This topic has been closed. No further posting is allowed.
You know something Real Kerry Fan your absolutely spot on, Northern Ireland should scrap their anthem aswell in an effort to join together in peace. But in all honestly I'm misleading you a bit here, I couldn't really give a monkeys if the anthem and flag are ever changed or not. I'm very happy and content with where I'm from but I have very little time for signs, symbols or especially patriotism! We're all children of the one earth man.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/07/2011 12:19:19
hahahahaha what aload of crap i see on here dublin is a foreign city that happens to be on our isle one person said,well if thats the case then you are ruled by foreing city as its the capital of the isle you fool.how am i foreign how is dublin anymore differant to the rest brits invaded the entire country and if it wasnt dublin leading the rising they would still be in blarney,dingle,castlebar,enniscorthy and carnaross
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/07/2011 12:23:56
You're making assumptions about how many people it truly represents Meath Bhoy. I would suspect a referendum on the subject would be an eye opener for people holding such assumptions. Unfortunate thing about symbols in Ireland is that they're quite often used as a stick to beat people. Tribal flag waving is no more or less repugnent, depending whether the flag happens to a Tri-colour, a Union Jack, an Northern Ireland flag or indeed any other flag.
glenhead (UK) - Posts: 117 - 12/07/2011 12:38:54
Meath Bhoy: "the soldiers song the sooner it is got rid of the better its a shameful song from a shameful past and to say it is embarassing is an understatement."
Typical pseudo liberal attitude. Of course your ilk would be emnarrasesd.
lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 12/07/2011 12:56:47
I think it's time to change the National Anthem, it's way too outdated.
Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 12/07/2011 13:23:09
Some of the attitudes to our anthem and flag on here is an absolute disgrace!! The thousands of people who died for our freedom and distain shown here is unbelievable. I am from the North and we have had our fair share of strife too - perhaps the persons here being disrespectful cant see that. At every match I sing Amhrán na bhFiann with pride as I am as Irish as someone from Derry, Dublin, Cork or Mayo!
Everyone should be able to sing the national anthem and give it the respect it deserves given the sacrifices given for it to be played and the national flag to be flown!
LocAnOilean (Down) - Posts: 67 - 12/07/2011 13:23:45
I hate it when people mix politics with sport.......
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 12/07/2011 13:24:30
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 681
981942 hahahahaha what aload of crap i see on here dublin is a foreign city that happens to be on our isle one person said,well if thats the case then you are ruled by foreing city as its the capital of the isle you fool.how am i foreign how is dublin anymore differant to the rest brits invaded the entire country and if it wasnt dublin leading the rising they would still be in blarney,dingle,castlebar,enniscorthy and carnaross
----------------------------------------------------------------
Dublin leading the Rising.....go and learn your history.
Where was Dublin when the Catholics of the North were being batoned up and down the streets of Derry, Belfast and elsewhere in the North for over 30 years? Where was Dublin when GAA supporters right across Ulster were harassed, intimidated and shot while travelling to games? It's ok to trump out the pathetic line about 'why can't ye all live in peace up there'....if only it were that simple but it comes from a simplistic view of history on which southern nationalists have been reared....the simple truth is that Dublin stood idly by while their so called brothers suffered up North for generations so spare me your little rant on "if it wasn't for Dublin...."
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 12/07/2011 13:29:23
Lifford Gael - We didn't stand idly by. We went to matches and sang about how we'd defend Ireland. Then we went home and slept safe in our beds!
That was the gigantic hypocracy of the whole thing, and the era during which that song lost all sense of meaning. I always get the impression that some of the people who mouth off about 'respect for the anthem' are the exact same people who have no understanding of what the song means, what the nation was supposed to be, or the absolute joke the whole thing became.
I have enormous respect for the people who risked their lives to make a better Ireland. And I suspect that many of them would agree with me when I say that we now need to define our nationality and nationhood, in terms of justice, equality, fairness and true republicanism. Many of the people who sing that Brit bashing nonsense, don't seem to understand that the present day State flies in the face of all of those things.
