems to me there is a blind hatred for Dublin. Now i will make a confession, My Da is a Dub, so I have a soft spot for them. I mean say the like of Loyal, Redngreen, Spudenator, Horse, Lifford Gael, Mossbags, The Tyrone lads, Saminone, Bannerboy, The Mayo lads, in fact the entire Hoganstand ppulation of Mayo and Galway, Tomastralee, Real Kerry Fan, RMDRIVE, Niamh and so so so many more, and especially the westmeath gang.
I dont get it. I am a Limerick man to the core, but I will always have a soft spot for the Jackeens, am I alone amongst non Dubs? I hope not. Ring a Ring a Rosey....

Hmmmm. It's tough enough for me to face into this morning with Donegal out of the Championship, but now on top of that I have to reply to this drivel? Well where do I start . ??
- Don't call me a culchie. It's on par with calling the Dub's Jackeens and I think that both are meant to be disrespectful.
- We do not ALL dislike the dubs. I defy you to find an example of a post from me that was in any way anti-Dublin. In fact, I defy you to find a post from me that was anti-anyone. There are a few people on here that dislike the dubs. Get over it. There are loads of people on here who dislike Armagh. Who dislike Ulster football in general. Who dislike Mayo people.
- Some of it IS just a bit of craic.
- Using inflammatory language like "blind hatred for Dublin" is ridiculous and completely inaccurate. You are disrespecting an awful lot of good posters by making such a generalisation.
- IMO there are 2 sources to the problem of some people's dislike of Dublin: Firstly it's the Chip on the Shoulder attitude of some from outside the capital and secondly it's the Condescending and Siege mentality of some from Dublin. Both are wrong.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 28/07/2008 09:47:28    58031

The reason most people from outside of dub dislike the dub supporter has a simple explanation i think

>>Its the minority(i stress this) of supports who go to games too drink and taunt other county's supporters, I have sen it first had, at last years leinster final, the man sitting in front of us was drinking from a naggin and shouting very helpful advice to the players " put it over the bar " any time they had the ball, showing his extreme knowledge of the tactical nature of the football these days. the same sort of dub supporter who on the way out picks an individual group of opposition supporters to blow horns at and sing cheerio cheerio to.
This minority of dub supporter does harm to the public image of the majority, We all remember the teenager accidentally caught on tv in the crowd drinking vodka!!!

full2forward (Offaly) - Posts: 28 - 28/07/2008 09:50:58    58033

Coming from irelands 2nd city, ive no great luv for the dubs either, particularly because of the soccer style chanting that goes on at their matches, during the wexford game i heard the 'who are you' nonsense being chanted at wexford players. In a way i suppose we can blame the dubs for the diving antics thats going on because of the soccer influence exerted by their supporters.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 28/07/2008 10:14:23    58063

Nope now anti dubs they grown on me over the last while.

The really strong dub accent has me in knots laughing.... the one that sounds like ronnie drew gargling a mouth full of thumb tacks

I'm anti skanger and anti-dubs media alright!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 28/07/2008 10:38:29    58118

ive no problem with them, let people make up their own mind about the dubs and their behaviour, check out the 06 semi as a good reference, they bring color and noise and well not alot else

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 28/07/2008 10:38:57    58119

