its something i have never understood. Why do you all dislike the dubs? And its not just a "bit a crack" ...there seems to be a HUGE anti dubs thing here and i dont get it? I mean before they played Louth people said Louth would beat tham, then it was westmeath, then it was wexford. People said all woudl beat them, no-one did, but no one gives the Dubs credit, but ye all said they would lose? It seems to me there is a blind hatred for Dublin. Now i will make a confession, My Da is a Dub, so I have a soft spot for them. I mean say the like of Loyal, Redngreen, Spudenator, Horse, Lifford Gael, Mossbags, The Tyrone lads, Saminone, Bannerboy, The Mayo lads, in fact the entire Hoganstand ppulation of Mayo and Galway, Tomastralee, Real Kerry Fan, RMDRIVE, Niamh and so so so many more, and especially the westmeath gang. I dont get it. I am a Limerick man to the core, but I will always have a soft spot for the Jackeens, am I alone amongst non Dubs? I hope not. Ring a Ring a Rosey.... Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 27/07/2008 02:53:58 57587 Link 0 |
It is good fun having someone to shout against in the championship. The carry on of the Dublin fans make them prime canidates bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 27/07/2008 11:52:11 57646 Link 0 |
Mikeynora whether you disagree with it or not...you should really know the answer to that question iarmhiman (Westmeath) - Posts: 140 - 27/07/2008 12:20:59 57655 Link 0 |
I think it's the media thing. They're a bit like England in the World Cup. Everyone on the outside is just dying to see them fall. I have nothing against the Dubs, I find the majority of their supporters to be a knowledgable crowd and good bit of craic. But I can see how others could get wound up by them. It can be a bit like a pantomine at times. Playing to the Hill and all that craic. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9783 - 27/07/2008 13:41:49 57692 Link 0 |
I for one don't. I think they add greatly to the spirit and atmosphere at a match. Like other counties they have some annoying supporters but no more or less. They are a very knowledgable kind of supporter and true Dubs are probably the best people i have met, unlike the wannabe Dubs. Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 27/07/2008 13:42:21 57694 Link 0 |
Could'nt care less, Dub and proud PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 27/07/2008 14:59:47 57715 Link 0 |
I'm a culchie and I like the Dubs. Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 27/07/2008 15:44:14 57725 Link 0 |
Im actually a bit shocked you singled me out, I have said on many I thread I like the Dubs, and I also have a thread saying they are one of 3 teams I want to win Sam. Ask Jayo he knows. Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 27/07/2008 15:45:33 57726 Link 0 |
Bennybunny at least we go and watch our team play,are u sure it wasnt the cork fans who went on strike as well as your team. thin lizzy (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 27/07/2008 16:26:40 57732 Link 0 |
Mikeynora - I don't think a lot of the people you named are anti Dub at all. There is a fair bit of it about though but that's life. Mostly its banter but there are a few who seem to have a genuine hatred of all things Dublin. The likes of bennybunny are more to be pitied than listened to. Despite all the stuff that goes on here I would never post a gloating message after a county gets beaten in the Champo but I'd say there are a few people on HS dying for the opportunity if the Dubs get the flick! And Niamh is sound - ok Niamh? JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 27/07/2008 16:40:43 57735 Link 0 |
How can someone be anti-Dub? It's like kicking puppies or Mayo supporters ;) festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 27/07/2008 16:52:27 57737 Link 0 |
Ha, thanks Jayo, I don't like to be exposed as an villan!! Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 27/07/2008 16:53:16 57738 Link 0 |
its coz of the behaviour of thier players. thier policy is if we cant beat them we will bate them. also cockiness doesnt help brett favre (Sligo) - Posts: 659 - 27/07/2008 17:01:02 57741 Link 0 |
Jayo and Niamh, love is in the air, I want an invite to the wedding PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 27/07/2008 17:11:54 57747 Link 0 |
i don't mind the dubs at all, i think they've an excellent football team and are usually there or thereabouts in football championship.... nevergiveup08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 315 - 27/07/2008 17:38:40 57752 Link 0 |
My mrs. is a Dub. Hope that answers your question Mikenora mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 27/07/2008 18:08:11 57760 Link 0 |
look its as simple as this, the dubs are like the english is world cups and euros, every year they should be in with a shout of winning it, when they rarely are ever as strong as teams like kerry, tyrone or armagh! eochair (Tyrone) - Posts: 213 - 27/07/2008 18:58:18 57769 Link 0 |
In fairness Brett there has been none of that this year at all - just good football. Agree? JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 27/07/2008 19:33:45 57797 Link 0 |
1) Turning up for games when yous feel like it. Down and out (Down) - Posts: 65 - 27/07/2008 20:41:50 57833 Link 0 |
Constant preferential treatment compared with other counties e.g. this year not all football 1/4 finals will be in Croker because Dublin have been given a standalone fixture so they wont have to share tickets with 4 teams. So not alone do they never play a game outside Croker, they are denying other teams a chance to play in it! I know its not the teams fault but..... Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 27/07/2008 21:39:33 57861 Link 0 |