You guys can respect the song all you want. The best of luck to you. But I need to do more than sing a meaninglessly hypocritical song at a match, in order to feel that I'm being true to the ideals of former generations. Maybe Brogan feels the same way. And maybe you should be as tollerent of him, as he is of the song.
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 12/07/2011 13:45:56
It is clearly yourself who needs a history lesson Lifford Gael. Not only did Dublin come out in 1916 but Dublin along with Cork, Tipp, Kerry and the other Munster counties were where the war took place. Facts are approximately one third of British casualties were in Dublin, a third in Cork and the rest of them 90% in the rest of Munster.
As for more recent times. The British Embassy was burned down after Bloody Sunday and hundreds of Dubs went to prison between 1969 and the 1990s. Dublin also has four SF TDs if you want to throw that into the mix.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 12/07/2011 13:49:42
Well said LocAnOilean.
lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 12/07/2011 14:06:15
bubba83 No he wasn't and I too would like both supporters and players to respect the anthem to the end. And as to the Dubs getting overly defensive...sure why wouldn't they when the haters trot out the same lazy stereotypical comments ad nauseum..
Well if you read the thread bubba you will see that it was in fact the dublin posters who made it a dublin against the world thing. The intial post wasnt saying that the dubs are the only ones who do this or anything like that, he was commenting on the game where it happened, which happened to feature dublin. Nobody was picking on dublin, the dublin game was used as an example. The first sentence of your answer was all I was looking for, and indeed, if a few more dubs had the good grace to admit this, this thread would have been a non-event.
Horse Regardless of who else does it, at the very crux of it, the action is wrong In your opinion its wrong. Its not wrong per se in the sense that stealing or lying to your mammy is wrong.
No, actually it is just wrong. As is stealing and telling lies.
I imagine this is because you know alan brogan shouldnt really have done this and want to avoid giving a straight answer.
Again, why not do it. Hes bigger things to be worrying about that what some oul wimmin out the west think. In case its escaped your notice he was playing in a provincial decider yesterday, not hangin around a fleadh!!!
So by that rationale, when martin johnson refused to move for the president in the ireland - england game, he done no wrong? After all, he has bigger things on his mind, right? Nonsense. Football, like rugby, is a game. If a player thinks he can do what he likes in any regard because he is playing a game then quite frankly, he has notions above his station. Surely we all realise that a game of football pales in significance to what a national anthem stands for? Whether he or anyone else agrees with it or not; it is about respect.
doublehop Ulsterman you obviously define being Irish as being anti-English. Did you ever think there might be a way of being Irish that doesn't involve them at all?
doublehop, in one line you have totally dismantled ulsterman's whole persona, fair play
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/07/2011 14:23:38
Dublin has always been full of culchies but curiously it was culchie free in 1916.
These arguments are so dumb lads. You'd think both sides would know better. Dubs "hate" Culchies and Culchies "hate" Dubs so we're all equals stop trying to play the poor me.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12440 - 12/07/2011 14:27:23
Culchie:
I couldn't agree more and you make your point much more eloquently than I have!
You're 100% right! The people that talk of respect for the anthem are the very same people who stood idly by, sleeping in their beds safe at night despite knowing what was going on up North and would then procees to sing at GAA matches the following Sunday about defending Ireland at the 'bearna baol'.....hypocrisy at its highest!
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 12/07/2011 14:27:40
HTAEM Northern Ireland should scrap their anthem aswell in an effort to join together in peace
This is a GAA site, Remember!! and this thread is in the 'Gaa section'. What has NI's anthem ( Gstq) got todo with anything??. Most ( not all) of the folk who regard GSTQ as their anthem despise GAA and wouldn't cross the road to watch it.. We are are 32c organisation and therefore have the tricolour flying at ALL our grounds and play our anthem at ALL our championship games regardless of which part of Ireland it is in!
Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 12/07/2011 14:34:06