Reasons why I hate the Dubs: 1. I suppose my hatred for them stems from an incident a few years back. I was sitting in the Cusack Stand near the Hill16 end and the game I was watching had just finished (needless to say, Meath were after beating Dublin) and I was getting up to leave when a coke bottle came flying in my direction. It hit me square between the eyes but fortunetely, there was no physical damage. However, it has had a big effect on me mentally, I still have nightmares about the incident and had to get two months counselling in an attempt to come to grips with my near death experience. I got lucky but others might not be as fortunate. True story. 2. Last week, the theatrics of Ciaran Whelan really annoyed me. This was not an isolated incident and this sort of behaviour I detest. 3. Goading the opposition, this is a disgraceful act and we all know who are the culprits. It is hard enough for weaker teams to accept their defeat without it, being rubbed in their faces. Having said that, you won't see Alan Brogan or Mark Vaughan goading the Conor Mortimers of this world because they know what they will get if they do. In fact, I would love to see Vaughan do it The Mort. 4. Dublin fans have a serious lack of knowledge of their own players. To be a great Dublin player your name has to end in an "o" or a "y" e.g. jayo, wheelo, keaney. I wonder how many times was the questions "Who is the new no.10?" and "Why didnt he pass to Jayo/Wheelo" asked last week on the Hill. 5. Snufalufagus. In an era, when I have loads of respect for many dubs on this website e.g. Liam (my favourite of all dubs), JayoCluxton, Holymoly, Lino_De_Legend, etc, the great Snuffy really does get on my nerves. 6. The abuse one Mayo poster has suffered at the hands of many dubs has been nothing short of a disgrace. 7. The people on The Hill in general. Throwing items at fellow supporters and even gardai (see youtube) and other antics such as entering the field of play before the game has ended. Last week, the ref should have abandoned the game, if I was from Wexford, I would be very put out.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 28/07/2008 10:48:18    58136

whats a culchie?

Rickyknowsbest (Mayo) - Posts: 54 - 28/07/2008 11:01:19    58160

Loyal2TheRoyal County: Meath entering the field of play before the game has ended. Last week, the ref should have abandoned the game, if I was from Wexford, I would be very put out _____________________________________ Couldnt agree more Loyal. I mentioned this last week on here and im surprised that wexford havent pushed to have the game awarded to them due to it being blown up early. If they had been given that extra minute then who knows what might have happened. They should feel very aggrieved

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 28/07/2008 11:14:51    58183

somebody from Kiltimagh

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 28/07/2008 11:32:21    58213

I honestly believe a lot of it is down to a bit of jealousy over the following:

1. We have a huge support base for the football team and if you are not from Dublin you don't get to experience that big atmosphere too often. We get it year after year with each Championship game and I honestly think a lot of people are a bit jealous of this.

2. We have all our Championship games in Croke Park. I admit this is an advantage but it is also what keeps the GAA going financially, certainly the Leinster Council anyway. It is perhaps an unfair advantage but moving Dublin's games to Parnell park would only result in 50,000 people not being able to see the games and would be economic suicide for the GAA. So this will stay and we will always have a dedicated stadium for our games, but I think this irritates a lot of people from outside Dublin.

3. The swagger ... when we are in the mood we are unstoppable but I know this kind of arrogance winds everyone up, but know what ... we love it.

4. The fact that we traditionally converge on Hill 16 and the Hill 16 end for our warm ups. The GAA is built on tradition and Hill 16 holds a special place in the hearts of all real Dubs. It is the rubble of the Easter Rising in 1916. For details enquire from Mr Snufalufagus esq. The Manor House, Lucan. I know this really winds people up, including Nicky Brennan. Yes it is presumptuous for Dublin to claim that end of the ground but hey, given the numbers we bring to every game we are entitled to our tradition and preferences. It was very arrogant of Mayo to provoke a situation in 2006 when they had the temerity to warm up on front of Hill 16. There wasn't a bodhran stick to be had in Dublin for weeks after that.

Come on lads and lassies, yis know yis love us secretly !!

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 28/07/2008 11:32:52    58214

Loyal2TheRoyal

I think that was me that threw the coke bottle, i was aiming for the guy beside you so sorry about that.

I have to say it was funny though, the look of shock and horror on your face was priceless....

Enrico (Dublin) - Posts: 148 - 28/07/2008 11:37:28    58222

28/07/2008 11:14:51
whiterbannnas
If they had been given that extra minute then who knows what might have happened.

LOL. Now that would have been an entertaining minute if they got back into it.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 28/07/2008 11:40:47    58230